Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EARLY TRANCE EURODISCO, 3 Jan. 2001
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Audio CD)
This is archetypical electrodisco from the European school as represented by Giorgio, Munich Machine, Europe/USA Connection, and Cerrone: hypnotic, mesmerising beats creating a magical vibe as the tracks segue seamlessly into each other. The best ones are the title track and its reprise, First Hand Experience ... and I'm Left, You're Right, She's Gone - prime examples of early trance music. Just shows you what can be achieved by synthesizers, a drum machine and disembodied voices - all blended together with expertise to create not only a dancefloor killer but also an addictive listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered From here to eternity, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last a super brilliant remastered version of this classic electronic Disco album. The album has been issued before but this time the remastered sound is superior. Also there is a bonus track which is only the 7"edit of the single version of the title track but it is a welcome addition.
This new release has some good artwork and liner notes and this time released in digipak format. There is a card outer cover but there is a plastic tray for the CD disc. Its just more slimline. This new remaster is long over due but it has been worth the wait since the sound is much better.

This is a great original album by Giorgio Moroder from 1977. It is one of his best albums and possibly his best album as a solo artist.
This album was produced in the same year as his greatest success as a producer with the Donna Summer single "I feel love" which was the greatest advert for his unique style of electronic synthesiser Disco.
This album has those fabulous elements of electronic Disco married together with some great melodies and wonderful production.
From here to eternity has Giorgio using a vocoder synthesiser sound with strong hints of Kraftwerk and an arpeggio that echoes "I feel Love" and its re accruing motive. There are great instrumental passages and the whole album has great moments of interest that goes beyond the average commercial and catchy pop styled Disco.

"Faster Than the Speed of Love" is more of an interlude with more hints of Kraftwerk and "Lost Angeles" is one of those songs that clearly influenced much of what came many years later with House music.
"Utopia - Me Giorgio", is a simple highlight of the album that blends into a reprise of the title-track.
"First Hand Experience in Second Hand Love" was very popular in the Disco as a single but like all the tracks did not make any major impact on the UK singles chart.
"Too Hot To Handle" closes the album in a good fun happy vein. The addition of the bonus track From here to eternity the 7" edit is a welcome addition because it is in keeping with the album and the edit itself is a good arrangement of the original full length album version and sort of rounds off the release with the same song that it begins with.
The whole album was big on the Disco scene and it was the sort of thing that stayed rooted in the underground of Disco.
All of the tracks had little to no radio play in the UK and has been ignored by the mainstream in the same way as Progressive Rock was ignored during the same decade.
Giorgio Moroder is an important figure in electronic synthesiser music as well as Disco and Pop. His influence was as wide spread as it could be across disco and electronic pop. The more universal synthesiser sound of the 1980s would not have been what it was without the previous influences of the likes of Jean Michelle Jarre, Vangelis, Kraftwerk and Giorgio Moroder.
This is a fabulous and rich album from a distant and creative era of pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album from Giorgio Moroder, 4 Sept. 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Audio CD)
This is a great original album by Giorgio Moroder from 1977. It is one of his best albums and possibly his best album as a solo artist.
This album was produced in the same year as his greatest success as a producer with the Donna Summer single "I feel love" which was the greatest advert for his unique style of electronic synthesiser Disco.
This album has those fabulous elements of electronic Disco married together with some great melodies and wonderful production.
From here to eternity has Giorgio using a vocoder synthesiser sound with strong hints of Kraftwerk and an arpeggio that echoes "I feel Love" and its re accruing motive. There are great instrumental passages and the whole album has great moments of interest that goes beyond the average commercial and catchy pop styled Disco.

"Faster Than the Speed of Love" is more of an interlude with more hints of Kraftwerk and "Lost Angeles" is one of those songs that clearly influenced much of what came many years later with House music.
"Utopia - Me Giorgio", is a simple highlight of the album that blends into a reprise of the title-track.
"First Hand Experience in Second Hand Love" was very popular in the Disco as a single but like all the tracks did not make any major impact on the UK singles chart.
"Too Hot To Handle" closes the album in a good fun happy vein. The whole album was big on the Disco scene and it was the sort of thing that stayed rooted in the underground of Disco.
All of the tracks had little to no radio play in the UK and has been ignored by the mainstream in the same way as Progressive Rock was ignored during the same decade.
Giorgio Moroder is an important figure in electronic synthesiser music as well as Disco and Pop. His influence was as wide spread as it could be across disco and electronic pop. The more universal synthesiser sound of the 1980s would not have been what it was without the previous influences of the likes of Jean Michelle Jarre, Vangelis, Kraftwerk and Giorgio Moroder.
This is a fabulous and rich album from a distant and creative era of pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning was this man...., 7 Sept. 2004
By 
Sr Caldwell (CROYDON, LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Audio CD)
This is the man who got Euro Disco off the ground, he has many artists under his belt, Donna Summer and many others, remember i feel love?.
He went from strength to strength but is now back behind the decks where he is best know for producing new artists.
Buy this album, you won't be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable for us disco-ducks, 26 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Audio CD)
This was the start of synthesizers in dance music and still rather unsurpassed (but then again the memories of the seventies still linger on).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY HYPNOTIC, 1 Dec. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Audio CD)
It still sounds futuristic today, nearly 29 years after it was recorded. Like Donna Summer's groundbreaking "I Feel Love" which Moroder masterminded, when I first heard this, I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I loved it then and I still get a buzz out of it now. Incredible. It sounds more modern than most modern stuff that's out now. It's haunting and exciting, even euphoric. But then Giorgio Moroder is one of dance music's greatest innovators and listening to this album, you can hear why his influence has been so towering. Simply stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utopia - Me Giorgio, 1 July 2011
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Audio CD)
Buy it, it's brilliant. The first five tracks are pure Space Disco. The electronics are a pounding metronomic repetitive joy. Staggering for 1977. Lyrics/vocals are terrible, but they don't impact on how great the electronic music is. Quite clearly a huge influence on Daft Punk, LCD Soundsystem etc, so what's not to like. KraftwerkDisco (ie bliss). and with the most hilarious song title I've yet to come across; Utopia - Me Giorgio! (and worth it for the tache, as my much younger brother said when he saw the cd cover, 'did he really look like that'? )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space music from the 70's, 1 July 2008
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard this until 2008 and it sounds like it was recorded in the last few hours.Classic euro disco,it just works!I always liked I Feel Love and his work with Sparks on No.1 In Heaven(and Sigue Sigue Sputnik of all bands) but somehow had never realised he had his own albums.Buy,buy,buy is the final comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Electronic masterpiece, but...., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...is it my imagination or does the pitch/speed slightly increase around thirty seconds into the first track. It's especially noticeable when listening on headphones. I have this album on the original vinyl, and four previous CD editions, and none of those have this pitch problem.

I guess most people won't really notice it, so don't let my concern put you off as this album is worth hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a fab CD., 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it a must have all the tracks just blow your mind, bring it on, let have more of his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

by Giorgio Moroder (Vinyl)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews