Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars !! Not for the faint-hearted !!
Possibly the best dramatic performance I have ever seen from Idris Elba.

If you liked 'The Wire' or 'Luther' you will really be impressed by what he pulls out of the bag in this little known gem of a movie.

I do advise that you pay close attention to the details of this pychological thriller because the plot really goes to work on your mind, long...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by Saruman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Reading the reviews & liking Idris Elba in Luther I bought this DVD, how bored was I, most of the film is set in one room so very cheap to make.
Published 15 months ago by Christine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars !! Not for the faint-hearted !!, 1 Mar 2011
Possibly the best dramatic performance I have ever seen from Idris Elba.

If you liked 'The Wire' or 'Luther' you will really be impressed by what he pulls out of the bag in this little known gem of a movie.

I do advise that you pay close attention to the details of this pychological thriller because the plot really goes to work on your mind, long after the movie is over.

Intense, claustrophobic (in the enjoyably dramatic way) and entertaining.

A good watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stringer blows up the scene in this psychological piece!, 18 Feb 2011
As a die-hard fan of the Wire and of Stringer, I was desperate for Elba to get a more significant role. With this film, Elba gives his finest performance since the Wire.

The story is interesting and different, set in one room. The acting is TOP-NOTCH, everyone giving a strong performance, especially Eamonn Walker and Joe Chill from Batman Begins.

Really recommend this. A clever script that makes you think after watching the movie. Hoping from more from the director and of course, STRINGER BELL!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very strange film which will divide opinion sharply., 27 Aug 2011
By 
James Rands (Europe) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a massive problem in this film - it's basically two different films jammed together.

The cover and much of the write up made me think this would Idris Elba doing the Fugitive with lots of guns maybe some car chases, definitely some abseiling etc.. And the film does start that way with a four man special forces team entering a derelict building somewhere in Eastern europe and Gray (Idris Elba) silently dispatching sentries. As the sleeve tells you the mission goes wrong..

.. and then we find a heavily scarred Gray in a seedy and battered hotel room. He wants to come to terms with what he has done and he contemplates the ascent of his brother - a powerful senator and the rising star of the Washington hawks who may well run for President.

This part of the film (by far the greater of the two) sees Idris Elba acting his backside off and giving the kind of performance that, in a more mainstream film, would have him gathering up golden globes and oscars by the fistful. He really is very, very good as a man who is, at best, slowly losing his mind. He is visited by various figures from his recent past and his backstory unfolds as he tries to hold it together.

There's a really interesting element in that it seems he may have to choose between reconciling himself with what he has done and achieving some peace on the one hand and gaining justice and possibly saving the future of the nation on the other. This really struck me as something which should belong on stage. Elba is pretty intense on the samll screen but up close I suspect this would be terrifying and I wondered whether somewhere along the line it had actually been a play.

Then we keep getting flashbacks and conversations with other people which illuminate what has happened to him. Gray has evidence which could stop his brother's advance and a score to settle. But it never quite goes down the road of so many taut thrillers. And it doesn't fit well with the rest of the story.

This is not the film I was expecting but it is very good. It just isn't one for mates and a beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So dark......, 20 Jun 2014
By 
MK-E (Milton Keynes, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I luv luv luv Idris Elba and this film, you see a totally different side to his acting skills. I don't want to give too much away but his performance is so good. This man is to talented. It has twists and turns, gets your mind thinking. Bits are very dark and weird I thought. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Idris Elba is AMAZING!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an Idris fan and he didn't let me down in Legacy: Black Ops. Great movie with great acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twists and turns, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because I love Idris Elba. This film is a mind twister and at the end it is one that makes you reflect on what did and what maybe did not happen. Fantastic performance from my favourite man, Idris Elba. Some violent scenes but always great acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Elba at his best... so far!, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan of Idris Elba since his "Wire" days. His performances just gets better as the years roll on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and compulsive viewing, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. JP Cairns (Exeter UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very dark film with very disturbing storyline and a shocking twist. Idris Elba 10 out of 10 as usual and great characters throughout the film. Bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An action Film, 24 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legacy: Black Ops [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Quick delivery. A good action packed movie that holds your attention, not a great story line but enjoyable watching.and taking it all in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best film out there, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film as having read the film review it seemed quite good.
Having watched it i didnt feel particularly compelled to sit and write a review as it didnt really inspire it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legacy: Black Ops [Blu-ray]
Legacy: Black Ops [Blu-ray] by Thomas Ikimi (Blu-ray - 2011)
£5.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews