Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Going to extraordinary lengths to pay tribute to the sound of Ennio Morricone!
Brian Burton, aka the composer/producer/collaborator extraordinaire Danger Mouse, is about as prolific as they come, helming a constant flow of inspired material since he first came to prominence in 2005 with "Grey Album", his audacious splicing of The Beatles' 'The White Album with Metallica's The Black Album..
Since then he has topped the charts with Gnarls...
Published on 31 May 2011 by casabig

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent background music (and that's about it)
I won't be the first to emphasise there's too little meat on this album. To fans of the melodic, soft work of Morricone, Jean-Claude Vannier,... this record sound instantly appealing. Sound-wise it's perfect; harmonies, melodies and orchestrations are perfectly executed and the variation between stylish, slightly cheesy instrumental bits and the occasional vocal parts of...
Published on 19 Jun. 2011 by q_fdb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A new favourite, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Bought this having heard "Two Against One". Love both Jack White and Norah Jones, neither disappoint. The instrumentals are melodically and relaxing. I can see this being a permanent fixture in the car...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad brought me here, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
John D. Watts (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Hearing 'Black' on the final episode of Series 4 of Breaking Bad made me want to check out this album. It hasn't disappointed. It's unusual and thoughtful. Jack White's inclusion is the icing on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars strangely addictive, 15 Jun. 2013
By 
B. G. Cullen (lancs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Jack, Norah, weird combo. But, it works. If u long 4 the Clint Eastwood era westerns this is 4 u. Latre nite, few glasses of something nice, put it on & enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album of moments - some great, some not, 4 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
It all seems a little pretentious - fabled uber-producer unites with Italian composer to create a musical film (no actual film accompanies this 'soundtrack') based on the golden age of Westerns. Stars, of both the indie and café scenes, come together to assist in making music evocative of the Ennio Morricone scores of yesteryear.

Well, the latter is certainly true - the instrumentals sound overly-familiar, although that's clearly part of the goal, and familiarity doesn't damper enjoyment of the sweeping melodies that do actually evoke images of the lone Cowboy trekking across the plains. The results don't quite match the hype generated by its five-year conception, but it's beautiful enough to draw the listener in.

Norah Jones redeems herself with perfectly-timed breathy vocal turns on Season's Trees and Black - two of Rome's highlights, the former being the standout. Her sense of rhythm is exceptional - more than can be said for Jack White, whose three tracks are surprisingly no match. White sounds listless, his voice not fitting the atmosphere and unable to create some of its own.

It's certainly not perfect, and some of the early interludes are more engaging listens than their fuller versions - but beautifully crafted it most certainly is, and sometimes that's enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar, 23 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Rome [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It is just really great. utterly atmospheric and all the tracks are excellent in their own right. Well worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bella, 2 July 2011
By 
Graham Richard Carter (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
I bought this album after watching some arti crafti programme. So glad I did, excellent cd, now a firm favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent background music (and that's about it), 19 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
I won't be the first to emphasise there's too little meat on this album. To fans of the melodic, soft work of Morricone, Jean-Claude Vannier,... this record sound instantly appealing. Sound-wise it's perfect; harmonies, melodies and orchestrations are perfectly executed and the variation between stylish, slightly cheesy instrumental bits and the occasional vocal parts of Jack White & Norah Jones feels right. However, my initial enthousiasm quickly turned into the feeling this project is a bit of a missed opportunity. Basically it just sounds too well-considered, too much like a hommage or a stylistic exercise, rather than the product of a brilliant composer with a vision.
I'm not saying this project is without any merits though. A bit like the latest couple of Air albums, 'Rome' is full of soft & easy going music, not really rewarding for intense listening, but great for harmless & enjoyable background music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally beautiful music, 8 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album! Even if you don't share my mindset, that late 60s / early 70s films such as Once Upon a Time in The West will never be bettered, then you can still love the beautiful artistry that has gone into creating this exceptional piece of music. And if you do (share my mindset)..... then this album will send a shiver down your spine as it recreates the amazing sound that accompanied so many of these films. Having said that, this is not a soundtrack - each song is beautiful and haunting in its own right. The only thing I would mark it down for is being quite short, as other reviewers have noticed, but then there is no way this album is anything less than 5 stars. And is it such a bad thing at the end to be left wanting more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Believe the Hype.., 24 May 2011
By 
K. EDEN (lancs, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
This album should have been mind-blowing; the musicians, studio, producers etc but unfortunately it's amazingly unremarkable. I'm an unashamedly Morricone obsessive and desperately wanted to love this album - the best bits are when Danger Mouse rips off specific chord progressions or melodies. The whole album sounds like Air doing their finest Serge Gainsbourg imitation. The stand-out feature of the album is the bass production.

It's a nice album but it's nowhere near as ace as it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Lots of noises - all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rome
Rome by Norah Jones (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews