Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Bad As I Once Thought.
1972's The Mutants is a Doctor Who story that has been marred throughout its life. The story has consistently been voted the worst of the Pertwee era offerings. I don't mind admitting that I was part of that ban wagon, the overall execution of Bob Baker and Dave Martin's second script was dire. The CSO was terrible, the acting poor {Cotton!!!} and the sets unappealing...
Published on 10 Mar 2012 by The Real M.B.E. Of Tooting

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars treading water.
I have a lot of time for Jon Pertwee. Like Peter Davison, he is a moral and serious Doctor with a humane and caring quality I always enjoy. He also shares Davison's heroic streak. And as one of my favourite Doctors, I find I can happily watch most of his stories, and enjoy them, even the most derided efforts, like The Time Monster or Monster of Peladon. But The Mutants is...
Published on 31 May 2004 by Adrian Sherlock


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an overview of extras, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mutants [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
another 2 discs release with extras for those who love their extras here is what it includes

Disc 1- Episodes:

* 6 x 25 mins approx colour episodes with mono audio.
* Commentary - stereo. With actors Katy Manning and Garrick Hagon, director Christopher Barry, script editor Terrance Dicks, co-writer Bob Baker, special sounds supervisor Brian Hodgson and designer Jeremy Bear. Moderated by Nicholas Pegg.
* Coming Soon (dur. Approx 1') - a trailer for a forthcoming DVD release.
* Programme subtitles.
* Subtitle Production Notes.

Disc 2 - DVD Extras:

* Mutt Mad (dur. 20' 43") - cast and crew look back at the making of the story. With actor Garrick Hagon, producer Barry Letts, director Christopher Barry, co-writer Bob Baker, script editor Terrance Dicks and designer Jeremy Bear.
* Race Against Time (dur. 37' 38") - Noel Clarke narrates a documentary looking at the representation of black actors in Doctor Who and on British TV as a whole. With writer and critic Bidisha, writer Stephen Bourne, actor Fraser James, and Doctor Who Magazine's assistant editor Peter Ware. Narrated by Noel Clarke.
* Dressing Doctor Who (dur. 27' 04") - three-times Academy Award winning costume designer James Acheson takes an affectionate look back over his earlier work on Doctor Who from his home in New Zealand. Narrated by Simon Ockendon.
* Blue Peter (dur. 1' 35") - Peter Purves takes a look at a collection of Doctor Who monsters prior to the opening of an exhibition of visual effects.
* Photo Gallery (dur. 2' 56") - production, design and publicity photos from the story.
* Radio Times Listings in Adobe PDF format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mutants [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
It's difficult to review THE MUTANTS because I found it so boring it's actually quite difficult to establish what the storyline is. From what I gather, the Doctor and Jo are sent a box/pod/thing that can only be opened by a Solonian named Ky. The TARDIS transports them to Skybase One where they intend to give the box/pod thing to its recipient, only to find a planet of inequality. There is a general guy trying to hunt down and kill these 'mutt things'. It's a very vague explanation, yes, but the point is that this is all I have been able to pick out from the plot, because its just so boring.

To put it another way, I myself am a die-hard fan and am collecting all the classics , and I am considering sending this story back and getting a refund. It's annoying to have such a dire episode as this on my shelf when I am yet to own stories like The Seeds of Death and The War Machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mutants [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
This excellent story from 1972 contains some of the best elements of the Pertwee era: intelligent plotting with a socio-political theme combined with strong performances by the lead actors. It is a space adventure, rather than an earthbound UNIT one and is a example of Doctor Who at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Dr Who Story..but the DVD.., 29 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mutants [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
The Mutants is an excellent story with strong characterisations in it. I remember it vaguely back in 1972 as a youngster, then viewed it on UKGOLD in the early 1990s.

Am not too sure why? or baffled that nowadays makers or critics for Dr Who DVDs especially the documentaries seem to analyse every word or content of a story whether about 'race' or historic background to a Dr Who story at the time of it's making. This story 'The Mutants' is no exception. I grew up watching Dr Who for it's entertainment and adventurous through time and space and expectant thrill of the imagination of what the writers and creators of the program deliver like what monsters are appearing next, will it be the Daleks again....All this psycho-anaylsis in some of these extras and they are usually political is too much in your face!! For goodness sake it's only a kids/family show amongst hundreds of other TV programs for our spare time entertainment from the REAL world.

As for the DVD itself the picture quality/audio have been nicely restored. The Mad Mutt 'making of' documentary is great with contribution from the late Barry Letts. The Blue Peter clip must be the shortest on record on any Dr Who DVD! Dressing Dr Who is a nice piece of work from a light hearted review from designer James Acheson.

The Photo Gallery is one of shortest Galleries I've seen on a Dr Who DVD release and is totally boring. More than half the photographs are all set designs and very little from the story..as though half an album is missing. Come on guys who chose the Photos, they should be interesting and well balanced like in the Planet Of The Daleks or even The Sea Devils DVDs.

I would give the DVD content 2 out of 5. But it's this classic Jon Pertwee story 'The Mutants' that deserved 5 out of 5 hence my 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated 3rd Doctor story, 13 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Not one of the best remembered 3rd Doctor stories, but still a lovely slice of nostalgia for those weaned on Jon Pertwee's portrayal of the Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars delivered quick, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mutants [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I haven't had chance to watch it yet so cannot comment on the story. on a positive side it was good value and deliverd on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Mutants [DVD] [1972]
Doctor Who - The Mutants [DVD] [1972] by Jon Pertwee (DVD - 2011)
6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews