Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top quality backened doom, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only been a fan of this band for a year or so, after hearing tracks off this and their next and last album. Both this and their next album are of a similar feel and full of really strong songs which are haunting, and melancholic. Fans of their earlier work may not like this change in direction from their earlier black metal material,and visa-versa, but personally, I much prefer this album to their earlier stuff as it has much more of its own personality than their more generic black metal material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Come on Die Young, 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit its taken me awhile to discover this band,i mean i was aware of them,just never got round to checking them out.They started of as a more traditional black metal band but began incorporating other elements to the music,ie post rock,almost commercial in some aspects,but in a good way.Some of the tracks are very catchy,this would usually put me off,not so with this group.A lot of the lyrics seem to be about life experiences,relationships etc,depression,unyet it is a very uplifting record.Even though there will be no more Woods of Ypres records due to the death of the man behind the project,there is plenty to appreciate here.If I were to choose one comparison it would be Deafheavens cover version of Mogwai,Cody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This has got to be one of the finest musical creations on the planet, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woods 4: The Green Album (Audio CD)
This has got to be one of the finest musical creations on the planet, not only has it got great doom roots, black metal influence, a folky feeling and a gothic undertone, it is some of the late David Gold's (R.I.P) finest work! The price for this bit of beauty is very good on Amazon too! I highly recommend any new Woods Of Ypres fan to buy and listen to this album back to back, and would label it as a must have for any long term fans. And if you are just getting into doom metal? Look no further as you have found the perfect starting point. Great album and an insanely talented musician and songwriter taken too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woods 4: The Green Album (Audio CD)
i come across a woods track on youtube and liked it so bought this album,,
the best album purchase ive ever made,, tis a beautifull doom/heavy metal cd,,
recomend this cd to every one,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing record from an amazing band!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing record by an amazing band, their mix of doom, death metal is fantastic, sad that the singer Dave Gold was taken from us far to early, he will most definitely be remembered for his genius musicianship and out standing writing, this is probably my favourite album by Woods of Ypres, but all their albums have been knock out for me! Anyone collecting vinyl, you can still buy their work on limited edition vinyls, well worth collecting! RIP Dave Gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album. My son was very pleased with this.Very lucky to get hold of it through amazon, as often happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great metal, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well this another great band from canada good metal ,i do not think we will hear much more of them as the lead singer was killed / but their music is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 17 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Woods 4: The Green Album (Audio CD)
A truly incredible album from what must be the most underrated band ever.
How desperately sad we have been denied more masterpieces like this from David Gold following his untimely passing a few weeks ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Woods 4: The Green Album (Audio CD)
Great album! Delivered within the timescale. Very happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woods 4: The Green Album
Woods 4: The Green Album by Woods of Ypres (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews