Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start but well worth sticking with
For the first half hour of this show, I was nonplussed. By the shocking end of the first episode, I was waiting for the next installment with baited breath!

I wont spoil it but in short, 4 old school friends with issues aplenty between them head off for a week in the sun with their cheesy and ultra successful friend Alvo in his majorca villa. Villainy and...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by JSB

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YES AND NO
I can't quite decide if this is worth 2 or 4 stars, so I've plumped for a Solomonic 3. Yes... this starts out as a really intriguing suspense drama, beautifully set in sun drenched Mallorca, where anything, and everything seems possible. The story is given an excellent slow burn treatment, very well acted by its protagonists, except for the very unnatural and annoyingly...
Published on 13 May 2011 by H. L. Mason


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start but well worth sticking with, 7 Mar 2011
By 
JSB (Essex, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
For the first half hour of this show, I was nonplussed. By the shocking end of the first episode, I was waiting for the next installment with baited breath!

I wont spoil it but in short, 4 old school friends with issues aplenty between them head off for a week in the sun with their cheesy and ultra successful friend Alvo in his majorca villa. Villainy and mayhem ensue.

It's an unexpected, grown up drama that is also wickedly funny, it could have easily been disappointing given the high hopes such a cast line up gives you but it delivered. Glennister is magnificent as grumpy, sensible Quinn thoguh you could be forgiven for suggesting that it's just Gene Hunt on holiday. John Simm and Marc Warren were both convincing and amusing in roles you might not have pegged them for based on other work, Simm being a bit mean and Warren going from cocky to vulnerable and all the way around again. Max Beesely seemed in danger of just being there for the pretty factor initially but holds his own in the drama, particuarly in the last 2 episodes. His character is a lot more understated but still compelling to watch as the events unfold. Ben Chaplin does a marvellous smarmy ex-pat, briefly, and the handful of minor additionals all fit in well to the over all story.

The 'sets' should also get a mention, as it was filmed on location in majorca and made me a few degrees warmer just watching it!

Yes, it is far fetched and silly but it's also incredibly satisfying, it certainly keeps you guessing. Murder, drug deals, a gun weilding midget (can I say that?), sun burn and middle aged angst, some shocking swim wear and a goat in a pool. What's not to enjoy? The ending, well, it's a bit marmite really and hard to judge if they did a good job of finishing until Sky confirm whether there will be a second series next year. Fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Gem, 29 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
OK it had a great cast but SKY don't exactly have a track record when it comes to producing quality drama so I was a bit dubious about this, but it's an absolute corker. Blackly funny, absorbing, disturbing, surreal and brilliantly tense.
Those wanting to be spoon fed everything like children had best stay away as this is a story you have to pay attention to but it's never pretentious, the (relatively for British TV)big budget really shows on the screen and the locations are fabulously used.
Personally I rather liked the somewhat ambiguous ending, however SKY have announced a second season in 2012 which apparently starts where this one left off, in fact look back at the 4 episodes and there are all sorts of questions still to be answered so hopefully it won't be a cash in on series one's success.
If you are a fan of crime drama or have a slightly sick sense of humour I can't recommend this highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A HOLIDAY TO DIE FOR, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Mad Dogs is a four part series about four long time friends from England heading over to Majorca, Spain to visit their recently retired friend Alvo(Ben Chaplin) for a holiday of a life time! Alvo has paid for all their flights, taxi's and will put them up in his large Villa, it seems that the "property business" has been good to Alvo and it's going to be a reunion to remember for all five!

Of course that would be to simple, as is evident from the opening scene in which the four mates Baxter(John Simm), Rick(Marc Warren), Woody(Max Beesley) and Quinn(Philip Glenister) are seeing recording messages for loved one's that all has not gone well in the reunion.

The one thing for sure is if there is trouble to be found, these guys will find it, in each episode they get deeper and deeper in to trouble. Not knowing Who to trust they begin to take it out on each other, In episode one Alvo is seen belittling all his friends that their lives are a mess and he has the perfect life!

Mad Dogs is a British gangster series, so expect dead bodies, drugs, guns and bit of everything else. It's been compared to British gangster movie Sexy Beast and there are some similarities between the two. John Simm(Baxter) and Philip Glenister(Quinn) do provide some strong acting compared to Marc Warren(Rick)who just seems like a spoilt brat. María Botto who plays Spanish Cop María also turns in a fine performance and you can never be sure what side of the law she's on.

This is a good series and their is rumours of a second series, the script is good, there is some good humour thrown in and there is some real tense moments throughout. With a lack of good British series lately Mad Dogs is a welcome addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Dogs, 8 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Mad Dogs is a well writen and well acted show. It deals with every character individually and gives you a insight into why certain things are happening! But.......ONLY if you pay close enough attention! Do yourself a favour watch it twice, watch it three times!

If you are disappointed by the end, don't be. Mad Dogs was intended to be a 3 series show and indeed the second part has just been agreed. The first series ended the way it did to path the way for a intriguing follow-up.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Dogs Series 1, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally got around to ordering this off Amazon as I missed it on tv. If you don't know the plot, 4 guys in their 40s head off to visit an old friend who lives abroad. It starts off with them all pretty much pretending they're 18 again, getting drunk etc. and then things take an unexpected turn for the worse when they realise their old friend isn't quite who he seems... highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, brilliant cast, brilliant plot. very exciting and tense absolutley loved it, i pre-ordered the dvd before the last episode had aired and when i watched the final episode i was so glad i had - cant wait to watch it all again! and all my friends are loving it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mad Fun, 30 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Good little production which may have missed the mark slightly although I'm not too sure where. It just felt that something was missing. Maybe that was because the producers had their eye on a second series so the story had to be so convoluted that it could be continued. Still can't fault the cast or the fun they all seemed to be having. Bring on Mad Dogs 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 11 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Marc Warren in my opinion is a class actor, as are all the main characters in this DVD. Really enjoyed it. Well acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mad dogs and englishmen, 1 July 2012
By 
Dan Sten Rexen "Dan S R" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A suspensful and yet funny depiction of the English abroad. Old friends meet up and travel to the sunny Spain to meet their old mate who have made it good. But all is not as it seems and mayhem follows. All good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent "tailor made" series, 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I say tailor made since in this case it's well understood and stated that the assembling of the main cast preceded script and production issues, and I find nothing bad in that.

I was totally hooked to the screen over one evening and watched all 4 episodes and enjoyed it immensely.

I guess I wouldn't have come across it if it wasn't for the main actors, being a post Life on Mars and Hustle production. I think that anyone who enjoyed these mentioned productions will love Mad Dogs, since they share similar amount and quality of tense, funny and surreal moments interlaced in a plot that is not always believable but consistent enough and not with too many loopholes and loose ends.

The actors are all superb IMHO, and reading other reviews that are somewhat divided on the issue of Maria Botto's performance, I think she was great. I find her changing moods and smiling, that was described in one review as annoying, as very deliberate and necessary for having the characters and viewers wondering whether she's a good/bad/bent cop or even related to the mob.

The location, scenery, production and photography are great too. One can almost get sunburns from watching the sunny outdoors scenes...

Subtitled. Could have been nice to have the few Spanish lines translated too.
No commentaries and one behind the scenes featurette.

I'm very happy to see that a second series was produced and it's about to be available on DVD.

I hope they will know how to finish it well, since I think it has the dangerous "dragging" potential and becoming too much unbelievable and with too many plot loose ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Dogs - Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Mad Dogs - Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Max Beesley (Blu-ray - 2011)
£5.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews