Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise for Psalms, 30 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. Rosemary Scott "Eire" (Down, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book Of Psalms (Pocket Canons) (Kindle Edition)
I have a hard copy of this book of Psalms and was surprised to find how much better I like the Kindle version. The lay out is excellent with each psalm on a single page or spread over two pages so navigating this book is easy. The psalms are in the authorised version and it is lovely to have easy access to familiar and uplifting words. You do not have to be a U2 fan to enjoy this book. The content of the initial online access to see inside the book's cover may put some people off because it may seem that Bono will feature widely in the book. But this is not the case. Bono only writes the introduction. Yes, I am a U2 fan but this book is rightly about the psalms and not about Bono. Praise indeed for this little book of Psalms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Psalms, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful little book. Easy to carry round with me in my bag and take out whenever I want to read which is exactly what I bought it for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars motile, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Psalms (Pocket Canons) (Kindle Edition)
Primarily, I bought this book by curiosity but was completely surprised by De Bono's words. I didn't also know that he could write something like that, knowing that he is a music star but didn't realize that he was also in love with God. The good thing is that they are Psalms, they have not been altered but exactly written as in the Bible but it is a good to see that De Bono wrote something about God. Great version to have and love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well laid out, easy to navigate, 9 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Psalms (Pocket Canons) (Kindle Edition)
This small book of Psalms works well on the Kindle.

The translation is the KJV, which is obviously old-fashioned but retains the beauty of the language, and is wonderful poetry.

The Bono intro is thoughtful and thought-provoking.

The book on Kindle is easy to navigate, and the Psalms are laid out really well; each one starts on a new page, where some books of poetry aren't so thoughtful.

I use it as a Psalter to read through day to day, and I find it inspiring. Well worth the small purchase price to have this little book on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs of praise, 12 July 2012
By 
Nicola Hardy (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Psalms (Pocket Canons) (Kindle Edition)
Having bought a number of books in the Pocket Canon series when they were first published in the late Nineties, I'm delighted to find that they're now available for the Kindle. For the uninitiated, the series reproduces individual books of the Bible as separate volumes, encouraging the reader to approach them as literary works in their own right. Each book has an introduction penned by a well-known person which provides a personal interpretation of the text and explores its contemporary relevance. The Authorised King James Version is used throughout.

Bono, lead singer of the rock group U2, is our guide to the Psalms. Reflecting on his faith both as part of his upbringing and as a theme in his music, he provides some liberating thoughts about the origins, meaning and authorship of the Psalms. The text is then presented in full, without any further notation, for the reader to explore.

On the whole, I found the Kindle adaptation of this book faithful to the original paperback series in terms of the content - none of the content had gone astray in the translation to the electronic format. I was less happy with some aspects of the presentation of the ebook version. The text of the Psalms is italicised and emboldened throughout which makes it a bit heavy on the eyes on screen. The publishers have also failed to activate the 'Table of Contents', which means that you have to keep going back to the cover and scrolling to navigate to individual Psalms.

At time of writing, the price reflects good value for money. I paid 89p for this Kindle edition, compared with the cover price of £1 for my paperback copies (although I see that these cost considerably more now). If you want a bite-sized chunk of the Scriptures to carry around with you, or if you want a new perspective on a familiar text, then this book is worth a read.

This review refers to the Kindle edition of 'The Book of Psalms' downloaded on 1 July 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good little book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Useful pocket size
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Psalms (Pocket Canons) (Kindle Edition)
I love reading the psalms. Kindle version easy to take anywhere but I do prefer to read from the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews