Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling reading
Corrupted is a compelling read describing the viscissitudes of Brad a lonely guy who is reduced to selling his body in order to live. The portrayal of what he is put through is both realistic and sad. The avaricious, so called friend Justin, takes everything from Brad and the author causes our intense dislike for him. This is a touching, engrossing, erotic novel from a...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by Alphington

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just not good
A really poor read. Cliche upon cliche and predictable outcomes. I was neither entertained nor satisfied. It was basically soft porn in parts and had no literary merit whatsoever. The story is dull, and the only thing being corrupted is the reader as he or she ploughs through page after page of drivel. Honestly, spend your money on something worth reading. This will not...
Published 18 months ago by Blaster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling reading, 9 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corrupted (Kindle Edition)
Corrupted is a compelling read describing the viscissitudes of Brad a lonely guy who is reduced to selling his body in order to live. The portrayal of what he is put through is both realistic and sad. The avaricious, so called friend Justin, takes everything from Brad and the author causes our intense dislike for him. This is a touching, engrossing, erotic novel from a writer who evokes our sympathy for the main character, and from whom we look forward to further stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tough subject - very well written, 21 July 2011
By 
S2b an OAP "worzelrummage" (East Anglia, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corrupted (Kindle Edition)
A well written book which merits your time, good characterisation - albeit there are some who are NOT very nice characters!

Brad needed to be taken home, taken care of and loved - shame that wasn't how it was for so much of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corrupted (Kindle Edition)
This was incredible compelling to read, despite being a difficult subject to write about, but it was handled very tenderly. I look forward to more Todd Young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just not good, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: Corrupted (Kindle Edition)
A really poor read. Cliche upon cliche and predictable outcomes. I was neither entertained nor satisfied. It was basically soft porn in parts and had no literary merit whatsoever. The story is dull, and the only thing being corrupted is the reader as he or she ploughs through page after page of drivel. Honestly, spend your money on something worth reading. This will not be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Corrupted (Kindle Edition)
a last, a decent believable story, with a proper ending... i will be watching for more from this author.. of course i had a rough idea how it was going to end (but thats what i like) but still a really good read..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wanna be Corrupted too, 11 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corrupted (Kindle Edition)
Todd Young is a a very talented writer whose work shows incredible potential. What distinguishes his style is his economy of narrative where far more is implicated or suggested than stated. In fact what may seem understated to other reviewers (e.g. characters, motives, events, places) to me seemed all the more real; just enough triggers to let ones imagination empathise with the heroes descent into the sex trade. It is also a very touching love story that less perceptive readers might not notice until the end. The sex too is briefly but sufficiently described, enough to quite disturb ones equilibrium.
There are elements of the plot that are somewhat unlikely, and the heroes tendency to blow his load whenever exposed might seem silly (e.g. if in a work of say, Jane Austen!) but here it is a very endearing trait, almost symbolising innocence.
I believe the compulsive nature of the text is in playing with the concepts of "what is innocence?" and "what is corruption?". Despite the heroes descent from innocence to corruption, he remains the books only innocent throughout.
Todd has the potential to rule the mm genre, no other writer in this field has quite got under my skin or moved me as much, infact (daft as it sounds)it disturbs me in the same way as good literature. I would also recommend Todd Young's earlier book "boyfriends" and hope too that I will soon be recommending his new book "dressing Up" which I just received this morning and cannot wait to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for Romatics, 29 July 2011
By 
David Ford (Kent in the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corrupted (Kindle Edition)
This book has a rather weak story line, you will know little more about the main characters at the end than you did at the beginning and there is very little romance. This may be due to the length of the volume which is more a novelette and leaves little space to explore in depth. This book is composed of a series sexual montages linked together one after another.

One could say that it remains true to its title but I think I had better stick with Mills and Boone !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: Corrupted (Kindle Edition)
a very well written story of a young man struggling with money problems, the unrequited love of his best friend and the seedy underworld of stripping and porn to make ends meet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corrupted
Corrupted by Todd Young
1.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews