Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars148
4.5 out of 5 stars
Size: Large|Colour: Green|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2013
I ordered a 'large' hat, which I thought would be more than big enough for me. It wasn't.

There is a 'Sizing info' link next to the size selection menu. Clicking on it opened a pop up, which gave a lot of information about sizes for trousers, shirts, etc., but nothing for hats. So I had to guess which size would fit me. I thought 'large' would be larger than I needed.

When I received the hat it was too small for my head. The label inside the hat indicated that it is for a 59cm circumference head.

I sent it back. It fitted in a post box slot, so no need to queue at the post office. But I had to pay postage.

It was replaced by an 'Extra large' hat, with a 60 cm dimension: a tight fit, liable to come off in windy weather, but it will do. The quality of the hat is fine.

One of the other reviewers "ordered the small and it says 56.5 cm on the label." My 'large' was 59cm. My 'extra large' was 60cm. No larger sizes are available. Other manufacturers sizes can go up to XXXL.

Wikipedia (though it says "the various 'standard sizes' vary from maker to maker and style to style") does have a table of hat sizes. Wikipedia's 'small' and 'extra large' are slightly smaller than 'small' and 'extra large' Highlander Premium Sun Hats.

Why, oh why aren't the actual dimensions of the various Highlander Premium Hat sizes in centimeters given?
44 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
My head is 57 cm around the forehead - I ordered the small and it says 56.5 cm on the label in the hat and fits perfectly, though I'm sure my 57 cm head isn't actually small, its just I like small hats...

The hat is double layered in that the 'dome' is made of 2 layers, I'm sure this is a good thing.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
On the plus side, it's very good value for a cotton hat. The problem is the manufacturers have scrimped on material to the extent I can't pull it down firmly when windy conditions require, It barely reaches the top of my ears, leaving it stretched over my ovoid cranium like a frost protection tarpaulin pulled over a car's bodywork. Not one to take out in a nor'wester.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
Quality materials, nice looking and a good price..

The sizing is generous, i have a big head and normally i need extra large size but in this case the large size is perfect for me..
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
According to Amazon this item has not been delivered yet - it actually arrived 2 days after ordering.

That aside because no size other than large, medium etc. was given, I ordered the large size based on what I had read about large for other hats. This is actually a 59cm hat and too big for me. Because it was not worth returning it I decided to have a go at shrinking it. The label inside said hand wash / sponge clean, no tumble dry, don't iron so I thought I had a reasonable chance of shrinking it.

40C wash followed by tumble dry & ironed = no change in size
BOILED the hat = about 1cm shrinkage - i.e. now approx. 58cm. Hat is still slightly too big but is much better.

Material is lightweight and the colour is not what I would call beige even before I attacked it. The colour has a definite pinkish tinge to it.

The hat lives and will be worn !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Just retired - getting on in years - need to be mindful of burning hot sunshine beating down on my head. Have a similar old 'Sunstopper' hat which I must have bought at the seaside & use in the garden. This one is much better - a bit larger, better made & with no funny names visible - and doesn't make me look a complete berk when I go out, which is where I will wear this.

My head size is 58cm / 22 3/4" - I bought 'Medium' size - it fits perfectly. There was a small black label (on the outside) with the word 'Highlander' on it which I carefully snipped off with very sharp, small scissors. So now it's perfect - plain & simple.

£5.50? The price of a magazine in WH Smith. And incidentally, there was nothing similar in Millets or TK Maxx - unless you like wearing Baseball Caps or hats with wide brims, which I don't.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
Very useful, while gardening, helps keep the sun off my balding patch. Does exactly what I wanted it for. Wish I'd bought it earlier.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Very quick delivery. The hat was dispatched yesterday and arrived today, one day early. As a bunch of people said, the hat is bigger than I expected. I ordered a medium and it's still quite floppy. It looks a bit like a Leprechaun hat. Maybe because I'm Irish? I think it's just all bent from being in the package. With a bit of starch it'll be nice and crisp, I'll look like Reni in no time :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Fits well, cheap, looks good, sun not in my eyes and I feel like Jack Nicholson - job done. Like it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
I bought this hat for my holiday in turkey! It was fantastic kept the sun off my head which was great as I burn terrible. Although it's not something I would wear down the street for an holiday abroad great hat.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)