Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb uplifting disco all the way
Mondo Disco celebrates the joyful side of disco and delivers two great value CDs that are packed full of uplifting string-laden dance music.

CD2 strikes gold on nearly every track. Highlights include the lush, mellow instrumental 'Souvenirs' by Voyage and the experimental 'Arabian' sound of La Bionda's 'Deserts of Mars' (utilising the moog synthesizers to...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by Truecolours09

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent collection
I bought this mainly so I finally had a hard copy of 5000 Volts 'Doctor Kiss Kiss'. 5000 volts should have their work more readily available as they are one of most talented groups to come out of Britain in the 1970's. This track really shows off Linda Kelly's amazing vocal talents. She is sorely missed. The other track, that I know and like, is The Eruptions 'Can't Stand...
Published 13 months ago by Greg Chapman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb uplifting disco all the way, 2 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Mondo Disco (Audio CD)
Mondo Disco celebrates the joyful side of disco and delivers two great value CDs that are packed full of uplifting string-laden dance music.

CD2 strikes gold on nearly every track. Highlights include the lush, mellow instrumental 'Souvenirs' by Voyage and the experimental 'Arabian' sound of La Bionda's 'Deserts of Mars' (utilising the moog synthesizers to dramatic effect). The Eruptions' 'I Can't Stand The Rain' makes what is now a standard feel fresh again. Way out in front, though, is the sublime disco version of Andy Williams' 'Love Story'. Alan Jones' excellent sleevenotes hit the nail on the head by describing the track as "astonishingly brilliant". Tense, layered and melodramatic - even as it approaches its last minute, there is new impetus that makes you wish it could go on and on. 'Love Story' is nothing short of a disco triumph. This track alone would justify purchasing the album.

CD1 is pleasant but perhaps not as immediately catchy. Patrick Juvet's 'Got A Feeling' is a Bee Gee-esque 70s cabaret style disco track that chucks several melodic hooks next to one another so that it feels weirdly like several songs cut together. 5000 Volts' 'Dr Kiss Kiss' is a sassy, string-heavy funkier disco moment. Highlight of CD1 is perhaps 'Call Me Tonight' by Cerrone, which has the warmly melodic sound that could later be heard on Goldfrapp's 'Head First' album.

As usual with Disco Discharge, this collection sounds amazing - with a real depth of sound. The packaging is great (especially the decision to include a collage of the original record sleeves). What rescues the project from becoming some kind of dull disco archive is the sheer ingenuity of track selection. On Mondo Disco, in particular, there is an huge amount of material I didn't know I loved but that feels somehow both familiar yet also excitingly fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another superb addition to the series, 24 April 2011
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Mondo Disco (Audio CD)
What I like about these compilations is the sheer joy & fun they have with disco. These are great stomping dance along tracks, not particularly deep or significantly important but worth having all the same. For me, as a disco fan, this is an excellent addition to my collection, if you are starting out on the hunt for re-issued and not 100% familiar disco, then this is a great place to start.

So which songs do I like best. Souvenirs by Voyage is an excellent piece of 'love boat' disco that I already had but not the instrumental version, this was worth the price of admission alone. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Bourgie Bourgie is also a great track (but available elsewhere) and Gepy & Gepy's - Body To Body is fun italo disco too.

There are plenty of good tunes on this comp, I'm not sure if this is my favourite in the series (have to think hard about that) but its incredibly good value and will liven up any dull evening if played at a sufficient volume!

Hoorah for disco discharge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Andy Williams?!?, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Mondo Disco (Audio CD)
Yes, Andy Williams' foray into disco was brief yet spectacular, as evidenced on Mondo Disco by the jaw-droppingly OTT Love Story - the song itself is completely eclipsed by a bonkers orchestration of strings and kitchen sink that builds and builds and builds.......!!!
But there are plenty of great tracks on this compilation, one of the best in the Disco Discharge series. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent collection, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Mondo Disco (Audio CD)
I bought this mainly so I finally had a hard copy of 5000 Volts 'Doctor Kiss Kiss'. 5000 volts should have their work more readily available as they are one of most talented groups to come out of Britain in the 1970's. This track really shows off Linda Kelly's amazing vocal talents. She is sorely missed. The other track, that I know and like, is The Eruptions 'Can't Stand The Rain'. I do know John Davis and the Monster Orchestra track, but I don't really like it. Space I do know of, but not the track here. Overall a nice collection of some great fairly obscure disco tracks that deserve more airplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ok, 30 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Mondo Disco (Audio CD)
Everything is ok. Beautiful music of yesteryear. Excellent quality and great service
Everything is ok. Beautiful music of yesteryear. Excellent quality and great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mondo disco, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Mondo Disco (Audio CD)
Having read other reviews i purchased the album .Having listened to it im of the opinion its not for me .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Discharge: Mondo Disco
Disco Discharge: Mondo Disco by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews