Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disco feels fresh again
Like many people, my knowledge of the 'disco' genre stretches barely any further than the usual compilation album suspects (Boney M, Donna Summer etc). Brilliant as those classic tracks are, disco has tended to feel very much like a piece of dance music history that's best left to nostalgic wedding DJs and Heart radio.

So it's a huge breath of fresh air to...
Published on 29 Jan 2011 by Truecolours09

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it has moments
This album is like a lot of albums. 1 or 2 great songs and the rest are fillers. I can't think of anything else to say.
Published 16 months ago by john ross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disco feels fresh again, 29 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA (Audio CD)
Like many people, my knowledge of the 'disco' genre stretches barely any further than the usual compilation album suspects (Boney M, Donna Summer etc). Brilliant as those classic tracks are, disco has tended to feel very much like a piece of dance music history that's best left to nostalgic wedding DJs and Heart radio.

So it's a huge breath of fresh air to listen to this new release in the Disco Discharge series. Beautifully packaged, excellent sleeve notes from Alan Jones and great sound quality are just the start of the story. The revelation here is just how fresh most of the tracks feel - bright, melodic and uplifting in a way that most modern dance music isn't.

The standout track is Johnny Mathis' special disco version of 'Begin The Beguine', which is 8.29 minutes of gorgeousness. It's disco but it's also timeless, flowing out of the speakers and wrapping you up in its warmth and sincerity.

Other great moments here include Linda Clifford's amusingly camp take on 'If My Friends Could See Me Now'and Gloria Gaynor's thrillingly melodramatic 'Love Is Just A Heartbeat Away'. Special mention also to Claujda Barry's 'Why Must A Girl Like Me', which (in it's Tom Moulton mix) is kitsch and playful.

Some of the stodgier, more 'funky disco' tracks are less to my taste but this double CD collection is such amazing value that I would certainly recommend it to anyone considering a purchase but - like me - had not previously heard the majority of the tracklisting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cisselin Hot!, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA (Audio CD)
Disco Discharge returns for more dazzling disco delights! First up is Fern Kinney's "Baby Let Me Kiss You", a slick, electronic number featuring Fern doing her moaning sort of thing she did so well on her "Groove Me" single. "Sunshine Hotel" is a rock and rolling disco cut with awesome wah wah, piano and growling vocals."Two Hot For Love" is porno disco from the THP (Three Hats Productions) Orchestra and can be a little overbearing, but is infectious nonetheless.Perfect for late night fun in an alley..."Why Must A Girl Like Me" by Claudja Barry is a campy sort of song, that would fit in on a transvestite road movie, but is quite pleasant and has the typical Salsoul sound behind her."Cisselin Hot" by Chuck Cissel really is too cool for school, this is just such an awesome cut and recently I had the pleasure of contacting the man himself who suggested it should be remade...but personally I think there is no need, this cut is timeless."Holler" by John Davis and his Monster Orchestra is a thumping number with a hot break, it was the flip of his disco hit "Love Magic" in 1979."Like An Eagle" by ex porn star Dennis Parker is a classic cruising cut from Mr Jacques Morali with the only cringe worthy bit being his wailing in the chorus...you will know what I mean when you listen to it.The instrumental version of Earth, Wind and Fire's "Boogie Wonderland" is great, it reminds you of the brilliance of the original and it it terrific music after all.For me, besides "Cisselin Hot", the stand out track has to be the magnificent "You're The Fire" by Cissy Houston.This has all the ingredients to send shivers down a disco lovers spine: strings, dramatic diva vocals and some hot keyboard by none other than Michael Zager. Marlena Shaw contributes her sexy "Love Dancing" track, Area Code 212 contribute the jazzy "Dukes Train" which grows on me each time I hear it and can be quite funky at times,and the two cuts from the `79 vampire film "Nocturna" are fabulous: Gloria Gaynors rueful sounding "Love Is Just A Heartbeat Away" is better than Vickie Sue Robinsons "Nighttime Fantasy" though,in my opinion.Slick's "Space Bass" is tremendous, a classic I already owned, but with terrific sound effects and vocals ("even in the year 3000..."). Ultimate are here with their classy "Ritmo De Brazil" from their classic self titled lp.Linda Clifford "If My Friends Could See Me Now" is onboard and its a diva centric showbusiness disco item running eight minutes.It should be mentioned, that as usual, all cuts are either 12" or album versions, so no annoying radio edits here.Double Discovery, one of Boris Midneys creation provide the so-so "Step On Out" and Boystown Gang are here with the forgettable and non-disco "YesterMe,YesterYou,Yesterday" cover."Dance" by Paradise Express, is another cut I had played for years, but it is still infectious and fast moving and the intro alone is enough to warrant it on this collection.Teddy Pendergrass is funky as hell on the short "Life Is A Song Worth Singing", a message song that really does speak to you.And finally, the fast "One Love" by Celi Bee and her Buzzy Bunch, a hustle fused groove from 1977.Liner notes by author Alan Jones provides you with a bit of information on the tracks and a few cover shots, and as usual the front cover isn't really disco, but they like to do that apparently, I personally like the disco photos but honestly, if thats the only complaint to have about this fantastic set of songs that most of are quite hard to get,then I'm happy.Another great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the lot, 21 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA (Audio CD)
Out of all the compilations in this series so far, this is by far my favourite. It does more than bring back memories, it helps brighten my day. Especially 'Dance' by Paradise Express, what a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent collection., 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA (Audio CD)
Another excellent collection. All the tracks are good, one of the best volumes in the "Disco Discharge" serie. This is the discomusic that I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, 4 May 2013
By 
Munkydog (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA (Audio CD)
This album features many of my favourite disco tracks and some I had never heard before. So it was well worth buying. I remember seeing many of the tracks mentioned in USA disco charts in Record Mirror Circa 1978/79 and it's taken me till now to actually hear them. Great album and 'Beguine the Beguine' and 'Ritmo de Brazil' are sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there are back......., 25 Jan 2011
By 
T. Bowles "darcydr" (bexhill, u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA (Audio CD)
Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA...the team that gave us all the great last few double cds of great disco tracks are back again with this disco fever usa, so many great 12 inch tracks on this 2 cd set, you can read through the list on the credits and every track is great, iam now waiting for the next 3 to arrive and i cant wait, this series of cds in the diso discharge are the best you will find any where, so get these cds first and you will hear great disco tracks as they should be, you will then find you want them all, i have them all so far and i hope they keep going and keep finding lots more tracks to put out and we all know that lots more can be found......keep up the great work and go find more please.........go get this on order and you are back in the good old days with great music............................enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it has moments, 17 Mar 2013
This album is like a lot of albums. 1 or 2 great songs and the rest are fillers. I can't think of anything else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA
Disco Discharge: Disco Fever USA by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews