Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We won't take it!! We won't take it any more!!!
The Jedi have finally had enough after taking every indignity, from having their children taken hostage and even blatant out right murder. The Jedi have had enough. This book picks up speed as the Fate of the Jedi series is coming to an end. There are double and triple crosses. Sides are chosen, and as with other book in the series secrets are revelled right up to the...
Published 7 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars: Vortex
Abeloth is just not as good a villain as the likes of the Vong or Caedus and I find the whole lost tribe thing like a "been there done that"
Published 8 months ago by Dayne John Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We won't take it!! We won't take it any more!!!, 25 April 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Jedi have finally had enough after taking every indignity, from having their children taken hostage and even blatant out right murder. The Jedi have had enough. This book picks up speed as the Fate of the Jedi series is coming to an end. There are double and triple crosses. Sides are chosen, and as with other book in the series secrets are revelled right up to the last page. Also an important clue and reason is given to Jason Solo's reason for becoming Darth Cadus.

In the Maw, Luke, Ben, Vestra, Gavin, and Lord Tarron are still trying to unravel the mystery of Abeloth. However can a being as ancient and powerful as her be killed in the convention way such as a Lightsaber through the chest. Meanwhile the Jedi are losing faith in acting Grand Master Kenneth Hammer, wait and see approach. It is time for them to make a stand. In the words of more than one master to "start acting like Jedi". After the damming recording Tahiri Veila's trail has taken a turn for the worse. Not understand his methods she is starting to lose faith in her brilliant but eccentric lawyer Eramuth Bwua'tu.

I great book, which picked up the pace of the series. The only down side I have in the book is that I am not a huge fan of Denning's action scenes. They are slightly confusing especially when it comes to the positioning of the characters. Any example is the fight on the narrow walkway they seem to be fighting and jumping all over the place with space they did not have. Aside from the book is great and well written, with a number of alliances shifting battle lines being drawn. It is also great to see Jedi using balster and sniper rifles as well as their lightsabers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the previous books., 17 Sep 2011
I had no idea where this book was going to start. The last book, Allies, pretty much finished off every storyline except for the Trial of Tahiri Veila. With four more books to go, I began this one a little apprehensively. But that problem is quickly resolved. We found out pretty much straight away that Abeloth has a little trick up her sleeve that means that she could indeed be the main antagonist for the rest of the series, and we also see that the conflict between the Jedi and Admiral Daala is still going strong.

In short, there's plenty to read about in this book. But there was another reason that I was apprehensive. For me, Denning's contributions to the Legacy era books have been going downhill since his spectacular first entry in the legacy of the force series. But fortunately, while not matching the level of writing he had with Tempest, was considerably more engaging than in Abyss. He still used one or two awkward metaphors every now and again, but overall the writing was smooth, enjoyable, and most importantly, easy to read.

The events in this book were various levels of interesting. I started to get bored of the trial in the last book, and now that I've been on a jury in a real trial, I find it even less interesting. Because of that, I'm starting to get a bit bored of Tahiri herself, and her previously interesting representative.

But then we have the next planet that Luke and Ben travel to, along with their captive sith Vestara. There's a plague on Pydyr, which I won't tell you about in any detail, but it's an interesting one. Then there's the actual people there. The Fallanassi are another group of Force Users, one of which seems to have been another of Luke's previous love interests. It's not the same kind of visit as in earlier books however - not a simple learning visit, and so it's a faster paced visit, with a little more action. Although until the end of the book, and I really enjoyed the Luke/Ben/Vestara ending, this isn't what I found most exciting.

<MINOR SPOILER ALERT>

The Jedi actually do something for themselves in this book. It's been a while coming, but it's worth it. I did not expect the way it played out, and I'm not going to tell you here either. But it was the Jedi Temple's Storyline and ending, as well as Luke/Ben/Vestara's ending that really made this book worthwile.

<End Spoiler>

You'll notice that I haven't really spoken about characters in this review. That's because they haven't changed a lot from previous books. Jaina isn't as exciting as I'd hoped she'd be, now that we're seeing more of her, and Allana is still acting too old. Two characters really developed in this book, Vestara and Master Sebatyne. They were my favourite characters in this book, and I can't fault them at all. The Ben/Vestara interplay is interesting, and familiar. There's not an awful lot new to it. But I did like Vestara.

Overall, this book is probably the best in the series so far. Certainly, it's the first book that's really made me want to read the next one straight away. It actually suggests that there is a storyline for the rest of the series, and develops two interesting characters particularly well. If you were thinking of not reading this book in the series, I would advise you to. If you havn't read the series at all, and have the time to spare, this one isn't bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Book, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the legacy era of the books which I thoroughly enjoyed, I was anxious to see how these books were. I enjoyed these easily as much as the legacy era and they were a great continuation of story. I can't wait for the future books in the storyline. The full set may be expensive for each era of books however the money was well spent and I haven't had this much fun reading in a long time.
Would recommend to anyone interested in star wars books or star wars itself these are such an insight into the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars: Vortex, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Abeloth is just not as good a villain as the likes of the Vong or Caedus and I find the whole lost tribe thing like a "been there done that"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and action packed, 19 April 2013
By 
Mr. J. D. Barker "JonandBT" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've been reading the extended universe series, then you'll know the Fate of the Jedi books are a bit tough to get to grips with initially but the way the story has developed, the family banter between Ben and Luke and the other aspects that characters go through makes these a great read, even if you weren't a big time fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a great installment i this series. Action, plot and so much going on I couldn't put IT Down! Fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow first half, promising second half, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This novel isn't one of Troy Denning's better Star Wars contributions. It certainly lacks the punch and intensity of `Star by Star' or `Invincible'. Both the storyline and the characters spend a lot of time meandering along through events. But these are general flaws with the whole `Fate of the Jedi' series. Despite the re-emergence of the Sith, the threat of Abeloth or the machinations of Daala, the atmosphere of the series feels a little tepid in comparison to `The New Jedi Order' or the `Legacy of the Force.'

Luke and Ben's association with the Sith seems to be repetitively going over the same ground and the Sith are all beginning to become a little generic. The few Sith to appear in the Star Wars novels have all been very interesting and well characterised. There more Sith there are the more they appear to be watered down. Ben and Vestera's relationship of will they/won't they is also becoming a bit clichéd. Even Luke and Abeloth's confrontations are getting a little samey.

On the plus side though, the Jedi finally manage to do something without Luke. It's about time. The novel finally comes alive with the events involving Saba and Kenth, which is one of the highlights of the series so far.

There are some important events that push forward the plot but these take a while to get to. It is difficult to imagine that the current story threads can sustain a further three volumes. Hopefully there are surprises to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 6th Fate of the Jedi Novel, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the previous 5 novels in the series this was a must but i have to say it took time to get me into it its an extension of the story contructed in the previous novels so it must be seen in that context, really it felt like a filler one story arc seems to just go on and i felt alot of repetition in the Luke,Ben,Vestera story, trust betrayal, trust, betrayal and so on it was a bit tiresome. However my feelings may be due to the long time it took to release the softbacks way too far apart to maintain interest. A series like this you dont need months inbetween books. Overall though it had its moments more Saba, Han and Leia always fun. Be interested to see what happens in the end of the series. If you like Star Wars novels youre gonna find something here to like but expect to read alot to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the fate of the jedi continues, 15 May 2012
By 
T. Dickson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The saga continues. More action and adventure both near and far from the galactic centre. SPOILER. the pace picks up as a jedi master is killed, and the effected young jedi from Shelter are not entirely let off the hook continuing Abeloth's persistence, opening the way to the next book in the series. END OF SPOILER. This book is interesting enough to be read on its own, although the previous books do set the scene for the uninitiated. SPOILER. It looks like Ben is being set up to get together with his female sith associate at some time later in the series, possibly turning her to the light, and Jaina may get back together with Jagged Fel, something many SW fans look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews