Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word treatment needed - WOW!
I'm always a bit nervous when a musician releases an album with a mixture of "mates" as vocalists as sometimes the album can lack cohesion. I was first inspired to check out this album watching Slash live at 2010's Download Festival with Miles Kennedy (and guest star Lemmy) singing most of the album. I was not disapointed. The album starts well with an amazing riff on...
Published on 7 Mar. 2011 by Valleysboy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some cracking tracks, but
This Deluxe Edition is well worthy of purchase, displaying the talents of Slash across many guitar styles with different solo singers, and the accompanying DVD is very interesting too. I particularly liked the tracks with Ian Astbury (starts the CD in style), Ozzy and Lemmy. All of these songs rock!. The one downside for me was Myles Kennedy (particularly the acoustic...
Published on 18 Jun. 2011 by S. P. MARLEY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word treatment needed - WOW!, 7 Mar. 2011
By 
Valleysboy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I'm always a bit nervous when a musician releases an album with a mixture of "mates" as vocalists as sometimes the album can lack cohesion. I was first inspired to check out this album watching Slash live at 2010's Download Festival with Miles Kennedy (and guest star Lemmy) singing most of the album. I was not disapointed. The album starts well with an amazing riff on Ghost and continues throughout the album.

The album is very well produced and mixed with top notch production value. There is a real mix of songs and it is obvious that Slash has put real thought into matching the song to the vocalist. This makes for an album that is a joy to listen to and you'll find you will happily listen to the entire album without breaking sweat.

Highlights for me are Beatiful Dangerous with Fergie (this girl should go solo...now), Doctor Alibi with Lemmy (this would get an arena jumping), Ghost with Ian Astbury and Crucify the Dead with the legendary Ozzy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SLASH & FRIENDS GETS DELUXE TREATMENT, 7 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I did not have too much hope for this release as most of these type of releases where famous guitarist/musician release an album with their friends on it usually disappoint! However this is one that does not disappoint and is a lot braver than most of these type of albums are. After all when people heard that Fergie was going to be on one of the tracks there was talk that Slash was losing it and was doing anything to stay in the limelight, which in turn could turn the die hard fans off.

After listening to the album all fears disappeared as Slash delivers one of the best albums of 2010 so far. He has enlisted rock n'roll's(and pops) finest and a quick roll call of names will wet the appetite, just look at these names, Ozzy, Chris Cornell, Alice Cooper, Lemmy, Dave Grohl, Myles Kennedy, Iggy Pop and do these guys sound familiar Duff, Izzy Stradlin', Steven Adler. Yes thats right all the original members of Guns N' Roses with the exception of Axl appear on the album. Of course thats not all as the main band consists off Josh freese(nine inch nails & a perfect circle) on drums and Chris Chaney(janes addiction) on bass.

So he has the people but what about the actual songs? No need to worry as they deliver, starting off with Ghost that has Ian Astbury(the cult) on vocals and features a killer riff and shows what a great vocalist Astbury is. Chris Cornell sings on the brilliant Promise a song that is so good that you just might forgive him for Scream! Watch This shows what a great rhythm section Dave Grohl and Duff McKagan make! Myles Kennedys performance is probably being closely watched as it is he who will perform vocal duties when Slash tours the album and it's safe to say he doesn't dissapoint, of the two tracks he sings on Back From Cali is probably the better of the two. The big surprise comes from Fergie as she totally rocks on the track Beautiful Dangerous, so much in fack you end up wishing she would do more stuff like this and totally justifies Slash's faith in her.

With this deluxe edition of the album you now get 3 songs tagged onto the end of the album, they are 3 acoustic tracks all sung by Myles Kennedy and feature a GN'R classic in Sweet Child O' Mine, a Velvet Revolver favorite in Fall To Pieces as well as Myles own version of Back From Cali. Even though these versions are good they are not as good as the original versions. You also get a DVD which includes loads of stuff including all 3 videos from Slash's debut album, they include Back From Cali, By The Sword and the unedited controversial video for Beautiful Dangerous with Fergie. There is also a making of the album documentary which is very interesting as it shows how all the different singers prepared for their tracks on the album and what different approaches they have. Also included is a couple of tracks slash did for MTV Classic in the US with Myles Kennedy on vocals including a Slash's Snakepit song Mean Bone.

With this record Slash has delivered a record that rocks out big time and at the end of the day thats all Slash ever wants to do. This album is well worth getting especially if you haven't already got one of the many other editions, Still probably the 2disc 1 dvd set would still shade it over this edition as it features a separate disc of songs that were released on other Countries editions of the album even though for this price it's hard to go wrong with this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slash - Deluxe Edition - Review, 29 Jan. 2012
By 
Mozzy (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Slash since I bought a copy of 'Appetite for Destruction' before it became the monster that it did. I am also a fan of guitarists like Steve Vai, Joe Satriani etc too and although Slash is probably not as technically gifted as these, he plays with a lot of heart and soul. After the demise of Velvet Revolver (I know they may reform but without Scott Weiland - Vocalist), I was unsure about this 'solo with guests' album especially with some of the collaborations. I needn't have worried though as this Album is absolutely excellent!!

The album kicks off with 'Ghost' and features Ian Astbury on vocals. It does have a little bit of a 'Cult' vibe to it but that is not a bad thing and is a great opener that sets the rest of the album up nicely.

'Crucify the Dead' with Ozzy Osbourne starts off a bit slower and has a more haunting vibe but ends with a much more rockier vibe.

'Beautiful Dangerous' with Fergie was probably the song I was most concerned with but I needn't have worried. It proves that Fergie can Rock!! Probably the song that surprised me the most

'Back from Cali' with Myles Kennedy is a mix of slower and overdriven rock! Myles is also the person that Slash toured with and could be the next vocalist of Velvet Revolver - Personally on this evidence it would be a very good choice!

'Promise' with Chris Cornell slows things down a bit - not that it is a ballad

'By the Sword' with Andrew Stockdale (Wolfmother) has a bit of an 'epic' feel to it. It starts quite slow and builds up, slowing down again for a quite haunting solo before rocking out to the end

'Gotten' with Adam Levine is a ballad and one of slower tracks but still has quite a rocking solo and then slows back down to ballad to finish

'Doctor Alibi' with Lemmy ups the tempo again to a traditional rock song

'Watch This' with Dave Grohl and Duff McKagan is an instrumental that really highlights how talented Slash really is - Awesome

'I Hold On' with Kid Rock is a 'Pop Rock' song - by that I mean I could easily see this as a single and although rock it also has a bit of a ballad feel although not a slow ballad

'Nothing to Say' with M. Shadows (Avenged Sevenfold) is a very up tempo song and gallops through

'Starlight' with Myles Kennedy has a ballad intro but has a rock chorus and a great rock solo too

'Saint is a Sinner Too' with Rocco Deluga a slow tempo with a slight haunting vibe and the most unexpected and 'different' song to all the others

'We're all Gonna Die' with Iggy Pop is another rocking track and quite possibly what you would exp0ect a collaboration of these two would sound like - a great album closer if it wasn't for the 3 bonus tracks...

The 3 'bonus' acoustic tracks are all recorded with Myles Kennedy
'Back to Cali' (from this album) - a slightly different vibe but still retains everything that the 'Electric' version did
'Fall to Pieces' (originally a Velvet Revolver track) Highlights why Myles would be a great addition to Velvet Revolver as I think he is a much better vocalist than Scott Weiland. Although this song still retains everything the original does it feels better (in my opinion)
'Sweet Child O' Mine' (originally a Guns n' Roses track) Maybe not as great as the original (as that is one of my all time favourite songs) but still is a great track and works acoustically - this is the full length version too!

All the Acoustic tracks are superb, without any drums, bass guitars etc and seem to be just the two of them. They are well worth spending the little extra to get...

Overall this Album really works for such a mix of vocalists and really highlights how versatile and talented Slash is. It certainly isn't an ego trip for the guitarist and EVERY song works and feels right. The Vocalist selection fits each song perfectly and even the instrumental 'Watch This' isn't out of place. The acoustic additions are also a showcase for Slash's ability as they are very stripped down - any mistake would be highlighted. Acoustic guitars are so much more difficult to play too...

Also included with this package is a DVD containing 65 minutes of material including a making of the album documentary, 3 live videos, behind the scenes footage and 3 music videos too.

Live videos are 'Back to Cali' Live at the Roxy, LA, 'Starlight' & 'Mean Bone' both Live at MTV Classic Launch and all feature Myles Kennedy

Music Videos are 'By the Sword' with Andrew Stockdale, inc a behind the scenes 'Back from Cali' with Myles Kennedy and 'Beautiful Dangerous' with Fergie

and also features a track by track interview with Slash.

This package is certainly worth purchasing if you are a fan of this genre and essential if you are a fan of Slash!!

Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is not complete album!, 17 Feb. 2012
By 
Renato Medurecan (Zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
As a big Guns/Slash fan, I think that this is a good rock album. The songs are versatile about style and genre,
and you can hear huge Slash's melodic and powerful guitar contribution in every song.
I would give 5 star rating, but I can't, because I can't believe that
this (or some other) box set is not released with all included songs, that are released in some other countries.
Sadly, you can't buy missed songs on CD single, because they are not released like single.
Anyway, I recommend this album to every Slash/GN'R fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album and Great extras, 8 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I've had this album for some time, borrowed it from friend but as soon as i saw this edition i had to buy it. The album is amazing has a great selection of tracks which span all genre's, and the dvd extras are good too.
The making of the album documentary is short but really good, alongside the interview with slash discussing the track listing, gives a great insight to each song and what he aimed to do.

Highly recommend this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slash - Deluxe Edition, 17 Aug. 2011
By 
Sharon Helm "Shaz :)" (Watford, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Hi all,

Like others have already mentioned, I was a bit anxious due to various artists appearing on this CD. Didn't need to worry at all as this CD is stonking. Can't tell you how many times I have played it, but it's superb!! Fergie is outstanding on 'Beautiful Dangerous' and Miles Kennedy is my new singer of the moment. Only track I'm not crazy about - although do like the music - is Ozzy, but that's because I'm not an Ozzy fan so of course is down to personal taste. Ian Astbury with 'Ghost' (first track) is superb and it goes without saying what a fantastic guitarist Slash is. Saw him at High Voltage on 23rd July this year (and Slash's birthday) and the band were outstanding. Rock on Saul!!

I thoroughly recommend buying the deluxe edition which includes DVD and through the buyer I used as was a brilliant deal. Many thanks.

Shaz, Watford
17/08/2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some cracking tracks, but, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
S. P. MARLEY (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This Deluxe Edition is well worthy of purchase, displaying the talents of Slash across many guitar styles with different solo singers, and the accompanying DVD is very interesting too. I particularly liked the tracks with Ian Astbury (starts the CD in style), Ozzy and Lemmy. All of these songs rock!. The one downside for me was Myles Kennedy (particularly the acoustic versions at the end of the CD). I have not come across this voice before, but it didn't impress me, and on further re-listening I even felt obliged to fast forward. But that aside this is a CD-DVD package that all Slash fans will enjoy, and those wanting a sample of what this guitar-great can offer will not be disappointed either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shameless cash-in, and STILL missing songs, 6 April 2011
By 
ravenheart (Rayleigh, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This was going to be a bigger, better release. But as the time drew nearer it got trimmed back.

The original album is excellent, and well worth owning for any rock fan. However, this "deluxe" edition is a scam (putting aside the fact that a limited edition was released at the time and the "real" fans are now being stung for another limited edition). This was supposed to be a three disc set, with an entire second CD of bonus tracks. In the US you can get this version from Slash's website, but once again in Europe the label have penalised the fans.

The US version includes no less than 13 bonus tracks. That version has five live bonus tracks (three from the UK edition plus 'Nightrain' and 'Watch This'), two unreleased demos, the first solo song Slash did, 'Sahara', which didn't make the album, a brand new unreleased song called 'Mother Maria' featuring Beth Hart, the re-recording of 'Paradise City' featuring Fergie which was stripped from the original album at the last minute, the original special edition bonus track 'Baby Can't Drive' featuring Alice Cooper and Nicole Sherzinger, and alternate versions of 'Sahara' and 'Beautiful Dangerous'. The DVD is the same.

So not only are Roadrunner trying to con fans out of more money after already releasing a special edition, they're not even giving them all of the available music. Presumably holding the rest back for yet another release.

At least we are being treated better than Australia, who only got two bonus tracks (they did get 'Paradise City' though).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Guns N Roses Fan, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Honestly, I'm not. I was impressed when I heard Slash playing a solo instrumental though, and bought this hoping for more of the same.

The axework is still pretty standout, but the album as whole is heading a bit too much for USian Stadium Rawk for my tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Aug. 2011
By 
Vixx H "vixx811" (Cannock, Staffs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slash - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I love this album. I'm not a GAR fan but I really do believe that Slash is a genius. The different genres that this album contains are so varied there is something for everyone. Give it a go, I really believe you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slash - Deluxe Edition
Slash - Deluxe Edition by (Musician) Slash (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews