Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius Songwriter Returns
If you like your music with a freshness and originality that's rare then this is the album for you. As with most new albums it may take a couple of listens to fully appreciate some of the tracks here but stick with it and you will be rewarded. I found listening to this album, along with the songbook that came with it, at the first listen put me in awe of what a skilled...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by Dan R Street

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gilbert?
Bought this album after reading reviews here.

1st track is brilliant (in my opinion)
Also a good, if somewhat repetative, track about the Twin Towers
attack.

My favourite though is the track about everyone being
allergic to him, very funny.

Runs out of steam a bit after these tracks but worth the money if
only for the...
Published on 27 April 2011 by D. Thon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius Songwriter Returns, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
If you like your music with a freshness and originality that's rare then this is the album for you. As with most new albums it may take a couple of listens to fully appreciate some of the tracks here but stick with it and you will be rewarded. I found listening to this album, along with the songbook that came with it, at the first listen put me in awe of what a skilled songsmith Mr O'Sullivan is.
The album is full not only of great melodies but humorous and thought provoking lyrics, ably demonstrated in possibly the stand out track "All They Wanted To Say" which is a bitter-sweet lament to the victims of 9/11. There aren't many songwriters that can produce such a sweet melody with such a heart aching lyric. If this song gets the radio airplay it deserves then this song is going to become a pop classic. It really is that good.
A variety of songs are on this album including ballads, smooth up-tempo numbers, country (yes, one country type track! ), a couple that have a full orchestra and wouldn't sound out of place in a musical and there is rock. This may surprise some but Gilbert can rock when he wants to and does it exceptionally well too!
Special mention must also go to the track "Here's Why" (a Fats Domino type number) featuring the beautiful voice of Hayley Sanderson. Throughout the album Gilbert's humour is evident and sometimes when you least expect it although "Where Would Be (Without Tea)" is Gilbert having fun all the way. Talking of fun, comedian Harry Hill, a long time friend and fan of Gilbert's, turns up to read a poem of Gilbert's to act as an interlude.
Gilbert can do melancholy when he wants to as in "Down Down Here" and in "Talking Of Murder" the last track on the album he wonders if we all can be capable of this heinous crime.
Recorded in Nashville and London (some tracks have a Nashville feel to them), listen to this album, enjoy it and marvel at Gilbert's skill and enthusiasm for song writing. Isn't it about time the music business recognised Gilbert's dedication to his craft and his exceptional talent and gave him an award? Genius is a word quite easily banded about nowadays but Gilbert O'Sullivan a song writing genius, is fully deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Damn Faultless ......, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
I must resist the urge to produce a track-by-track evaluation of this album, because it's a package, and should be considered as a package, because it's superb.

Mr O'Sullivan is one of the greatest songwriters of our age, although in a completely unique genre which has not brought him the enduring international acclaim he deserves, but he's right up there with Messrs Bacharach, Dylan, Mitchell, Simon and so many others.

He writes from the heart, his lyrics make sense, and the final result is superbly crafted.

Put away all your preconceptions based on his earlier works - this is Gilbertville, and it's quite possibly his finest album to date. Tea, anyone ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back with a bang?, 5 Feb 2011
By 
D. Chisholm "Mr Chis" (The Outback; UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
I'd heard this album was coming about two years ago and ordered a few weeks in advance out of curiosity. When it arrived on the day of release, I wasn't sure what to expect when I realised the album had been mainly recorded in Nashville. Any notion I had that maybe young Raymond had fallen to the 'yee-har' brigade was quickly squashed with the opening song on the CD. It was Gilbert as we remember him, but almost forty years on.

The quality of the tunes and lyrics are still there and it's a very enjoyable listen. The one tiny question mark is whether most people who hear it will get what they're hoping for. If it's more of the same, you won't be disappointed. If it's a 'new' progressive Gilbert you're looking for, I'm not sure it is. Although his writing style remains as clever as before.

To be fair to the man himself, his lyrics are top quality and he's still a master of the art of delivering a catchy tune with a barbed lyric. I liked it, with 'All They Want To Say' the outstanding track for me. It's about 9/11 and terrorism, but totally disguised by a lovely melody.

In fact, only someone like Gilbert O'Sullivan could do that. Genius.

Lord O'Sullivan of Swindon is back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gilbert?, 27 April 2011
By 
D. Thon "Dennis" (Isle of Wight. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
Bought this album after reading reviews here.

1st track is brilliant (in my opinion)
Also a good, if somewhat repetative, track about the Twin Towers
attack.

My favourite though is the track about everyone being
allergic to him, very funny.

Runs out of steam a bit after these tracks but worth the money if
only for the tracks I've mentioned.

Unmistakable Gilbert O'sullivan!

Amazon's usual 1st class delivery, well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man's Still Got It so many yearster, 11 April 2012
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
I Bought this album (A) because I'm a big fan of Gilbert & (B) I was going to LLandudno & Liverpool to see his shows.
And what a show, The man's still got it, his voice sounded as it did in the 70s.
His band has to be the best on tour, and the choice of songs were excellent.
The new songs from Gilbetsville were also excellent, and there was a lot of them played during the show.
This has to be Gilbert's best album since Back to front, His ability to come up with meaningful and sometimes funny lyrics, and catchy a melody is remarkable after so many years.
Buy this album and you wont be disapointed.

This album deserved and should have had much more airplay than it did,and apart from the usual appearance on the Steve Wright show, radio 2 showed no interest at all.
If this album had been made by Elton John, Paul Simon, or Billy Joel, Radio 2 would have played it none stop for months.

But Gilbert Osullivan has never had the credit or recognition he deserves,
He continues to be a master at his craft and deserves better, especialy from the british public and press.
The man deserves to be knighted as have other well known singer songwriters.
Paul Mccartney, Elton John, Mick Jagger, Rod Stewart,and many others have that have been recognised for their contribution to music.
After each show Gilbert goes to meet his fans and has plenty of time for everyone Every male fan gets a handshake every female gets a kiss and everyone gets a picture and an autograph.
None of the others mentioned above treat their fans that way.
The guy's remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
This CD is ok but not as good as any of his past albums in my opinion but there are some nice songs on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gilbert doing shat he does well, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
Some songs pretty hum drum but as with most of his stiff great songs great sounds and great musicians - buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 70s Revived, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
When I listened to this album, I was immediately captivated by the quality and the originality of the songs. I remember the first time when I put a needle on LPs like 'Himself' or 'Back to Front' and was struck by the fresh lyricism of each song. I got that same impression when I listened to this CD. It seems Gilbert O'Sullivan's well of inspiration never goes dry, as if he had set apart all these songs between 60s and 70s, and released them now in this album. He is a phenomenal song writer, he just keeps producing good albums while other artists from 60/70s are virtually dried out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best CD I have bought., 12 May 2011
By 
Kevin Slater (England (Liverpool)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
Excellent CD, What a performer, Gilbert just sounds like he did in the 70s. The best song for me was "Where would we be without tea" but all songs were fab, 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 70's revisited, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Gilbertville (Audio CD)
I must admit that I have held Gilbert's 1970's classics as the benchmark for clever catchy lyrics and insightful reflection and on first listening to his latest album felt that the edge had been blunted but with a couple of plays I discovered a depth of perception allied with an infectious humour and current observations.I found myself recalling the songs and every time I play the album it still sounds fresh and enjoyable.A welcome listen in a world short of talented singer/songwriters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gilbertville
Gilbertville by Gilbert O'Sullivan (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews