Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Read
Having read Wasting Police Time: The Crazy World of the War on Crime and Diary of an On-call Girl: True Stories from the Front Line and loved them both I thought I would give this one a go. I wasn't disappointed! Perverting the Course of Justice isn't as funny as either of the first two (although it is amusing in parts); it gives major insight into the life of a man who...
Published on 12 Jan 2009 by susie

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're Nicked My Son
We've had Dave Copperfields book (and excellent blog), then Diary of an On-Call Girl, now the Inspector has called (hee hee - soz couldn't resist). Another sideways look at the world of the modern Police Force but this time from higher up the ranks, very well written and it's interesting to see the story told from the bosses view. He still describes the madeningly...
Published on 1 July 2009 by Icemaiden


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Read, 12 Jan 2009
By 
susie (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Having read Wasting Police Time: The Crazy World of the War on Crime and Diary of an On-call Girl: True Stories from the Front Line and loved them both I thought I would give this one a go. I wasn't disappointed! Perverting the Course of Justice isn't as funny as either of the first two (although it is amusing in parts); it gives major insight into the life of a man who has to tackle criminals, red tape and complete lunacy on a daily basis. It is also written in a great chatty style - it seems as though the author is talking directly to you about his experiences.

A fascinating and truly revelatory book, Inspector Gadget reveals that he is not allowed to make a cup of tea in his police station (in case he scalds himself), wear combat trousers (in case he injures himself on something he puts in a pocket), or turn on his desk fan until it has been checked by an expert (something that probably won't happen until December). He is, however, allowed deal with scores of drunken yobbos in his district of a Saturday night.
As he says: "Kettles and trousers - too dangerous.
"Tackling 250lbs of screaming, tattooed nightmare, armed only with a 50g tin of pepper spray which doesn't work and a flimsy aluminium stick - you carry on officer."

It is also a thought-provoking book. He describes what it is like attending horrific accidents and then having to visit a family and tell them that one of their loved ones is dead, knowing that he is going to shatter their world.

But it is the nonsense he has to deal with constantly that is the most interesting aspect of the book - his force spent hours investigating after a teenager committed the "crime" of telling a youngster that Santa does not exist and they also arrested a child for gleefully grabbing a few crisps from his friend's open packet.

A couple of reviewers have criticised the author for whining and not doing anything about the problems he faces - surely writing a book highlighting the problems is doing something! If only our politicians would read this and take notice.

Inspector Gadget tells it like it is. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% True!, 13 Sep 2008
By 
L. S. Douglas (Sunny Gateshead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a serving polce officer and can say that after reading this book there is not one thing described I have not come across or thought. It is a great read and sadly very funny and very true. A MUST READ for every senior police officer, senior civil servant, journalist and politician in the land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Targets, paperwork diversity . . ., 11 Sep 2008
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It seems to be a common theme amongst those members of the police force who have broken ranks and described modern policing that most time is taken up with covering one's back and paperwork. Targets must be met whatever the cost which inevitably leads to concentration on minor, easily solved crimes rather than anything which is going to take a mountain of paperwork to complete. However this book is the very opposite of a rant against the status quo. The essence of police work shines through; the tragedy and the comedy and the great variety of humanity who may encounter the wrong side of the law together with those who turn to the police for help and receive what they need. I found it of absorbing interest and would recommend it to anyone who has even the vaguest interest in law and order and how it works - or doesn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gadget tells us what his bosses don't want us to hear., 13 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been reading Gadget's blog for a while and picked this up out of curiosity. It's more of what was already published in the blog, but I certainly don't mean that in a bad way; this book is very well written and makes for a compelling read. Gadget's passion for doing a good job and frustration at being unable to do so as well as he'd like is apparent through the book, as is the emotional turmoil he feels at some of the appalling things he has seen and awful people he is forced to deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Gadget: Perverting the course of Justice, 10 Sep 2008
As a fellow British Police officer and frontline Police Inspector I have quietly watched 'Gadget' via his blogg from the sidelines for about 2 years. When the wiff of a book raised it head on the horizon I grinned like a Cheshire cat knowing that it's publication would make senior Police officers up and down the country and Politicians alike cringe with daunting anticipation. Well the wait is over now so the question is was it actually worth the wait? The simple answer is "Yes too bloody right it was!" I found 'Perverting the course of justice' by Inspector G' an excellent read which pulled no punches. This book really 'tells it how it is' and is 100% accurate in my opinion on the constraints and obstacles put in front of the frontline modern day Police officer. Buy the book its well worth it. Gadget if you read this review, and I assume you will as it's the first review placed on Amazon know that you have a lot of support out there. Well done mucker!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Tough on crime, tough on the causes of crime!", 25 Sep 2008
By 
You may remember that statement, made back in 1997 by some grinning goon whose name escapes me.
Anyway, here we are eleven years later and Inspector Gadget, a frontline uniformed Police Inspector, tells us EXACTLY where a decade of Nu-Labour spin and soundbites have brought us to.
This book details the working life of a dedicated, conscientious Policeman. One of the ones we, the public, never seem to see patrolling the streets anymore (Gadget will tell you why this is.)
The Inspector's points are brilliantly written, matter-of-factly delivered and slam home like bullets. What could so easily have become a sub-Littlejohn rant is a thoroughly compelling (and, sadly, depressing) insight into the way the thin blue line has become entangled in paperwork, targets and political correctness.
As more and more of us become totally disillusioned with politicians on all sides of the spectrum, it's easy to see how any Party taking Gadget's words to heart and actually ACTING on them could walk straight into Number Ten courtesy of a landslide delivered a grateful public who are, like the good Inspector himself, so sick and tired of our Police Commissioners acting as glorified social workers, forever chasing Home Office targets instead of the underclass criminal vermin that infest our towns and cities.
This country has a Police Service. It desperately NEEDS a Police Force.
Read this book now.
Then buy another copy and send it to Jacqui Smith...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, shame it's so true..., 4 July 2009
By 
E. Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read 'Wasting Police Time' and this is equally as entertaining. Was very interesting to hear the take on things from somebody a bit higher up in the ranks. Some hilarious (and saddening!) stories to remind us all of just how ridiculous our justice system is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S ALL TRUE, 19 Sep 2008
By 
Top Cat (Northern England) - See all my reviews
As a recently retired officer from a force very, very similar to Ruralshire ( in fact so similar i must have worked with Insp. Gadget ) i must say IT'S ALL TRUE.
I'm sorry members of the general public, but if you are wondering why...
( a ) You never see a uniformed officer on foot
( b ) It takes so long for the police to respond to your call
etc etc etc etc
you must read this hilarious and often sad account of how our thin blue line is drowning under the tidal wave of political correctness, diversity, PDR's, targets and general box ticking.
Well done Insp. G. for telling it as it is in 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh 'cos it may stop you crying, 18 Sep 2008
Should be a must read for every MP or prospective MP as well as any MOP (Member of the Public - that's you and me) who is at all concerned with how target driven policing is failing each and every one of us.

I work in an industry where targets and service levels are our bread and butter, what I've realised is that unless you're very careful you end up with every SLA met and very unhappy customers who didn't know that good SLAs are not the same as good service.

Read it, twice, then make sure you tell everyone you can to read it too. Perhaps then our "customer satisfaction" will drop enough that someone will think to look at this properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a nightmare!, 20 Sep 2008
By 
M. Ward (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an ordinary member of the public this book sent a real chill down my spine. Well written, easy to read and entertaining. Whereas it could have been a 'rant' against the powers that be it is very measured and the real world cases it covers are compelling in their own right. A very good, if somewhat unsettling, read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews