Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock guitars greatest moment!!, 5 Jun. 2011
By 
S. Monks "monksy" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
At last Ozzy and Randy's albums have been released with some added extras and the original bass and drum tracks from Lee Kerslake and Bob Daisley put back in the mix. Finally youger rockers can hear these classic albums how they where supposed to sound and its about time too!!! The bass and drums sound so warm and the guitar feels more prominent than I remember on the original recordings but I am not complaining about that, it is Randy Rhoads after all!!! I love this album so much and Randy's playing is stellar throughout and the fact that Ozzy still plays many of these tracks live is testament to the brilliance of the playing and writing throughout. Too many favourites too mention here and there is no such thing as a bad Randy Rhoads song or solo the man was a genius. How can you argue with Mr Crowley, I Don't Know, Suicide Solution, Revelation Mother Earth, Dee and Goodbye To Romance. The extra tracks are great too - Looking At Me Looking At You was on the last remasters of these cd's but sounds so much better with the original bass and drum tracks. A real gem is the extra track is Goodbye To Romance guitar and vocal mix which is a version of this song with just Ozzy's vocal and Randy's guitar and this highlights what a gorgeous song this was, and the solo remains one of my favourites of all time!! The last extra track is called RR and is a recording of Randy playing some solos and riffs in the studio. This was very illuminating and a real treat for Randy fans like me. If you have never heard this cd or Diary of A Madman then this is the time to buy them. Thanks Ozzy for writing the wrongs of the previous versions of these releases and finally doing justice to rock musics greatest ever guitarist!! Ps my only gripe is that the expensive box set edition of these releases is the only one with the dvd documentary included and as any stuff by Randy is very rare I would love to see this released seperately!! RIP Randy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Reissue Recording Delivers Ozzys Blizzard As It's Meant To Be Heard, 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Blizzard Of Ozz (Expanded Reissued Edition).

CD Info.
1xCD
Remastered/Reissued Original Track Recording.
Includes Free AutoRip Download

Track Listing.
1. I Don't Know
2. Crazy Train
3. Goodbye To Romance
4. Dee
5. Suicide Solution
6. Mr. Crowley
7. No Bone Movies
8. Revelation (Mother Earth)
9. Steal Away (The Night)
10. You Lookin' At Me Lookin' At You
11.Goodbye To Romance (Guitar & Vocal Mix)
12.Outtakes From The Blizzard Of Ozz Recording Sessions

Timelord Thoughts.
Thankfully Blizzard Of Oz has been released with the original drum & bass tracks mix from Lee Kerslake & Bob Daisley & can now be heard as it was originally intended to sound & features the genius guitar riffs of the late Randy Rhoads & Ozzys lead vocals at there very best.

Crazy Train, Mr Crowley, I Don't Know, Suicide Solution, Revelation (Mother Earth) & Goodbye To Romance are classic Ozzy & Randy songs which now have a sharper warmer clarity sound to them on this remastered release that are enhanced by Lee Kerslake & Bob Daisleys original drum & bass mix capturing the original 80's vibe of the album instead of that dire 2002 version which featured Mike Bordin & Rob Trujillo redub the original Lee Kerslake & Bob Daisleys drum & bass sections out of the mix, while the extra tracks included here are a welcome bonus if not essential edition to the album.

This is how Blizzard Of Ozz should sound & is without doubt the best CD edition to purchase as it showcases the vocal skills & musical genius of Brummies greatest rocker; Ozzy Osbourne & the phenomenal guitar playing by late Randy Rhoads who are at there fist pumping rocking best.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 4 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the classic heavy metal albums of all time. It has everything a good one needs, and then some. Not only is Ozzy voice at its best in songs such as Mother Earth (Revalation) and Mr Crowley, Randy Rhoads, one of the best guitarists ever in my opinion, adds his distictive touch to all the songs, especially Suicide Solution (this is amazing live, the MP3 is available on KaZaA). This is an amazing album all round, I recommend it.
We miss you Randy, but we'll never forget your skill wit the axe. RIP, Randy RHhods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you want Heavy Metal you've got it......., 22 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
This album is what Heavy Metal was and is all about. Ozzy's comeback from the Sabbath couldn't have been better positioned and the album introduced the world to the immense talent of Randy Rhoads. His guitar tone on this album is huge and his playing continues to inspire. What is special about this album are the song's melodies and hooks. Whether I am just stuck in a timewarp, but it always amazes me that I always turn to past glories since very little new music inspires me as a guitar player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic Ozzy Solo, 14 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
This is Ozzy's finest hour.Not one song is duff.The brillance of Ozzy's manic wail & the neo-classical screaming of the late great Randy Rhoades' guitar makes this the pinacle of Mr.Osbourne's career.The dramatic Revelation Mother Earth is a stormer which means that from the blistering start of I Don't Know & Crazy Train the album never slows down. Devil worship I think not just great rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, Great version, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
D. Fleming - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
With Ozzy's current iconic status and high profile, it might be hard to imagine that 33 years ago 'Blizzard of Ozz' could have made or broken his career. Since his sacking by Black Sabbath in 1979, his former band had gone on to release one of the classic heavy metal albums in the form of 'Heaven and Hell' and the pressure was on Osbourne.

Fortunately for both he and music fans, Ozzy had 'discovered' former Quiet Riot guitarist Randy Rhoads - the legend has it he was instantly recruited when a drunken Ozzy heard him tuning up - and this pairing helped produce a record that took Osbourne's career to a new level.

The 2011 re-issues thankfully restore the original rhythm sections recordings, and add a couple of extra bonus tracks. Some of the production does sound a little dated, but that doesn't take away from the quality of the record and Rhoad's amazing guitar work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 12 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
I watched a television programme about Ozzy Osborne recently and was reminded of how much I'd enjoyed his music when I was (much!) younger. I have complete collections of both Black Sabbath and Ozzy's releases on vinyl, but obviously CD's are more appropriate to listen to in the car! Great purchase - I'd definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of hard rock's finest moments, 1 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
It’s an often told story in rock and roll but one always worth repeating. The amazing events revolving Ozzy Osbourne’s debut album “Blizzard of Ozz” with the prodigious axe-man Randy Rhoads. In the late 70’s Ozzy gets fired from Sabbath for his chemical abuse, and proceeds to spend the next several months living in a hotel room, getting drunk and watching war movies, enjoying the final fruits of his labour before going back to the real world of work, just like so many other failed rock stars. But that was not to be. Sharon Arden came around to collect a debt, and whether or not it was an epiphany or a moment of madness is unclear, but she saw Ozzy in his sorry state and decided to manage him as a solo artist. How cute.

But the really interesting story...the actual album itself. Randy Rhoads along with Eddie Van Halen, George Lynch, and Yngwie Malmsteen was definitely responsible for steering hard rock in the shred direction of the 1980’s. This gave Ozzy not only a new dimension as he was breaking away from doomy riffs of the Sabbath variety, but he was now writing classic songs with a completely new attack on guitar. This was by no means as Black Sabbath clone project. This was original and vitalising rock and roll.

This album in my opinion fares better than “Heaven and hell” by Black Sabbath from the same year (1980). Don’t get me wrong I love me some “Heaven and hell” I’m always listening to staple classics like “Neon knights” and so forth. But Ozzy just had an extra element of magic. Was it Randy? Was it the exciting new sound? Was it just the surprise that Ozzy left a huge institution like Black Sabbath...and actually made it!? Maybe it’s all of those reasons.

The now legendary riffage that goes down in “Crazy train” started a small guitar revolution in itself. An incredibly infectious rock song, with great sustained and controlled vocals from Ozzy. “Mr Crowley” has an amazing intro with some great riffs to follow and... (I know I’m going to get flack for this) the greatest heavy metal guitar solo of all time. Seriously if that solo stops making you feel anything, then I just don’t know what to say. There is some rather poignant lyrics in songs like “I don’t know” and “Revelations mother earth” which without Randy’s fantastic guitar work might have sounded a bit hippie like, and maybe dated. The amazing classical guitar track “Dee” is an amazing and well executed combination of musicality, technicality and pure emotion. “Suicide solution” deals with a more obvious grooving riff, perhaps the only riff on the record that resembles anything one might expect from a Sabbath pressing out of the 70’s.

Well I feel the album worked because it did two things. First it mixed pop hooks with heavy metal madness, giving the album an accessible yet dangerous vibe, connecting to a wider demographic, as the songs were solid and extremely catchy. And second, this was the moment I stopped comparing Ozzy to Sabbath. You see I will always love those Black Sabbath records which featured Ozzy from the 1970’s, they’re absolutely superb. But as good as they were, this was the road Ozzy was clearly destined for. Absolute rock and roll superstardom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
P. Fleming (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
Anyone reading reviews for this album should be aware as highlighted by many other reviewers that there are numerous versions of this album, some of which are of much poorer quality than others. This version is considered by many, myself included to be the best.

Blizzard of Ozz, is the first Ozzy 'solo' album (any randy rhoads fan, may know from his biography that the rest of band, wanted the band to be called 'blizzard of ozz' and very reluctantly agreed for ozzy's name to be given to the band), featuring the late and arguably the greatest guitarist to ever, Mr Randy Rhoads. For me this is one of the finest metal albums ever!! The true classics on the album are crazy train, i don't know and Mr crowley, although the short Dee, shows off Randy's classical guitar skills perfectly to.

Anyone into metal in the slightest must own this album. Simply fantastic. RIP Randy Rhoads, you music will never die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1980's Heavy Metal at it's best, 3 Aug. 2011
By 
Jamie Donnelly (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
I adore albums like "Blizzard of Oz". "Member of band leaves, swears to be better than previous band", granted many of them have failed, but David Lee Roth did a great job, and so did Ozzy.

Blizzard of Oz can be held responsible for melodic guitar solos, and there is no bad air with that, Ozzy helped push one of the greatest talents the world has seen to the limelight, and along with the rest of the band, helped to make an album full of great, fist pumping, heavy metal magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition]
Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews