Customer Reviews


33 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 Aug. 2011
By 
H1CKL1NG (leeds, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
I bought this tripod head for my giottos monopod reluctantly due to the price been quite high, i was previously looking at a lower price tripod head from giottos, then i thought just buy it it is better and you wont be satisfied with the cheaper one. After i recieved the item i was so glad i spent the extra money it was well worth the price, everything about this product is top notch really professional grade head. BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality headQuality head, 11 April 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Hunter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
This is a well-engineered head that operates smoothly and precisely. I was initially looking for cam shaped locking levers as I presumed that they would be more easily operated. However these round knobs are so well machined that they are easily lock the movement with the pressure of one finger or thumb, the machined pattern providing good grip. The sight window to the degrees for the panning protractor is small and needs reasonable eye sight to use with ease. I use a Canon 30D with a range of lens with a combined weight up to 8Kg, the head is stable and smooth and I have not noticed any slow drop even in the vertical position, although a more positive twist is required on the ball lock knob. The inbuilt levels are unobtrusive yet are a great quick reference if you don’t have grid-lines enabled. The quick release and safety lock has worked faultlessly so far with a positive and precise action, no movement between the plate and capture enclosure.

Well worth the money I use it on both a mono and tri-pod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTMH1311-652 Tripod head, 26 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
I bought this head to go with my new Giottos tripod (GTMT 9340B)and i think they make a great combination. Not too heavy or large to carry around with you and worlds apart from the equipment i replaced this with. Both tripod and head have been well thought out, a great product for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth investment, 30 Oct. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
I got the Giottos GTMH1311-652 head for my VANGUARD Alta Pro 263AT. It is really is worth the money to get a decent head for your tripod, even though the price of the head is just a tad less than what the tripod goes for on the Amazon site. The head feels really well made and really sturdy. I believe the combination of the two products gives an overall good piece of kit, that said the Giottos is top notch a worth a full five rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice compact tripod head, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Sue H "Sunshine Suzzy" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
I choose this to go with a Giottos tripod. I wanted a compact design to fit in the camera bag. The head is flexible allowing a good variety of positions. The ball and socket allows you to get the angle you need. The head rotates very smoothly good for use with a video camera. The base which screws into the bottom of the camera or camcorder quick releases well from the head. However it is a bit fiddly to screw it into the camera in the first place, so if you want to change body or to a camcorder quickly then a second screw plate would be advised. If your main use is for video then a head with a handle might be a better alternative as small changes in position are easier to achieve tun with this head.

Have been using it for 12 months now, over all highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Product, 24 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
An all round good item. Nice and sturdy on the tripod.

Very easy to adjust and one of the reasons I went for this, is the friction control. Having a large EOS 1D and 7D (with a battery grip) the need for a good head is paramount, having used ones without the friction control, was very trying as the camera could just fall very easily from its position.

The friction control makes the camera feel 'lighter' and very easy to move about.

Overall the best of the heads I have bought over the years as a Photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
Really well made, sturdy as you could want. Nice movement and friction controls and mini-spirit levels for landscape and portrait format use. Everything except the quick release platform that you attach to the camera is first-class.

The one thing that lets it down is the quick release platform which has a tiny button on a spring that puts some tension in the plate when you tighten the D-ring. The button is prone to popping completely through the hole in the plate and getting stuck on the far side. It's easy to push it back through but I'm sure it must be putting extra tension on the leaf-spring and it will eventually break.

I'm not quite sure of the purpose of this button/spring combo, as it pops right through the plate and ends up putting no pressure on at all in the end. So I can only assume it's to stop the platform rotating as you tighten the D-ring. If so it's a bit pointless because you still need to hold the plate to start it off, so you may as well keep hold of it. If anyone knows why it's there I'd like to know :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful feel and quality build., 24 Jun. 2014
By 
D. Campbell "sootysoupy" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
I have been trying to work a peak design camera capture plate with a ball head for some time now. The Giottos tripod was bough t first, then the capture plate. I really wanted a ball head for convenience and transport. Peak Design have compatible plates for most heads but alas not Giottos...for some reason. On this basis I tried other head manufacturers, but came back to this one for the quality. It is just so slick, and so exact, you will not be disappointed. I tried some of the Manfrotto units but was not as impressed with them. They just didn't feel as smooth. Perhaps with some use these units would perform better, but out of the box this Giottos glided effortlessly. With an adapter plate again from Giottos, I have the capture plate working...just about... but it has been a long battle to get the right combination. Thought this might help anyone else out there trying to get the solution to the Peak Design issue with Giottos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giottos tripod head GMH1311-652, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
This is an really impressive bit of kit. Once I had it out of the box I could appreciate it as a really fine piece of engineering, silky smooth and with a modest amount of pressure on the knob is firmly locked, with no drop or movement.
Replacing a Vanguard GH 100 pistol grip on a Vanguard Alta pro 283 carbon tripod as a straight swap. With it's 60mm base on the vanguard 57.5 mm column base it is fractionally larger but because the edge of the base has a chamfer to it's underside it looks perfect and is firm and solid.

In use it's a joy, the friction setting knob is so easy to set for a resistance level to suit your camera/lens weight. My opinion has changed from it being an expensive item to - How an earth can Giottos produce such a fine product for the money.
A added bonus is also that the camera quick release plate is half the price of the previous pistol grip,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and well made, 19 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giottos Series II MH1311-652 Ball Head with Friction Control and Quick Release (Accessory)
This is so much better than having levers and handles (in terms of tripod bag storage) and it is very well made and easy to use. I have a Canon Eos with carbon fibre tripod and this head is a great match. Good for wildlife/macro/landscape but probably not so good for sports/video. The adjustable friction control allows you to balance the weight of the camera and get a smooth movement. When used in portrait mode I have to ensure the camera isn't lined up with the legs when I an not using the extender bar but that has never proved to be a problem and may be more to do with my (economy) tripod design. When researching I thought this was rather expensive and probably more up market than I needed but having compared it with cheaper options it is actually well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews