Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copa Mundial stands the test of time
Following a long spell out of football (mostly due to college and university), it feels great to be getting back into the swing of things and making the most of these long, warm days... I guess some people will never fully understand what it means to be running around and kick a ball about for hours on end!

It was also time for new footwear. Like many others,...
Published on 28 May 2012 by Picard

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with finish on boots
Reason for 2 stars is the finish on upper to soles at toes :-( my son has only worn them few times & they appear to becoming apart .. He has said they are a comfy boot & is disappointed ..
Published 1 month ago by Bevie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copa Mundial stands the test of time, 28 May 2012
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Following a long spell out of football (mostly due to college and university), it feels great to be getting back into the swing of things and making the most of these long, warm days... I guess some people will never fully understand what it means to be running around and kick a ball about for hours on end!

It was also time for new footwear. Like many others, I've made some great mistakes in the past and purchased boots without fully appreciating what makes a good boot in the first place. I honestly feel for younger players more than ever now because the large sports companies - Nike, Adidas and Umbro - are marketing new products as the be-all end-all factor in how good a player you can be. It's quite mind boggling really to think that an extra slither of rubber on the side of a boot will increase ball spin, or that a 'Speed Frame' (a piece of plastic running down the centre of a boot) will make you faster. Don't like your insole? Now you can select from the many insoles provided with a boot; one to make you faster, one to give you "more power", and another that balances the two.

A good example of this futile mix between looks, performance and marketing are the Adidas F50's. My first pair were bought roughly 7-years ago, but after a matter of weeks the ridiculous hessian outer had bobbled, the leather had not moulded to my foot, and the scarily clumsy X-TRAXION stud system was giving me awful pressure around my feet. It taught me one lesson; don't judge a boot by its poster.

I wore a few more pairs following the F50's, but this time round I was older, a lot wiser and understood the values of real leather. Enter the Adidas Copa Munidal.

What more is their to say about these boots? Go on to ANY website - shopping or blogging - and you will find nothing bad said about this footwear. Introduced in 1978, these boots immediately strike the owner as being tried and tested right out the box. The lack of sophistication in it's design is almost complex, for how can a boot that is constructed with so few materials be better than up-to-date technologies and features?

Perhaps the answer lies in that very question. The problem today is that Nike and Adidas are under constant pressure to design new products every year, so that;

A] Mr. Footballer can be see on TV and in promotional material with 'the new boots' (immediately making the previous product obsolete).
B] They can outdo their competition.

This is why boots are not getting any better - because any changes to the design are controlled by how appealing they look when worn by top footballers. The Adidas Copa Mundial, conversely, almost makes a rather effortless statement that it's the brain controlling the feet which makes good play, not the colours of the plastic.

Putting the Copa Mundial's on for the first time is akin to wearing an old pair of slippers, for they immediately feel broken into. Comfort is simply an understatement. Some players will recommend wearing these boots in a hot shower to shrink the leather and allow them to mould around your feet, but this isn't a necessity.

The boots are fairly narrow, but no more so than a pair of Nike Mercurial Vapours. Considering I have wide feet, the Copa Mundial's have stretched and allowed my feet room to spread out, which only makes me wish I had taken some other advice - buy these at least half a size smaller than your other boots. The leather will stretch over time to accommodate your foot size.

I can only heap praise on the kangaroo leather used for these boots, as it is the softest and most supple I've ever felt. Quite simply, the leather allows you to feel the ball in a way that can't be matched even with 'modern' products such as the Nike Tiempo's. Although skill is quite obviously important, you're going to strike the ball and control it much, much cleaner with these boots than any other; that is something I guarantee.

But obviously this luxury-leather comes at a price, for the durability isn't the same quite the same as other products on the market. This isn't a fault of the leather - more the fact that it is so thin so that your touch is spot on. Regular splashings of dubbin and leather products will prolong the life of this boot's upper, but keep in mind that care is needed. This is perhaps the only area in which synthetic boots lead the way, for they can literally just be cleaned with a garden hose!

Mind you, where's the fun in taking care of your own pride and joy?

The Adidas Copa Mundial is essentially the hard/firm ground version of the original 'World Cup' boot, also released around the same time. Both products have exactly the same upper, inner, and only differ on the baseplate. I've compared both boots and personally I'd go for these Copa Mundials as the studs are more flexible for our all round use (especially in this climate).

Theirs not much more to say really, except that players such as Maradona and many more from that era all wore these boots for a reason - they offer the best touch and amount of comfort that you're ever going to see in football boots. So grab yourself a pair today, get down the park and imagine you're in World Cup '82! As the commentators would say... "GOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLL....."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adidas Copa Mundial - Best Boot Ever, 5 Mar 2011
These boots have been around forever, and their design and quality have stood the test of time. Back in my youth I wore these boots (and I am now in my 40's!!) My daughter plays football to a high level, and all through her early years it was Blades this, Predators That, and she always thought this boot and the Soft Ground World Cup version were rubbish, because they are what Dad wore! lol. Finally after years of telling here that boots today are poor quality and plastic, she agreed to try them. She is now aged 18 and wont wear anything else! The soft leather gives perfect sense of touch to the ball, and the sturdy sole plate and conventional stud arrangement allow for confidence and stability. They may be pricey in some places, but if the leather is looked after the will last and out perform any of their rivals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The king of football boots, 14 May 2011
By 
MR E K KIDNER (Chiswick, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Simply the best football boots I have ever owned. Light but strong enough to take a tackle, brilliant. I'm still as poor at football as before I bought them but you can't have everything!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The boots are comfortable, but I ordered a 9.5 which would normally be perfect fitting in any shoe wit the possibility of it being on the tight side with 2 pairs of socks and ankle supports on. However, these are strangely too big in the length. Very surprised about that. Had to use them to try them out for size and now I have I cant send them back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These make a huge difference, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never really paid this much for football boots before but I can honestly say I'll never buy the cheaper boots again. You can really tell the difference with your money. You don't need to break them in as it like wearing slippers on the football pitch from minute one. I play on astro turf and grass and they are equally good on both. Brilliant buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son has always had this style of boot. Still great boot and good qaulity as usual, arrived on time and packed well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Boot, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The quality is obvious the moment you handle the boots. The leather is soft and supple and screams comfort and strength. When you put them on its like wearing a pair of sheepskin slippers that have been well worn in.

My only problem is I still cannot play football well but the boots look good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic as always - excellent delivery and excellent boots. These are about the 4th pair bought now over the years - they do last dont worry, my son plays so much he wears them out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value for money, 14 Nov 2011
I use these boots to play touch rugby on 3g surface. they feel amazing, soft leather, good fit. Compared to other boots that would cost over the £100, Adidas Copa Mundial do a great job. Would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5-star copas, 11 Sep 2010
Don't know why I've never owned Copas before! Great product delivered in super quick time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews