Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars45
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.11
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2016
One of the best book i've read from C.S Lewis. Very insightful in looking love not only in four different types of love, but different perspective such as gift-love and need-love.

The way he phrases the paragraph in the book is also beautiful and well written. Highly recommend to anyone who was to gather more insight on what love is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
This book is an excellent guide to understanding love in all its forms. Every person should read this. Many best authors refer to this work when discussing relationships. Very usefull, easy understandable English.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2009
This is CS Lewis's study from his perspective as a Christian theologian of the 4 aspects of love - affection, friendship, eros and charity. It is fairly short and has some wonderful insights however I did not find it easy or light reading.

The style is quite dated, written by an English academic towards the end of the 1950's. It is written for that era and with quite a middle class English focus. There is an introductory chapter and then a chapter on each of the four loves. I found the first two chapters quite slow going and it was necessary to re-read quite a few paragraphs to try and grasp what Lewis is trying to express. Although I definitely do not share the opinion of the reviewer who said the book was boring I can understand why they may have formed that opinion.

However overall I found this book stimulating and it included insights into distortions of love as well as the underlying reference to the God of infinte and unconditional love. It seemed a long way from many of todays popular "self help" books.

For those wanting to reflect on the different natures of love rather than simply romance this is a good book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
You often need a good dictionary handy when reading C.S. Lewis, it's an education in the English language alone, but this book also shows the author has an amazing depth of insight into the subject of love, human & divine, you may discern from this book why you act the way you do. He shows how the different loves are part of each other, and draws them all together into Charity, divine love. "We love because He first loved us."
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
A book that turns on its head the way we speak of love today. It puts into the correct context the different types of love from sexuality, to Charis divine love .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
As always, CS Lewis is an amazing writer so nothing to complain about the book itself. The quality of the paperback is good and I totally recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
[Throughout the years, I have written a number of reviews that have never been published online on Amazon. These writings comprise two types of reviews: unfinished reviews, abandoned during various stages of composition, and completed reviews that for life reasons were never posted. Of the later type, back in September 2001 I wrote a cache of work, a full sixteen reviews* of several different C. S. Lewis books which have never been released. I have issued these reviews in October 2012 on Amazon.com, over a decade after they were initially written. However, these reviews were heavily edited and in several instances radically and drastically revised. I am publishing these reviews now for the first time in their original, unrevised format as written in 2001, with bracketed additions added for occasionally necessary clarification. Mike London 10-23-2012]

The Four Loves were originally recorded as broadcasts for the radio, and because of Lewis's frankness on the sexual nature of Eros, some of the supporters of the company did not want to advocate this. Lewis told George Sayer it is very surprising that a nation who peddles such voluminous pornography, and here Lewis speaks of America, that they would object to a Christian discussion on sexuality.

Sexuality makes an essential part of human nature, and God intended it as one of his most blessed, and highly unusual, gifts to two people who are very deeply in love and wish to express this love in a very intimate way. That is why a person must be married for sexual activity to be divinely approved of, for anything else lessens the activity's purpose and makes a mockery of it. Tim Lahaye has found in surveys conducted by him that religious people are generally the most sexually satisfied individuals. Lewis is quite consistent in the portrayal of the sexual nature of men and women and God's purpose for it. The whole institute of marriage, like any other gift of pleasure of God's, shows us God's love for mankind.

Charity, or agape love, stands as the most intense and the deepest kind of love, because it is the love between humanity and God.

Lewis goes on to deal with the other two types of love, friendship and effect, and each of these four types of love are presented with such clarity of thought that after a reader is finished with this book he/she has a much deeper understanding of the loves in general.

Affection, one that is not generally counted as a love, is a necessary requirement for happy living, for if one has no affection then their life will be utterly miserable. Friendship, for Lewis, stands as the most unnatural from a biological standpoint of the four loves, but also one of life's biggest blessings. Lewis valued his friendships all of his life. It is truly a remarkable book.

*(These reviews covered all seven books of "The Chronicles of Narnia", the three novels of "The Space Trilogy", "The Abolition of Man", "The Four Loves", "A Preface to Paradise Lost", a revised version of my 2000 review of "Till We Have Faces", "Surprised By Joy", and "The Screwtape Letters".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
A wonderful insight into the differs types of friendship . I love to read the writings of C S Lewis I found this so v true to my life .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
loved this book..prob one of my fav cs lewis reads ever…I highly recommend to his fans you won't be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Of course it is terribly dated and not PC now but I still find it the best introduction to the nature of love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)