Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars166
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2011
It's an ok film. I was disappointed as I was expecting more laughs from it. If its a rainy day or you just want to kill a few hours on a train or plane then give it a go but don't give up going out on a bender to watch it : How was the Blue ray definition? I've got to be honest and say I didn't notice, perhaps that says a bit more about the film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
I have never seen a movie billed as "Hilariously Funny" that is hilariously funny.

At best they raise a smile at worst groans of irritation -- Burke and Hare is a good movie (maybe its my penchant for "black humour" that appeals), it is humorous but not laugh out loud funny.

It is good entertainment and well worth watching
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Although Jessica Hynes and Andy Serkis were wonderful, and there were some funny moments, I found this film rather underwhelming. Despite the comedy barrel chase, gentle digs at the lake poets and Bill Bailey's hangman cameo, the plot lacked the focus and oomph I have come to expect from Simon Pegg, and the Shakespeare was sadly cringe-worthy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
John Landis did his best in the 70/80ies. Here he's back, partially with his past talent, but not enough to turn this brilliant gothic subject into a memorable Landis film. Too bad, because the pieces were all there. It's just that he was not so good at putting them together well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2011
A real mix of reviews for this and I think I'm somewhere in the middle.

It isn't 'outrageously funny' as it says on the case. I always think it's a bit of a mistake to big up films in this way, or well, anything really; just like someone I once worked with who kept on and on about how amazing looking her husband was. He wasn't. You set yourself up for a bit of a fall. 'Side-splittingly uproarious' is another I've seen. It wasn't.

This was a good fun 'romp' of a film; great cast, authentic looking sets and costumes and a lot of gruesome shennanigans thrown in for good measure. I've never been too sure of Simon Pegg as a film actor-I primarily remember him from Spaced and that seemed to fit him quite well-he always seems a little out of his depth on film, but he isn't bad. Andy Serkis too...hmmm...always thought he overacted a tad until I saw him in Little Dorrit where he was quite good, and he was actually pretty good in this too; well, he didn't annoy me like he did as Lumpy the Cook in King Kong...

It is a real who's who of British actors and I did like people such as Christopher Lee popping up and Ronnie Corbett. Tom Wilkinson and Hugh Bonneville were good too and Isla Fisher was pretty convincing seeing as the only thing I've seen her in was Home and Away about 100 years ago.

So, not bad at all - we did laugh out loud at some things and the 'bedroom' scene is pretty funny too. Well worth watching if you don't take it too seriously.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
I thought this was hilarious. Did see it on TV first but had to buy the video. In fact bought another one to send to my brother in USA. Maybe as I am Scottish I am a little bit biased but iI.would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 April 2011
This film starts out & ends with hangman (Bill Baily) telling us the about the opening & closing of the story, which follows William Burke (Simon Pegg - Shaun of the Dead) & William Hare (Andy Serkis - Golum from LOTR's) as two 19th century con men who stumble across a lucrative business, of providing cadavers for an Edinburgh medical school run by Dr Robert Knox (Tom Wilkinson - The Full Monty). Pegg & Surkis start out as lowly con men who cant....well, con anybody really, just happen to stumble across a lucrative way to make a fortune, due to a change in laws about the bodies of those criminals who have been Hung, being used for scientific research.

From a first come first served basis of selling the bodies, to all of them being taken to a Dr Monro(Tim Curry -The Rocky Horror Picture Show). Mix this in with the fact that the King has offered a lucrative prize for whom ever has made the most outstanding discovery in medical science to date, means Dr Knox is desperate for fresh....specimens, and will pay double the normal price. In step....well stumble really, Burke & Hare, who by pure chance due to the death of one of Hare's residents, his wife Lucky (Jessica Hynes- Shaun of The Dead) runs a B&B, and the light bulb soon appears as the good life beckons. They get a taste of it with fine cloths & food, however anyone who's anyone notices as they rise from pauper to noble mans lifestyle in a short space of time, & eventually it's not long until others want a piece of their pie, but can they keep it hush hush from the law(Ronnie Corbett) ?

Personally i was really excited to watch this film, but sadly it ended up being a little bit of a disappointment from my initial high expectations. Although i thought it was funny in places, there weren't really any laugh out loud moments, it was more subtle humor, although at least the story was decent enough to follow & enjoy. Nothing to shout from the rooftops about, but still makes an enjoyable enough film to watch. There are a lot of dead bodies as you'd expect, with the odd open chest, severed leg etc...here & there, fine if your a regular CSI viewer, a little gory, nothing extreme. Just in case your a bit squeamish ;-) Worth a watch.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 January 2012
This is a proper game of victorians and villains, I had for some time avoided watching this feature because I knew the story of Burke and Hare and could not believe how in any way it could be entertaining in its retelling.

I was aware of its retelling in an earlier horror feature and it is a staple of the wax works in Edinburgh, imagining something similar with humour which was a little too black for comfort. On the contrary the narrative begins and ends a hangman and portrays everyone high and low as one way or another reprehensible in character, complicit in murder or corrupt.

Life is nasty, brutish and short, which I'm sure it was, whether you fall prey to murderers or not. The central characters of Burke and Hare are without doubt to some extent rehabilitated in their portrayal. A plot involving a love interest for Sean Peg's character Burke, who then becomes a kind of patron of the arts with his ill gotten gains, results in his eventual execution for murder being spun as a tragic sacrifice his undeserving friends and woman he loves. A kind of comedy of errors if ever there was one and I suspect far removed from the reality. On the other hand it is only loosely based upon historical events and if you can suspend disbelief it can be entertaining enough.

A surprising feature and a good way to pass an hour or twos viewing time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Don't go into this film with the expectation of any historical accuracy. This is a fictional and darkly funny look at the goings on of a couple of a couple of murderous thugs, only one of whom paid the ultimate price for his contribution to medical science. It may be set in 19th century Edinburgh but it vividly puts a mirror up to the ethical face of science per se. Altruistic science? Yeah! Right! The life we fortunate ones live today has always, and always will, come at some poor victim's expense and this film expresses this value with style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
It's not awful. I'm not angry that i have seen it. The best way i can describe it is if you are responsible for suggesting that your friends see this film you will have 91 minutes of feeling sheepish.

Somebody obviously thought that the story of Burke & Hare offered up enough comedy material for an hour and a half of film. i suspect they realised they were wrong long before they finished but carried on anyway.

The cover says 'outrageously funny' i'd say 'moderately amusing in parts.' If you're on a plane and you've seen all the good films then this will pass the time. you might even get a few laughs. but otherwise give this a miss.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)