Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boldly going HD
This set contains every single episode, split across three seasons. For its time, a progressive and forward-thinking science fiction series. The distinctive style and memorable characters lend it a timeless quality, although many aspects of the production, theatrical style and melodramatic acting will no doubt find it struggling to appeal to modern audiences. Season 1 and...
Published 4 months ago by D. James

versus
228 of 257 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Series in a 2 Star Budget Box...
I felt awful clicking the 2 star tab, as I'm a life-long Star Trek fan and this is a pop culture icon... the very definition of a five star series. However, it is my duty as a consumer to warn other prospective buyers and to urge you to pay the premium and buy the separate season sets over this complete set. Reason being? Scratched discs from the awful cardboard slot...
Published on 16 Jan. 2012 by Bertie Buggerington


‹ Previous | 114 15 1619 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, you know you want to!, 12 Jan. 2012
By 
Kazgirl (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kirk, Spock, Bones et al. return to our screens after a loving digital cleanup. Sharp & clear images that Gene Rodenberry would be proud of. If you are reading this review, then you are probably already familar with this groundbreaking & much loved show if you have never heard of Star Trek then buy this anyway & stop looking like an idiot at nerd parties.

This box set is nice & compact & looks great on the shelf, particuarly next to other box sets in the franchise. Each season itself comes in a foldout cardboard wallet. A few people have complained of the dvds falling out of the sleeves & I will admit season 3 did on mine. But unless you plan on opening your set over a cage of hungry crocodiles this isn't really much of an issue & is somewhat expected with transit.

Each season is also packed with special features & interviews that can add to the enjoyment of watching Star Trek. My only complaint ( & this seems to run over all the franchises) is the lack of "play all" function, I mean what else would you want to do with it? Enjoy the slightly annoying music?

So my sugestion if you are considering this purchase? Not to do so would be "ilogical"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [Blu-ray] [1966] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Really enjoying watching the remastered version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent, everyting i expected and more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A present and had no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the new cgi, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [Blu-ray] [1966] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Cracking. Love the new cgi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We all watched the whole set back-to-back (eating, sleeping and going to work in between, you understand!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [Blu-ray] [1966] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great value box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful CGI, 8 Jan. 2013
By 
M. Edwards "edders35" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Programmes ruined by bad CGI. It was made in the sixties so why add CGI? If you like it, that's great, but please let buyers be more aware that it's NOT the original series. Amazon very good as usual though. Sent it back for refund with no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original classic series that sets the pace for the future and films, 16 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [Blu-ray] [1966] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The original series is well acted, fun, with an unmatched camaraderie between Kirk Spock and McCoy which endear us to them forever. What is known as the Historic mission of Kirks, when he was the first to go out into the unknown expanse of space and meet and befriend or be forced to fight species after species. Highly entertaining to watch time and time again. Bringing new twists into the stories by introducing Vulcan mysteries to us.

I don't want to spoil it for anyone who has never seen Star Trek but will say the actors are great and went on to be in many films and series'. This sets the scene for the series which followed and referred to Kirks mission. In case your still unsure -I also love Sliders, Star wars, Battlestar Galactica, Andromeda, Firefly, Quantum Leap...and of course Star Trek Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager. But I didn't like Enterprise because it makes a mockery of the rest of Star Trek - no attention to continuity at all - They seemed to suddenly become the first to do everything that I was told many years ago was first done by Captain Kirk, Captain Pickard... and their Crew, totally undermining Captain Kirks historic mission if Captain Archer had already done it all before. If you watched Enterprise before this you'll keep saying no Enterprise was the first to do/ see / experience this not you - please remember this came out over 40 years ago so this is the Classic, the Original truths are here.

The Dr, Captain, Spock, Scotty and Uhuru, the core crew are wonderful together, I love the same extras being seen again. HAve a book with every charactor in all the Star Treks and was amazed to find Rand was only in about 6 episodes, seemed a lot more, just shows how lasting an impression these episodes have. And they did what they could with the lack of technology, very impressive really, and forward thinking, doors which open themselves - someone was behin them opening them hidden off camera - now we have automatic doors, communicators, unheard of we'd have even tinier mobile phones within 30 years. I think Star Trek whad done a lot to inspire inventions. I look forward to transproters when no more need for public transport!! - the technology in theory has been proven...and warp drive too, yes, this series was what started it all and a must in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 1 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [Blu-ray] [1966] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having watched bits and pieces of Star Trek during the eighties when I was a kid.. I always was in some way fascinated by the adventures of Kirk and co. I finally decided to buy the series on blu ray, and I must say, it's one of my best buys ever.
It's amazing to see how far Star Trek was ahead of its time. Some episodes are pure genius. They quality of the blu rays is outstanding. As far as the box goes.. It would have been a lot better if the discs were in a Tricorder box or something.. but in the end, it's about what's on your screen right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1619 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [Blu-ray] [1966] [Region Free]
£69.41
In stock on March 7, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews