Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so much more user friendly
Having lost my trusty leatherman after many years of alsorts of use, i had a look around for its replacement. The leatherman was durable granted but awful to use in cold weather, wet weather or with gloves on. This feels so much better in the hand, and whilst the blades are shorter and smaller than my old leatherman, it will see more use, it is easier to handle and the...
Published on 7 Feb 2012 by Drgarold

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average - better than a cheap tool but not the best
Well I've been using this knife a little over 6 months and has seen some reasonable but not overly heavy use, and there are some good points and some rather not so good points (I wouldn't say bad, but not ideal).

The good:
- The pliers are some of the best I have ever used, fantastic for one handed use as they're spring loaded, have a nice grip and meet...
Published 18 months ago by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so much more user friendly, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
Having lost my trusty leatherman after many years of alsorts of use, i had a look around for its replacement. The leatherman was durable granted but awful to use in cold weather, wet weather or with gloves on. This feels so much better in the hand, and whilst the blades are shorter and smaller than my old leatherman, it will see more use, it is easier to handle and the blade locking system is much easier to use and leaves me less fearful of having to re-attach lost digits each time i do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BG ultimate Multi Tool, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
This is a absolutely great multi tool, use it all the time and comes in very handy, has had a couple of dunts and drops but still works fine and is not even scratched, would recommend To any one looking for a top of the range multi tool, knifes and saw comes very sharp and all tools are superb, has all you need and this multi tool is just as good as a leatherman multi tool. Overall superb tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
Awesome affotable multitool.
the blades are extremely sharp out of the box.
the quality of the pouch is average (i used the horizontal belt loops once and it broke now i use the verticle belt loop).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect present, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
I found it difficult to decide between this and a leatherman but I am glad I got this one, blades quite sharp on it so be careful ! My partner loves it and uses it everyday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerber......, 15 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
After a mix up with UPS my Gerber arived from the USA. I already have the great Gerber Suspension multi-tool. Be Aware...Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool and their Suspension multi-tool are the same!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
ive been using this now for well over a year. ive had no problems with it and works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for this price., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
Solid build, many useful tools, rubber grip. One thing i don't like is very hard way to close opened tools (hard moving unlock switch).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average - better than a cheap tool but not the best, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
Well I've been using this knife a little over 6 months and has seen some reasonable but not overly heavy use, and there are some good points and some rather not so good points (I wouldn't say bad, but not ideal).

The good:
- The pliers are some of the best I have ever used, fantastic for one handed use as they're spring loaded, have a nice grip and meet precisely.
- The serrated blade is nice, sharp and works fantastic.
- The screwdriver bits are great, good long reach and not ground to a point so grip nicely. Also good as prying tools.
- Locking system is nice, although recent use has me thinking it's not quite as robust as a Leatherman tool (see the bad points).
- The feel in the hand is nice, feels sturdy, quite heavy (may be seen as bad in the pocket, but I prefer it).
- Accessible tools from the outside of the tool, so you don't need to open it up every time you need something.
- One handed deployment of the main blade and serrated blade.
- The scissors are one of the best I've seen, perhaps better than even Victorinox.
- Priorities of survival guide is quite a good addition.

The not so good:
- The lock on mine after 1 day of medium hard use has ended up with the serrated blade having a significant amount of vertical blade play.
- The saw is pitiful.
- The main blade has a completely flat edge, as such mine no longer has a point and is completely dull at the end.
- The steel isn't particularly great at holding an edge, due to a soft steel, though this makes it easy to sharpen.
- The sheathe isn't great, the pouch that holds the 'priorities of survival guide' ripped easily and it's only got a small piece of Velcro to hold it shut.

This isn't a bad first tool, or something for light use, but the Bear Grylls endorsement usually goes down a hit... On every field work visit it's usually the running joke about Bear Grylls, so don't expect to look 'cool'. Another thing, this is a re-skin of the Gerber Suspension, although this is much nicer in the hand.

Other tools to consider are the Leatherman Wingman and Sidekick, as these are around the same price. For RRP though, Leatherman's are far better, but at this price, you can't really go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SO-SO, but good at the price, 2 Jan 2013
By 
D. F. Gillies "donnyhiab" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
After over 15 years with both the original Leatherman Wave( loved it) and revised version ( had some bits better, still loved the original) of the Wave, I decided I would give the Gerber BG a try...Liked the marketing and had swift delivery from Amazon.
However sadly the BG fulfils only a couple of expectations, one of which was the shorter blades ( I tend to always carry a multi tool both at work and play, its only off my belt when I dress to go out of an evening!)to avoid possible legal issues.
Generally it has a nicer pliers action for holding and using, no nipping skin between the handles ( a big leatherman wave problem) and I really like the spring opening on the pliers...however that is probably the only things I like.
The Gerber BG is clumsier to take out of sheath and deploy a blade with one hand, partly because it fits the sheath upside down, if that makes sense, and partly because the opening grips are hard to work with your thumb, especially if cold and wet ( often my other hand is holding what I wish to cut, or controlling something!)For guaranteed quick blade deploying single hand use Wave is still king. The Wave can be removed, blade opened Plain or serrated, used, unlocked, closed and returned to sheave without it leaving the grip of your hand .
While this could be construed as unsafe, and has other connotations more in the realm of Special Services...however when you are in a hurry with ( e.g.)an entangled animal, seconds matter). Fumbling around, dropping or placing it on the ground may not be an option and over open water could mean the loss of an expensive knife!
Also, the Sheath is terrible. I've already removed the BG interior partition for the survival booklet ( Laugh..great for kids but poor presentation, it might have been better on waterproof paper!) It took fingers of both hands to hold sheath partition apart to replace the multi tool safely ( I know it has lanyard rings, but dislike the entanglement risk of a cord around my neck).
Further more, discussing the tools, the scissors are poor ( Leatherman Wave are excellent) and the BG screwdrivers barely adequate ( Again Wave screwdrivers even without purchasing the extra "Bits" are excellent. It also lacks a file!
I do tend to use all the tools frequently and had purchased the Gerber BG to cover while my Wave is away for repair ( snapped the nose off the pliers trying to lever out a hydraulic coupling spring) and now unwilling to pay even discounted price for the latest equivalent.
However I would have been unhappy paying more than the £30 ish I paid for the BG. If I was paying around £60-£70 which is the more usual price in Climbing shops, I would be back looking at discounted Leatherman products.
As I have only had the tool for a couple of weeks, I am unable to assess how sharp the blades will stay in once in regular use, furthermore the can opener has still to be used and it's a bit odd looking ( I hope it is the can opener).

All in all, nice equipment at a good price on Amazon, for anyone looking for a useful quality multi-tool, with pliers as a main priority. It has proper locking action on the tools and blades which I consider essential.
However is let down by some detail work on some tools( which could be personal preference) and feeble excuse for a sheath. I have purchased the cheaper ( Non BG) version for my wife, from Amazon, for £18 which I feel is a good price against the probable use it may get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool (Sports)
Excelent bit of kit for the money. Well made and everything comes sharp, even the saw. The only downside is the lanyard ring... Why? especially as it comes with a case for your belt (which can be put on 2 ways which is handy). A file would have been a better idea. All the blades lock when there out which means no pinched or cut fingers. All in all a superb buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bear Grylls Ultimate Multi-Tool
£35.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews