Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Sirocco 550 Micro Hi Fi
The item arrived very quickly and was very well packed.
I am extremely impressed with the unit and the sound quality is amazing!
The short DAB aerial supplied with the unit is more than adequate for the area in which I live.
The Speaker leads as supplied were not long enough for my particular requirements but I obtained suitable cable and I easily extended...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by John G. Humphreys

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pure Sirocco Micro System
While the radio, CD and sound aspects are very good, there are also some poor aspects and one abysmal one.

Poor: The buttons are barely legible; The menu system is fiddly and reverts back to start before you have chance to think; The aerial isn't very good; The instructions are non-existant.

Abysmal: The website is possibly the least helpful I have...
Published 17 months ago by Roger G


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Sirocco 550 Micro Hi Fi, 5 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
The item arrived very quickly and was very well packed.
I am extremely impressed with the unit and the sound quality is amazing!
The short DAB aerial supplied with the unit is more than adequate for the area in which I live.
The Speaker leads as supplied were not long enough for my particular requirements but I obtained suitable cable and I easily extended both leads.
I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this item to friends and relatives!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fulfils all expectations., 6 July 2011
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
Easy setup, everything works perfect and smooth. Sound is great, with many details. Speakers sound larger than they actually are.

Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent product, 4 Sep 2011
By 
N. Briscoe "Stonefish" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
I have put the full review up on my blog at [...] but here are a few short comments.

The sound is great, set up is easy, once you realize that speaker cables don't actually need a connector, and you can even begin to enjoy all those stereo broadcasts from the TV, providing you have the correct connector.

With thanks to the Pink Invasion Company (who trade in the Amazon Market Place) for arranging delivery to my satisfaction, I'm a very happy user of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Sirooco 550, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
The Scirroco 550 looks well made and would look nice in a Penthouse suite or any modern looking home.The touch sensitive buttons are responsive and the big chrome buttons feel securely fixed to the front of the radio.The display is the same as the Evoke flow with a few additional features to allow for individual control of bass and treble for instance.The DAB radio works well as does the internet radio.The unit itself is heavy enough to stay in position on a shelf whilst prodding the buttons.If your familiar with other Pure internet radio s you will be aware navigating through the menu s on the display is not always straight forward but once you get the hang of it its ok, if still feeling a bit long winded.If you find yourself in the middle of selecting an option but not quick enough to make a selection the display will either revert back to the last display or automatically select the option it happens to have highlighted at the time and you only have 4 seconds or so to make your selection.The only real critisism is when playing a retail purchased CD the display does not show the song being played, or the list of tracks on the CD and when i emailed Pure Support for advice i was told this was a feature of the Scirroco and my email would be passed on to their design team,i emailed them back saying is what you call a feature most people would call a fault she replied no its a feature of the radio lol, so i suppose that highlights the fact your buying a Pure radio and not Technics or Panasonic.
The speakers are more than exceptable and i think you would need to be a Bass freak not be satisfied with the sound of them.The speaker cable at each end are bare wire so no connectors required making it easy to buy longer speaker cable with no problem at all.
The remote control works well and the radio is very responsive to commands.The remote does virtually all functions but all this depends on sitting close enough to the display to see the text.The only way i could get [MY FAVOURITES]on the display using the remote control was to select OPTIONS and scroll down to LOUNGE and then press SELECT and then my favourites appeared on the display.Overall i would recommend this product because the internet radio works well and to be honest thats the only reason we are buying Pure products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PURE Sirocco 550, 15 July 2011
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
A lovely looking hi-fi, just a few niggles hoping to be addressed with further firmware updates. Very complicated at initial setup as you need to be very fast changing e.g."source" on the remote control, or the unit goes back one step, we are not all in our teens and au-fait with modern electronics. Also it came with a "Quick Install Guide", not a (Full Manual) which would have helped enormously. This unit is a replacement for one that couldn't "see" any of my iPods. Having first contacted the retailer, i was told there was another waiting time,(about a month)'til they got new stock. I telephoned PURE directly and they supplied me with a working unit. Now Hi-Fi working as expected, but beware there must be a "Bad Batch" out there, I already own an old PURE DMX-50, and prefer the sound it produces, (not so wooly), probably better upgrading speakers with something with a bit more Treble response, or upgrade the in-built tweeters for better quality ones...(Another of those "Built for the U.K. ears ???) I do wish they would stop all the hype about our listening preferences being different from the rest of the world,and changing components for our market!! That's enough moaning for today from me, Hope any further issues get ironed out though, as this unit is really great value for money.PURE Sirocco 550 - Micro system with iPhone / iPod cradle - DAB radio / radio / CD / MP3 / network audio player / digital player - The Lounge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works like a drream, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
I've had this about a month now and so far can only praise it.

Set up was very easy and the wi-fi has worked flawessly from day one although bear mind I live in small flat. The on-line Lounge for internet radio is great (and synchronises with the main unit automatically) and I've discovered a number of stations from all parts of the world that make great listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Versatile Micro HiFi, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
I agree with all the previous reviews. Only problem I have is when i switch off, then switch back on it has a problem refinding the (Lounge)internet. But all it takes to recover it is to switch off at mains, wait 30 secs, switch back on and its there again. So not really a big issue more of an inconvenience. Would have got 5 stars but for this niggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
Great design that is simple and easy to set up and use. Unlimited Internet radio presets (not offered by similar systems in this price range, Sony etc) It is also seriously loud, I'm talking party/dancing loud. A great system if like me you have a large CD collection and an increasingly large I-tunes library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic worth it, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
When i first got this there was issues with wifi but this was as it was amazon warehouse deal and previous owner had it hard wired. But when it was sorted it works amazing. Some menus dont go back with back button, when that happens just press down button. Make sure when you get it you do a update in options. Make sure you register at pure connect and take out a pure lounge trial well worth it.

This is one of the best ever devices i have bought. MP4 plays with track name and you can scroll through to select song like a list. USB very quick to load. CD slides in rather than a slide out door, Docking available for iphone apart from iphone 5 adapter sold seperatly. . The Digital radio is amazing sound and all other features are great. Especially internet radio, you can store any favourite for internet radios including folders and you can access that on the device.

Apart from the odd errs1 issue it is amazing. Please remember if you listening to anything but back takes you to menu, press the down button and it works.

Great device glad i bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Scirroco 550 - Excellent, 1 Feb 2013
By 
A. N. Nette-thomas "Bubbles" (Ipswich, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Digital SIROCCO550 Micro Hi-fi Digital FM Internet Radio CD and iPod Dock (Electronics)
Excellent sound (depth and ranges like much larger speakers of old) and functions, easy to set-up and use as is the 'Lounge' Internet Radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews