Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab-u-lus!
This was the first book I downloaded onto my Kindle - appropriate as the Kindle was a Christmas Prezzie. Fabulous book, really love it. Timeless classic - have a treat!
Published on 7 Feb 2011 by A. James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a xmas carol
never read a xmas carol so i enjoyed it so should enjoy oliver twist like to compare to movies it was very good.
Published 22 months ago by john bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab-u-lus!, 7 Feb 2011
By 
A. James "alijam1967" (South West - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
This was the first book I downloaded onto my Kindle - appropriate as the Kindle was a Christmas Prezzie. Fabulous book, really love it. Timeless classic - have a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest Christmas story ever!!!, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
I've read this book every year for the past few years and would recommend it to everyone to see how Christmas should be remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol: Charles Dickens - Perfect. If there is higher praise tell me and I will use it., 25 Oct 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
I have never been a huge fan of Charles Dickens, I have always found his prose to be too overwhelming (not a man to use one adjective where five will suffice) and his tales a little too moralising and preachy. With one exception I have never really enjoyed any of his books that I have read (though I admit that I have only read about three of his works). And that one exception is the hardy perennial, A Christmas Carol.

It's an almost perfect book. Here Dickens' wordy style is put to good use in evoking the various atmospheres. The central character, a man whose name has become synonymous with greed and miserliness, Ebenezer Scrooge is well drawn as a cold and grasping wraith of a man without the merest hint of human kindness even at Christmas. Over the course of one night he is visited by various apparitions who show him Christmases past, present and yet to come to teach him the error of his ways, leading to the joyful ending in which the old sinner repents and starts on a new path. Dickens was on top form when he wrote this, sending a chill down the spine with his descriptions of the dark, cold atmosphere Scrooge envelops himself in, painting a vivid picture of the ghost of Jacob Marley, Scrooge's dead partner in business and first spectral visitor, building up the tension to the appearance of the first spirit of Christmas, showing the sadness in Scrooge's life, describing scenes of joy that almost make you laugh with pleasure. His characters are rich, from the tragic figure of Tiny Tim to the exuberant and larger than life Fezziwig. The story is all about the exploration of a character, and the development of that character, and is superbly well done. Even though it is a moral lesson, it does not feel preachy or overwhelming. In short, it as an excellent book, a real tour de force. I love it. I cannot award this superb book anything less than 5 stars. And Merry Christmas one and all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful illustrations, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
A Christmas Carol is one of my favourite Dickens stories. Wonderful memorable phrases, full of nostalgia and atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone who loves christmas, ghost stories and nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas favorite, 8 May 2013
By 
B. Broderick "Brod" (NorthWales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
I bought the Kindle edition to replace my dog eared paperback. I read it every December as well as watching one or more of the film versions. I like the Muppet version equally with the Patrick Stuart version but found the Jim Carrey version entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't lost it's appeal, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. S. C. Dyer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
As enjoyable now as when I first read it years ago. Shame the modern film makers have to add so many modern words and phrases when they interpret it for the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
the first time i read this book was when i won this book as a prize in school aged 11.It brought back so many lovely memories now I am79
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic reading, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
This was a classic book , excellent to read , reading this as the films were on at Christmas .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Christmas, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
Can't get through Christmas without 'Christmas Carol'.

Normally watch a DVD but this book takes you back to the original with some nice drawings thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instant Christmas access, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Classic Edition With Original Illustrations) (Kindle Edition)
Watching the Muppet version of 'Scrooge' on TV at Christmas, I was overcome with the urge to re-read 'A Christmas Carol'! Instant access on my Kindle - yay! Wonderful book and lovely to read at Christmas. It was nice to have the illustrations in this version and of course it is as 'cheap as chips'. Recently I saw a copy in WHSmith and of course the illustrations were in colour, much better than the B/W versions on my Kindle. But it was still great to be able to access the book as soon as I wanted it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews