Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent remastering of an old classic
Loved the original series when shown on the BBC back in the 70's.
Nice to revisit it now and appreciate the great plots and storylines.
This series really was ahead of it's time. The new spaceship and space travel scenes have had a discreet CGI makeover and they look awesome. I think that they have been created very well and give the series a fresh look without...
Published 15 months ago by filmboychris

versus
223 of 250 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Series in a 2 Star Budget Box...
I felt awful clicking the 2 star tab, as I'm a life-long Star Trek fan and this is a pop culture icon... the very definition of a five star series. However, it is my duty as a consumer to warn other prospective buyers and to urge you to pay the premium and buy the separate season sets over this complete set. Reason being? Scratched discs from the awful cardboard slot...
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by Bertie Buggerington


‹ Previous | 111 12 1316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome quality DVD, bad quality box, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Now I know what you're all thinking - Why the hell does the box matter? My main issue is that the disks themselves are not in plastic DVD cases, but are instead just shoved in to simple slots in thin cardboard books. DVDs stored like that can easily get damaged. And you wouldn't want that, because the quality of the remastered episodes is AWESOME! The picture is beautifully clear, and most of the CG has been redone so that it does not look out of date (It's not top notch CG, because obviously that wouldn't fit with the look of the rest of the show, but the remastering means that you're not distracted by really bad, out of date effects, and can get in to the episodes more.) I grew up watching The Next Generation and Voyager with my dad, and I finally decided to take the plunge and check out the original series, because everyone kept telling me how good it was. I have to admit, I was kind of reserved (I thought that maybe everyone was just being sentimental and nostalgic about a TV show that by today's standards was actually pretty corny and bad,) but the quality of the writing for most of the episodes actually ended up blowing me away! It's exciting, it's funny, it's sweet, it's epic, and it even raises some really serious issues, and asks interesting questions. I'm actually thinking that I might like this more than the much slicker looking Next Generation (I definitely like it more than Voyager.)

Also, Kirk, Bones, and Spock?....Awesome. They're like the Three Musketeers ;) I always smile whenever those three are on screen together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent boxed set Brings back lots of happy memories. Whilst the packaging is pretty basic it is quite adequate for my requirements. Some of the comments seem a bit nit picky considoring the good price of the set and I would recommend it as good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Blu-ray clarity!, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The picture is absolutely stunning! Far beyond my expectations. I am not an expert, but I can't believe they managed to get a picture quality that looks to me to be a similar quality as with a new Blu-ray film.

I was also surprised to find the stories are much better than I had hoped for. The pilot had so much tension in it for me, it was as if the director taken cues from Alfred Hitchcock. I understand now, why as a child, when I first saw these, I was so entranced, and why I had such strong feelings of excitement about Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never been that into Star Trek, always enjoyed what I'd seen and assumed I seen it all. Caught some of the CBS Action channels re-runs of this remastered series and disoovered just how fabulous and ground breaking the series was. The much mocked performances of Shatner and Nimoy are actually incredibly well sold, consistant and in depth studies of remarkable characters and the enhanced effects and film quality just lift the series into something that I just can't stop watching. The only warning I would give is there are a lot of episodes - something like 20 Blu Ray with four episodes a disk and various interviews documentaries etc - a potential marriage wrecker.

Worth every penny - and hey the box isn't that feeble, it must be the trekkies opening and closing it in Klingon costume!

Just a little addition, into series 3 now. You can see the wheels were beginning to fall of the cart by then. Spocks Brain has some of the worst (and best in a way) dialogue of any TV I have ever seen but as usual they work so very hard to pull it off.

Tried the on-line parts of the disks and though interesting very slow to use esp. downloading which despite having 40Mg broadband was very painful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy!, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I was very impressed with this buy. Box is well designed with 3 'booklets' of DVDs, one for each season. The cleaning up they have done is amazing when you compare the episode with the original trailer which are also all there - well done! You can tell it's done with love. Altogether a great package and a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted, 2 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
This arrived early which I loved. It was in perfect condition and hubby will love it as a surprise for xmas. It's a bit smaller than I expected so don't expect a huge package but in retrospect it's nice and compact so will fit nicely on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the packaging!, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Adrian Warnes (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a self confessed Trekky and was keen to see the re-mastered STTOS on high quality blue ray. All good!

However, the actual packaging! It's very poor for A) the price and B) the 'cornered' market of Trekkies!

Knowing that most Trekkies would order this, it's just a shame about the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anything below outstanding is not good enough for re-rendering Star Trek TOS, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD edition would have been perfect had proper production care been applied to all necessary details. This Edition was unfortunately done too cheaply, thus it is lacking in usability - even for an expert in audiovisual archiving and film/TV-history.

Layout and Handling:
Simple thin cardboard boxes have been used, without any damage-protection for the individual DVDs. The single cardboard slits for the individual DVDs were just cut into the first of a double-layer cardboard cover. This makes the slits way too narrow, so while constant caution was employed in removing each DVD for first viewing, the cardboard side parts were already breaking during that very first use.

On removing each DVD from all seasons 1-3 one after another, altogether seven DVDs were not working properly. Six of them were faulty due to being covered with some extremely sticking substance preventing proper replay. An expensive special glue remover had to be employed to get rid of that. A seventh DVD has no visible problem but nonetheless keeps stopping every other moment - this is especially annoying with the episode "Journey To Babel" on that DVD.

Choice of Material presented:
The edition idea as such was excellent, what with all episodes plus additional data.

Quality of re-recording esp. main theme:
The conductor brought in for re-recording of the main theme - so ultimately vital to the emotional reception of each customer - has not respected the original composition and recording to the dot. While having had access to original score and recordings of the main theme, his work is strangely deficient in comparison with the 1960's original music by Alexander Courage as it differs palpably from the contemporary recording in several aspects. Melody, arrangement and rhythm of the re-recording are slightly if perceptably at variance with the original, what with e.g. tempo of the re-recording slacking a bit towards the end of the main theme, and melody rendering definitely wrong - flat keys on at least four bars where major was required; this applies especially with the bars in the last third of the theme.

Re-recording also lacks technical quality, adding to the impression of insufficient rendering of this very special piece of music: the re-recording displays a deplorable lack of brilliance of intonation as brass was recorded way too softly. Same goes for the soprano; while a very good choice of singer, the same problem prevails, she simply sounds too soft in this post-2000 recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i loved it, 25 Jun 2013
By 
paula beckett (sutton surrey untied kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I love the old series to the new ones. they may be old but they are the best.the films are as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for the brother, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
The CD collection is awesome.
Remastered and gives perfect watching.
May have found the way to keep my brother happy for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Original Series - The Full Journey [DVD]
46.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews