Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest books in history!
victor hugo's MASTERPIECE, that inspired (among others) a sucsseful musical, dozens of movie adaptations and more, is definetly one of the greatest books in history. i cried when i finished reading this book, beacause of not only the amazing book i just read and the amazing end, but also about the fact that there is no more to read about jean-valjean, cossete, fantine,...
Published on 26 July 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very abbreviated!
Not quite what I was looking for the unabridged version. Must have ordered wrong version. Nice picture on the cover though.
Published 17 months ago by Unplayed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest books in history!, 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miserables, Les (Paperback)
victor hugo's MASTERPIECE, that inspired (among others) a sucsseful musical, dozens of movie adaptations and more, is definetly one of the greatest books in history. i cried when i finished reading this book, beacause of not only the amazing book i just read and the amazing end, but also about the fact that there is no more to read about jean-valjean, cossete, fantine, eponine, thenardier, javert, marius and the many other charecters. the book portrais not only charecters but a time- a dark time in human history when there were the rich and the poor. the time after the french war- when the truth and freedom burst in the people's face. this is #1 in my list! i'm sure it'll be yours too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely readable classic, not to be missed, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables (Paperback)
I read this book after going to see the musical in the west End, so roughly knew the story. However, that did not mean the book was not an amazing read - Victor Hugo writes some really heartwarming and profound things. Although this was the condensed version, I'm tempted to read the full version to see what other gems Hugo incorporates into the throught-provoking, sad yet uplifting story of Les Miserables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very abbreviated!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables (Paperback)
Not quite what I was looking for the unabridged version. Must have ordered wrong version. Nice picture on the cover though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A moving moral dilemma, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LES MISERABLES (non illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Jean Valjean is beset with conflicting moral choices, and though he is culpable as a thief, stealing from the bishop and condemned by society, his actions earn him redemption, society proving hypocritical. The discovery of Cosset, the lost child who Valjean later meets up with in the narrative, shifts the emotional core of the book to a moving and powerful denouement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected!, 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: Les Miserables (Paperback)
I have seen the musical twice and am in love with the story and characters, so I decided to give the book a go and thought this version a good one to start with. Although it misses out some parts of the plot, the main story is there, with bits that the musical and film take out. I thoroughly enjoyed this version and am now moving on to read a less abridged version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BOOK OF THE SHOW, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables (Paperback)
MUM NEEDED TO READ THIS AFTER BEING VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE FILM OF THE MUSICAL. SHE NEEDS LARGE PRINT TOO, SO ALL IS SUPER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit Miserables, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables (Audio CD)
I bought this for a long car journey across Europe. Instead of making the journey shorter we had to make ourselves listen, and only finished as we completed the return. The consumer reviews rated it highly but we didn't.

The first problem was the voice of the reader, which had a permanent sneer except when giving a voice to Marius, and to Gavroche, with which characters he showed he could be sympathetic. He created an accent for Jean Valjean halfway between mid Atlantic and west country England.We could not bear the voice he gave Thenardier - horrible but not real.

The second problem was the editing. There were pieces of story that made no sense because the cuts had removed an important link - for example why Fantine has a claim on Valjean's sympathy so that he goes to find her child. But more generally, the cuts had taken away the sense of suffering and injustice - Les Miserables were really not so far from nicely middle class for all the description of their condition that drove them to despicable deeds.

Hugo is accused of rambling, but with his reflections on the human lot removed, it becomes hard to see why he is so revered in France.

I wish there had been a better spectrum of reviews to read when I bought it.

Having said that there are some good characterisations, as well as poor ones. Javert is inflexible in voice as well as character. But no sympathy for a wimp of a Cosette.

Hope it helps others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LES MISERABLES (non illustrated)
£0.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews