Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


188 of 191 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Truly GREAT Magic Wand
OVERVIEW
This Low-cost hand scanner is one of the most useful bits of kit I possess. I always pack it into my netbook bag when I'm on a trip although if you need to travel light, you can pack just the scanner alone in a pocket, to perform your scanning - say at a library - and download the scans (in JPG format) to your PC later back at base. This supreme portability...
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by R. J. Battersby

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing buttons "time set", "jpg/pdf" and "hi/mi/lo"
Oddly, this scanner which I got today has a number of missing features which are stated in the product literature and also in the accompanying manual.
- no [time set] button (the hole simply does not exist)
- no [JPG/PDF] button (the only buttons are [POWER/SCAN], [C/BW], [DPI])
- [DPI] button does not offer HI/MI/LO options, just HI/LO

Tip: the...
Published 17 months ago by Kiat Huang


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

188 of 191 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Truly GREAT Magic Wand, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
OVERVIEW
This Low-cost hand scanner is one of the most useful bits of kit I possess. I always pack it into my netbook bag when I'm on a trip although if you need to travel light, you can pack just the scanner alone in a pocket, to perform your scanning - say at a library - and download the scans (in JPG format) to your PC later back at base. This supreme portability is just one of this scanner's really excellent features. Another is that it can be used with a PC running Windows or a MAC running MAC OS because its JPG files can be transferred via its Micro-SD card (a low cost SD adaptor card may be required) or via the included USB cable. This scanner is made in China and marketed under various brand names and for a wide range of prices. Use Google Image search to locate potential sources.

SIMPLE CONTROLS
There are 3 Buttons and a small LCD.
1. POWER - A LONG Press of the POWER switch places the scanner in STANDBY Mode and activates the LCD. Thereafter, short presses of the same button puts the scanner in and out of SCAN Mode.
2. C/BW - Pressing one end of a rocker switch toggles the 'Effect' between COLOR and MONO (Greyscale). If in doubt, use COLOR although the resultant image file is much larger.
3. DPI - Pressing the opposite end of the rocker switch toggles the Resolution between LOW (300dpi) and HIGH (600dpi)

The LCD shows the current settings in use, battery status (using bars) and the number of images stored on the MicroSD Card. This card is inserted in a 'Push to Insert-Push to Eject' slot in the side of the scanner.

COPIOUS STORAGE CAPACITY
Images are stored on a MicroSD Card (not supplied). A 1GB MicroSD Card stores the following approximate number of images:

LOW Resolution Mono 1280 images
LOW Resolution Colour 780 images
HIGH Resolution Mono 290 images
HIGH Resolution Colour 220 images

SIMPLE SCANNING
Assuming the subject to be scanned is held flat on a smooth surface...
1. Press and hold the Power button to turn the scanner ON
2. Adjust the settings if necessary using the rocker switch alongside the small LCD screen.
3. Press the POWER button again to enter SCAN Mode. A GREEN LED is illuminated.
4. Roll the scanner slowly and in a parallel motion across the subject. If you scan too fast a RED ERROR LED illuminates and you will need to restart the action (return to 3 above)
5. Press the Power button after each SCAN to store the image on the MicroSD card and to place the scanner in STANDBY Mode.
6. Press and hold the Power button when scanning is completed to turn the scanner OFF. Alternatively, leave it for a few minutes and it will automatically turn itself OFF.

Looking at the bottom face of the scanner, the scanning window and the rollers that signal the Scanning Light ON and OFF are positioned at opposite sides. This mean that the rollers may run off the edge of the page (and signal the scanner to STOP) before it has scanned the full text width. This is especially noticeable when scanning a book with narrow margins.

To help overcome this issue, I always scan from RIGHT to LEFT when holding the scanner in a normal position. For example, when scanning the pages of a book I usually start with a LEFT HAND page and with the scanner at the extreme RIGHT side of the page (in the valley between the pages). To scan the RIGHT HAND page I rotate the book through 180 degrees and repeat the above process scanning from RIGHT to LEFT. Of course, you will later need to use your graphics software to rotate some of the scans to their normal orientation.

TRANSFERRING IMAGES TO A PC
There are two choices:
1. USB Cable - Use the supplied USB cable to connect the scanner to a PC (the scanner appears as a Storage Device)
2. Inserting the MicrosSD Card directly into a slot in the PC. For this you will probably need to buy a MicroSD to SD Card adaptor although many MicroSD cards are supplied with a free adapter. The adaptors are extremely low cost.

ABBYY SCREENSHOT READER - Your Flexible Friend
Abbyy's Screenshot Reader is truly brilliant software and is very simple to use. It is not MAC compatible but works with Windows XP onwards (I use it on my Windows 7 netbook). I was so impressed that I bought the full version that has some extra bells and whistles.

For a start you can use this software even without the scanner. For example it can capture ANYTHING displayed on your PC's screen - text, graphics or a mixture of both. Small or large. You can even use it to OCR the text of this review and place it straight into an editable WORD document!

But let's assume you're writing a disertation or thesis and want to quote some text from a rare and expensive book. You've scanned the book in a library and you've displayed the scanned image on the screen. Open ABBYY and put it into Text (OCR - Optical Character recognition) Mode. It recognises 40 different languages (including Japanese) with full dictionary support and a further 109 languages (including Welsh) but you do need to specify the language you want to read. Select the relevant text by clicking and dragging the mouse across the chosen part of the screen. On release of the mouse button, ABBYY immediately converts what it has read into MS Word-compatible TEXT. Let's say you've set ABBYY to transfer the 'Text to Clipboard' (you can also set it automatically to open a new WORD document and to insert the text). Next, open the MS Word document where you want to place the scanned text. Right Click the mouse and select PASTE and the text appears in your Word document as fully editable text.

You can read more about this ABBYY software here: [...]
TIPS!
1. Carry a couple of spare AA batteries though I wouldn't say the scanner was power hungry; two AAs last for well over 100 scans.
2. Keep an SD-Card adaptor in the bottom of the storage pouch for convenient PC transfer.
3. Take a couple of scans of each subject just in case.
4. For a more parallel scanning motion, try gripping the scanner with both hands and drawing it slowly towards you across the subject.
5. When using ABBYY Screenshot Reader to OCR text off the screen, I find it's best to zoom in until your chosen text is as big as possible on the screen. Although ABBYY very accurately reads text at small sizes, you can be assured of minimal OCR errors if you scan LARGE text in the first instance.

AREAS TO IMPROVE (I deducted ONE STAR for these)
To be frank, at this price, it would be unreasonable to demand too much but...

1. ... as an engineer, I just know the scanner's parallel action would be much easier to create if the rollers were larger - much larger (let's say 6mm diameter).
2. Even dodgy distorted scans could be usable if the scanner came with some simple software to 'straighten out' any distorted image scans.
3. The LCD is not illuminated and is difficult to read in ill-lit rooms.

But hey! It's incredible value and as a researcher, it's been doing the business for me reliably since November 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skypix TSN410 hand scanner, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
Against

All documentation in Chinese only

fortunately the pictures are sufficient

For

Compact easy to use giving good quality results.

Comments

You should watch the You Tube demo
[...]

make sure the material to be scanned is on a suitable surface so it does not move during the scan.

Keep a constant speed as much as possible without skewing the scanner and good results will be obtained.

As good as this device is, it's not a replacement for a flat bed scanner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
Given the price I paid for this item I wasn't expecting a whole lot, but I was instantly impressed by it. It will not compete with a flatbed scanner, though with care you can still take reasonable scans of colour photos. The trick with this is in getting the item you are scanning to stay still.

Because I wanted this item to turn my boxes of loose paper into digitised images so I could shred them, it is more than upto the task. Scanning in a straight line is not perfect but with basic care results are more than adequate for written or printed pages. On mono low res mode you can also scan reasonably quickly, 2-3 seconds maximum for an A4 sheet.

Note that the scanning width of the unit is a fraction over the width of an A4 page, not the height of it. So you scan pages from top to bottom not side to side. If, like me, you want to scan from bottom to top then you must rotate the scanner, which is unnatural because you can't see the display, otherwise you end up with inverted images. Also it misses the end of every page because the motion sensor is a little away from the image sensor and falls off the end of the page.

Scanning A4 sheets is best done by placing them on top of an A3 so you can scan the whole thing. Recipets and business cards will need to be put inside an unused laminating pouch or under an acetate (If you live in the 80s.)

Interestingly the scanner seems to know if you start the scan before placing it down on the paper, and it doesn't get upset if you lift it off the page at the end before pressing the button to end the scan, the images still come out quite clean and well cropped and I have a high degree of trust that my image is captured properly.

As you can see the unit won't recharge from USB. Battery life is not brilliant, you will need to keep spares, but perhaps that's better than having to bring USB charging kit, YMMV.

Slight disadvantages that could be improved:
1) You can't cancel a botched scan, it stays on the card and you can only delete it when you put it into your computer;
2) You have to stop the scan and start a new one by pressing the button twice, and there's a delay, it would be nicer to be able to scan sheets in quicker succession, but it's not major;
3) A bigger scan area would help a lot with magazines;
4) Difficult to scan near the spine if scanning down instead of out from spine and scanning out might not work if the magazine is taller than the scan area.

All in all for the price I paid I wouldn't part with this, it makes doing expenses, retaining bills, scanning hand drawn diagrams etc a pleasure. And storage space isn't a problem, you won't need a very big SD card unless you're doing some crazy amount of work with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Koolertron handheld scanner, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
Bought this for a gift after having previously bought a more expensive one for myself. Recipient was delighted, both models work exactly the same, quick, easy to use,resolution quality was great. Even scanned a colourful kids t-shirt ( while being worn)and it's being used as a screensaver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scantastic, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
Having seen the price of handheld scanners I was dubious. Reviews here swayed me to try it. I was not disappointed. My instructions are in English and very clear. I set the format 2GB SD card first using a very thin screwdriver in the side hole and saw no blinking on the LCD. I thought it had failed but it works. I set the resolution to high and was scanning within minutes of opening the box (which is extremely well packaged). This review is mainly to add one thing I have not seen on the others. The quality, looks and performance of this item have been well reviewed. Do I have an upgraded model? There is no C/BW toggle on mine. It has a choice of JPEG/PDF. Both work fine in colour. Black and white obviously will still scan as B/W, so it is fine with me. If you want a handheld scanner, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing buttons "time set", "jpg/pdf" and "hi/mi/lo", 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
Oddly, this scanner which I got today has a number of missing features which are stated in the product literature and also in the accompanying manual.
- no [time set] button (the hole simply does not exist)
- no [JPG/PDF] button (the only buttons are [POWER/SCAN], [C/BW], [DPI])
- [DPI] button does not offer HI/MI/LO options, just HI/LO

Tip: the battery compartment on my unit was really difficult to open, there is no instructions on how to open it. The way I figured it out is that it must slide out (and not up) over the end of the device so if you are looking at it from above, from left to right. I needed to get a thin knife to lever forcefully, but carefully to avoid damage, between the [POWER/SCAN] button and the compartment. Unfortunately a small scratch is left, but there's no way it would open without the help of a tool, hands were not enough.

I'm going to contact the vendor regarding this unit, as it looks like the unit is not the same as described and I'm missing key functions, especially switching between JPG and PDF, plus the HI/MI/LO resolution settings.

Will edit this review as the issues get resolved and have done a lot of scanning experience with it to share.

EDIT: I contacted Amazon soon after I wrote this and got a full refund upon returning the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
This scanner is a really handy product.Couldn't get the Abbyy software that comes with it to load on my Pc, so sent an email to the supplier.Had to do this several times and they always answered within 12 hours.Turned out it was my PC at fault.I do have a printer/scanner as well as a flatbed one, but with my 11" screen laptop,Wireless Internet dongle, my Hp H470 battery operated bluetooth printer,and this scanner,I really can take it all with me,and it takes up so little room.Your personal office doesn't get much smaller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy & Portable, 1 Aug 2012
By 
S. M. Hallas (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
I bought this device in order to scan book and newspapers in libraries or at other folk's houses. Its thin profile makes it possible to get into the fold of thick books avoiding the inevitable distortions with a flat bed scanner.

The model must be moving on, because the one I received, although its the same type number, has a higher spec than listed. It scans 300, 600 and 900 dpi. There's no B&W setting but it can now scan to PDF, which must be a boon for some, though not me. The instructions are for the older model, but the box is labelled correctly.

I'm still getting the hang of smooth and straight scrolling to ensure an even and square image. Takes a bit of practice.

Scanning is really quick and the quality is impressive. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes a bit of time to get the hang of, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
Not the easiest thing to use.

I wanted to collect lots of articles for research without having to check lots of books out of the library. Initially I tried scanning sideways across the page but even taking multiple scans of the same page doesn't always make sure you get a fully readable copy. The best way seems to be scanning vertically, one page at a time (obviously it depends on the book; some books have enough blank space on the page to get an ok horizontal scan). The problem I have when doing this is that I can never hold the thing perfectly steady and you end up with a couple of wobbly lines, but it is usually still readable when done this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 600 DPI Resolution - Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Office Product)
I was a bit dubious about this product having read reviews of similar products on-line however the scanner produces good quality scans as long as the page scanned is kept flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews