Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2001
Anyone who has enjoyed tales of superhuman abilities appearing in the far east will definetly find this book a joy to read. Far from simply regurgitating the 'street fighter' style fantasy that can be found in other publications, this work is a factual and concise insight into the world of a true Taoist Immortal. A man so deeply interesting that the reader will be desperate to here more of the Mo Pai and the art of Nei Kung. This book stretches the imagination while giving one an important glimpse into the heavily guarded history of these strange and yet infinitely important arts. The human animal and spirit will never seem dull to anyone who buys this book.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
This has been an excellent inspiring read and will also be (i hope) for anyone who has just started or for those already on the road so to speak.
Kosta Danaos, the crazy "get up and go get it" guy who done what i would of (had i the resources), he saw something that fascinated him so much he had to seek it out, he had to seek out the master John Chang.
The way he "happened" upon finding him was interesting, and this mood continues through the book but despite this it also at points is very funny and can mix up the two on the same page, one minute your thinking "fantastic, deep, interesting" the next your just laughing.
As a lowly practitioner myself Kosta leaves certain little clues through out the book regarding his practices, i was sure i was correct and this was confirmed by himself in his second book, this did show that i am on the right path albeit a path miles away from the author but still right.
Anybody who picks up on them will see that certain practices are not confined to Mo Pai and that is not meant without respect.
If your looking for a great read then i would suggest this book to anybody, if your looking for the secrets to Mo Pai/Nei Kung/Qi Gong then look elsewhere, also, if your just looking to gain "powers" then please read something else.
Nothing worthwhile is easy as John Chang and Kosta both let you know, you will get out what you put in.
Once (like myself and many others) you have felt the burning flow of Qi, you will never look back nor be the same again.
Thats the thing, this book is spot on for all these things are very real, John Chang just happens to be a person who has skills that sit at the most extreme end, thats what makes this book stand out.
Kosta makes very valid points about the western world, where we are taught from young what to believe, what is real, what is "scientific fact" and even nowadays, as much as science has helped us progress, it still is full of theories as much as it is full of facts.
Simple, just read this read this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
I love reports about saints and other people with extraordinary abilities. I found this book very credible because I saw similar reports on the television and I enjoyed it very much. It is good to be reminded that there are powers slumbering in all of us that are just waiting to be awakened. There is just one thing I didn't like. The author criticises Buddhism for not being able to explain why we have evolution. I wished he had done better research because this remark is not at all true. In the kalachakra teachings we find very detailed explanations about why we have evolution. Other than that - five stars!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2004
The story behind the book is amazing and thought provoking - if only ithad been written in a better style. The author lurches between the storyand "interpretations" of and about science. These are poor and detractfrom what could be a truly epic story. Avoid!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2008
I first read this book a little over three years ago after reading "Nei Kung: The Secret Teachings of the Warrior Sages," and it was rather a surreal read. I kept flipping back to the copyright page to see if it's a work of fiction, but it was not so. This book is a story of an incredible journey of the author, Kosta Danaos, who begun his quest to find and met with an internal arts master by the name of John Chang and his experiences and lessons with him. From reading this book, I thought it was too unreal to be a fact considering that Chang was able to break the laws of the physical reality. But again, it was not so because I have later seen the videos of Chang's psi abilities in action (e.g., pyrokinesis, telekinesis, and levitation), including the video of Lorne and Lawrence Blair's documentary series "Ring of Fire."

The one thing that I have found quite interesting from this book is the moral discussion of karma as relating to becoming like Chang. Obtaining the powers, higher than normal, requires a great responsibility. I do agree with Chang that he does not want to create "monsters" as to why he was strict on the student selections. That made sense since nowadays a thirst for psychic powers is, in an essence, an ego boost or superiority. Also, discussions of Yang and Yin and Mo-Pai tradition are informative read.

Thinking back on it now, the stories surrounds Chang reminds me a lot like Castaneda's Don Juan in "The Teachings of Don Juan: a Yaqui Way of Knowledge."

Considering the fact that English was not Danaos' first language, this book is really well written and well organized. With little over 200 pages, I could not put this book down as it had enthralled my thoughts and emotions. Whether or not if it is a real story, this book is an intriguing and fascinating read, especially the stories about the "Immortals" of the ancient past, but that's just me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is an exciting story about this Indonesian healer, something of the extraordiary stuff one cannot find very often in this world. If the author would have taken distance somewhat from his personal moralistic view on the state of affairs of this world, and just presented the story and facts, I would have given five stars. I do not enjoy this kind of moralistic complains. The world is as it is, and someone in the line of Taoism and Nei Kung once said, 'the world is sacred and cannot be improved'. Anyone who understands the implications of 'divine justice' and karma, as brought forward in this book (among others), can only stop complaining and start living in the excitement of the dragon ride of life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
I read this immediately after reading Jim McMillan's Kindle book about his experiences with John Chang. It was interesting to contrast the two viewpoints. This book is poorly written and contains far too much cod science and fanciful speculation however the sections on Mr Danaos time spent with John Chang are both fascinating and possibly rather more illuminating than Mr. Danaos might have intended them to be. Still, essential reading for anyone interested in a Greek engineer's encounters with the, then; temporal leader of the MoPai.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
This book is the first wich is revealing a way to improuve our human condition,written by a christian,the master declareing himself christian in the book,not buddist or taoist.It is the first book reveleing a way (ancient Mo Pai thechings) and for your surprise read the second,"Nei Kung : Philosofical art of change" by Damo Mitchell,wich in essence reveal another way to reach the same purpose(much,much entering in details of phenomena and practice).This two practitioners (john Chang and Damo Mitchell) have a lot in common,but their thechings represent two approch,one of an ancient chinese way and the declared taoist way to practice and evolove like a human being (of course also ancient chinese theachings of the daiost monks).
If now,two authors propose to us the same goal,in two similar ways,this fact convince me that John Chang exists with his so called "powers",his stage of evolution is real and we must read,understand,feal and practice,becouse a human without any belives is very easy to be oppresed,demoralized and finaly living in a stage of slavery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
the book is a great read. only wish there was some way to link up with the author. anyone who knows how to reach the mr koasta please leave a comment.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
This book has helped me in ways that words can not explain.

I believe that everyone should read this book at least once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse