Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad game, obviously could have been better!
Like others have mentioned it's not that bad. I do believe there are some fundamental design flaws, like for example the characters can fall off the edge and in some cases die and in other cases when you play in general you cannot fall off an edge. Also, like one of the below reviewer mentioned the QTE are very cheap. A few times I missed the timing and I had to start...
Published on 12 May 2011 by R. Patel

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Knights Contract
Knights Contract is a new Hack and Slash title by the developer Game Republic.

Dispite almost always coming off under the radar, Game Republic have actually proved to be quite a capable developer with overlooked titles that generally come to be regarded as hidden gems somewhere down the road. They are the team behind Folklore early in the PS3's life and more...
Published on 13 Mar 2011 by S. Griffiths


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad game, obviously could have been better!, 12 May 2011
By 
R. Patel "Bush4ever" (Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knights Contract (PS3) (Video Game)
Like others have mentioned it's not that bad. I do believe there are some fundamental design flaws, like for example the characters can fall off the edge and in some cases die and in other cases when you play in general you cannot fall off an edge. Also, like one of the below reviewer mentioned the QTE are very cheap. A few times I missed the timing and I had to start the boss battle again.

But, after you do beat a boss you do feel good about it. Yes, there are better games out there in terms of game play. However, the story is different and interesting. Also, there are hidden objects that add value in replay.

It is difficult in parts, but I've seen worse and played far worse. You can overcome the odds just by persistance and changing tact and approach, but isn't that what gamings about. If Knights contract had the fluidity of Bayonetta, then it would have been a A class game.

The story is good as you want to see what happens next.

Overall, not a bad game, don't listen to the reviewers I doubt if half of the reviewers actually finished the whole game. It is actually worth watching the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Knights Contract, 13 Mar 2011
By 
S. Griffiths (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knights Contract (PS3) (Video Game)
Knights Contract is a new Hack and Slash title by the developer Game Republic.

Dispite almost always coming off under the radar, Game Republic have actually proved to be quite a capable developer with overlooked titles that generally come to be regarded as hidden gems somewhere down the road. They are the team behind Folklore early in the PS3's life and more recently bought us the wonderful Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom.

Knights Contract at first glance looks like yet another attempt from the Japanese to appeal to the western market and will most likely be compared to God of War from people on the fence, yet not much in the know. In actual fact, Darksiders would be a better comparison, but as always, Knights Contract still has tricks up its sleeve to set it apart from its competition.

You star as the hulking executioner Heinrich, a witch hunter who for 100 years has been cursed with a spell of immortality. Expect a wild ride through the middle ages as you track down and face the ressorected witches you slayed so long ago.

Heinrich's curse acts as a tool for a gameplay mechanic that this game claims as its own. Seeng as the main character cannot die, the threat of "Gameover" moves instead to your trustful, witch sidekick Gretchen, almost the entire game is one big escort mission as you fight side by side in order to keep her alive.

Controls are good for the most part, Heinrich moves as he looks, a hulking piece of meat, yet slicing into many a foe couldnt be more smoother. Then in steps Gretchen who allows for spells to be cast in conjution with your melee to create impressive and complex combo's you will need in order to survive.

Sadly the game is not without flaws, the camera at times can be a true nightmare, while its not too bad when hacking away at small fry, some of the more fixed shots on a boss or two can really make things difficult, then brings us to the biggest flaw of the game, its QTE's. Anyone playing games over the past few years knows what a QTE is, a poor attempt at gameplay by slipping in mininal interactivity while trying to show off some glorious, hollywood movie like setpiece. Now normally i let these slide, but in Knights Contract the QTE's at the end of boss fights have such a tiny window for you to react that it will most certainly end up throwing you back into the boss fight on more than one occasion, bosses then tending to regain a good 30% of thier health for you to try again.

If you like these types of games, Knights Contract actually has a lot to offer, dispite clearly not being close to as polished as God of War III, it does have a deeper combat system in place, then again that goes for most seeing how shallow GOW actually is.... I think Darksiders, Ninja Gaiden and most certainly Bayonetta are better H&S options if you dont like to take a risk, but if, like me, you have played all thats come before it, Knights Contract is well worth a playthrough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated and Ignored. It's not 'alf bad!, 15 Mar 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knights Contract (PS3) (Video Game)
This game hasn't had a lot of noise made about it. I stumbled across it by complete accident, trawling through the PS3 lists on Amazon.

I am so glad I bought it. The storyline in interesting and different. Also, it has a different concept to some of its kin. The usual hero-type, slice and dice, alternate-historic reality has been given an odd twist; the hero can't die!

I know what you're thinking; what's the point in playing a game that already has 'god mode' enabled. Well, here's the thing. You can't die. But your companion can! And if she dies, it's game over.

Boss battles are... well, they are definetly challanging. But the most irritating thing? Heinrich can get pushed over the wall, plunging to the depths of darkness and again, it's game over. But that makes it all the more satisfying when you defeat them.

I thought it was fun and entertaining and I liked that it wasn't over in five minutes. Graphics? Fab. Gameplay? Even better.

I gave it a solid 4/5. Well done Namco! It is a shame this game has not recieved as much attention as it deserves. ^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars could be much better gamer, 8 July 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knights Contract (PS3) (Video Game)
well this game have some issues but its not this much bad game
specially with this price tag ,

good

-long single player with nice telling story
-challenging in higher difficulties
-nice unique bosses
-decent graphics
-very good music score

bad

- horrible camera worse than ninja gaiden sigma
- repetitive combat
- loading screen every now and then
- character cant jump
- dumb AI partner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Come on! This is a good game!, 30 Jun 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knights Contract (PS3) (Video Game)
This game has some astonishing visuals, a more than pleasant soundtrack and an interesting plot.
I waited until the prize shrank by half and got it. I suggest you do the same, or buy it used.
Another thing I suggest is PLAY IT IN THE EASIEST MODE. Otherwise you won't probably reach the end(which by the way
is the most interesting part)since this game can be very frustrating. Then if you enjoyed the first time go all over again
in a more challenging modality.
Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contract Killer, 24 Mar 2011
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knights Contract (PS3) (Video Game)
Never say that I don't like to help out the smaller game developers out there. Armed with some hard fought trade in vouchers I planned to pick up a new game on the week 'Killzone 3' and 'Bulletstorm' were released. Rather than go for either of these high profile games, I choice the smaller `Knights Contract' in the hope that I would find a more personal gem. Boy was I wrong. Next time I am told by a giant splashy advert to buy a certain game; I may just listen to them.

`Knight Contract' is the latest game I have bought from a Japanese based developer, which has disappointed. Things started poorly with the character models; the hulking Heinrich and the lithe Gretchen, both looking a little flat and dated. However, they are not so bad when compared to various enemies who look like they are high res versions of a Playstation 2 era characters. I can handle poor graphics if the gameplay is strong, but unfortunately this is not the case either. Repetitive, dull, and lacking the intelligence or complexity of more recent hack `n' slash games, `Knight Contract' is a throw back to the mid 2000s. Also, why do developers think we want an AI partner throughout a game? Surely the two leads would have made for an ideal co-op experience? Instead you are trapped in the world's longest escort mission.

To add misery to the game, the voice acting is awful, the textures flat and the level design confusing; several times I ended up walking all the way back to the start of a level because I was unsure which way I was heading. The final nail in this game's coffin comes with the bosses and their cheap move. It took me hours to get past one enemy who would kill you with one cheap move - hours. The idea of overly complicated boss battles is pretty outdated now, as many aspects of this game are. `Knights Contract' is a poorly made game released on the cheap. There are so many other games out there that you should only consider this when you have scrapped the very bottom of the gaming barrel.

Sammy Stinker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knights Contract (PS3)
Knights Contract (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
35.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews