Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wompawompawomp!!!
thank you thank you thank you EMI, peter mew, and everyone connected with this superb project. Not only will it turn on the casual browser of the progressive genre but also all of us broughton-heads who have been extolling the virtues of Rob [Edgar] and the boys for the last 43 years. As the previous reviewer states, 4 cds for less than the price of a regular cd including...
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by Mr. G. [the g-man]

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Harvest
Wasa Wasa is up there in my top 20 albums of all time. However, I give this box 3 stars as an average of the 5 albums, which I would individually rate as 5,4,4,2,1. You could say the EBB were a Progressive Band, in that their albums got progressively worse.
The Hyde Park material seemed promising, but the performance is a bit ragged and the guitar won't stay in tune...
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by G. Tritton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wompawompawomp!!!, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
thank you thank you thank you EMI, peter mew, and everyone connected with this superb project. Not only will it turn on the casual browser of the progressive genre but also all of us broughton-heads who have been extolling the virtues of Rob [Edgar] and the boys for the last 43 years. As the previous reviewer states, 4 cds for less than the price of a regular cd including a wonderful blast from the past with the Hyde Park London 1970 free concert, 40+ minutes of freak heaven. Yeah, I was there.
Not a band that is easily pigeonholed, primarily a blues rock band with a twist, they could rock out with gusto or bring it [and the listener] right down to deep thought by just a few lines and unaccompanied guitar. 'But if you think it's right, to do just what you like, then you must realise, that the same thing applies, to me.'
Plagued by well dodgy-management, a van that was forever breaking down going to a gig, their choice to play free concerts at the drop of a hat, alongside Gong and Hawkwind, Brinsley Swartz, Man etc, endeared them to their fanatic following, but didn't pay the rent. Very much a 'peoples band' the people used and abused them, then dropped them like a stone when they fell on hard times.
All I can say, nay, urge, is if you have never heard the band then buy this box set comprising their first five-yes, five-albums and the concert and listen to it with open ears and more importantly, an open mind. If, like me, you are a committed
[h]edgar freak, what are you waiting for? Buy now while stocks last! OUT DEMONS OUT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds good today, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Keith Poole "Still rockin'" (Broadstairs, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
I had to get this boxed set for the previously unreleased live tracks. The four disc set comprises of the first five EBB albums - but remastered plus the newly released live tracks which could have comprised an album on their own. I was initialy concerned about the potential quality of the live material but actually it is good and even excellent if it is remembered that it was recorded live in 1970. My only gripe is that two of the original albums are spread over two separate CD's which breaks the continuity of listening. The music has been remastered and cleaned up. Having bought this for £12.99 - which is what I would have paid for the live tracks on an album anyway I consider that also getting the other five remastered albums for free is great value - but that has always been so with the Edgar Broughton Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tour-de-force of the day..., 4 April 2011
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
Festivals of the early 70's simply weren't where it was happening without this heavy, hirsute power trio performing free from the back of a flatbed truck. Lead guitarist Rob 'Edgar' Broughton, drummer brother Steve with childhood pal Arthur Grant on bass duties had been playing the blues since their teens before shaking off the dust of the sleepy Midlands town of Warwick to land a record deal with hip new progressive Harvest and an apartment in London's uber-cool Portobello Road. The Delta informs a peculiarly English pyschedelic sensibility on the four albums bagged up here along with an unreleased live set: hard-edged, thrashing protest, distinguished by Edgar's 'Marmite' voice (a wailing fusion of Captain Beefheart and Arthur Brown) is offset by moments of wry humour, tender string arrangements and folkie strumming. The booklet Q&A in this excellent, top value package cites Broughton defining the band's sound as 'proto-punk' and certainly 1969's Wasa Wasa toughs up from the off with anti-authoritarian stances in 'American Boy Soldier' and festival fave 'Out Demons Out', bolstered here by rare single 'Up Yours!' More followed on 1970's Sing Brother Sing (plus delicious Shadows-spoofing single 'Apache Drop Out') but its self-titled successor was cut from a different cloth. Ex-Pretty Things guitarist Vic Unitt came on board and via their management at Blackwood Enterprises (a talent pool for Harvest), the band's collective orbit with fellow acts such as Roy Harper, Pink Floyd and Kevin Ayers enabled a generally sweet vibe where guesting on one another's releases was welcomed. Steve had drummed for Ayers and the latter's keyboard player and future classical composer, David Bedford contributed complementary arrangements for 1971's Edgar Broughton Band. Opener 'Evening over The Rooftops' not only set a new stall, it marked the band's creative and commercial peak as the EBB shifted to more progressive stylings. Bonus single 'Call Me Liar' showed teeth still but In Side Out and 1973's Oora were relatively subdued by a shift to more conventional song structures, while an ill-judged parting with Blackwood meant parting also with Harvest and what history was to reveal, their heyday. Disc 4 concludes with the band's performance at the 1970 Hyde Park Festival: demented, raucous, wilfully improvisational, it nails the appeal of an individualistic tour-de-force of the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Partying like it's 1969 (when I saw them), 7 July 2011
By 
G. M. Arnold "Geoff, that is" (Santa Clara, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
Whoever thought it made business sense to package 4 CDs for the price of one, thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sing Brother Sing, 19 Jan 2011
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
Wow Instant Edgar Broughton Band collection, what you have here simply is the first 5 Harvest era albums `Wasa wasa', `Sing Brother Sing', `Edgar Broughton Band' (the meat sleeve) `In Side Out' and `Oora', form the band plus a number of Non album A and B sides of singles, `Out Demons Out',
`Apache Dropout' `Up yours!', `Freedom', `Someone' and `Mr Crosby'.
To further tempt you into buying what you might already have some of, there is 40 plus minutes of Live Edgar Broughton band recorded live at Hyde Park 18th July 1970, stonking live versions of 'Drop out Boogie' 'American Soldier Boy' and `Out Demons Out'.

In total close on 5 hours of music for little more than the price of a Single disc. Great music from a great band on a truly great label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Churlish to complain, 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
It is such a pleasure to have all the wonderful Edgar stuff in one place and listenable again!! Icarus Peel has always loved Edgars' music, creativity, boldness and sheer humour and it is all amply evident on this collection. Wild jams, wierd scams and the beautiful Moth. Treasure this, they do not make 'em in this fine mould anymore. My only slight disappointment is that due to the sequencing the two best albums, Sing and Inside, are split over two discs. I should have preferred a whole album on each disc and would happily lived without the live one, you had to be there. If you love Edgar, or even if you don't, you should snap up this ridiculously priced bargain and enjoy. And after all, regarding my slight quibble, it would be churlish to complain.......Icarus out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars edgar broughton band the harvest years, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
Have been a follower of this band since 1969,it's good to have a detailed box set of this band they are top notch the highlight for me is disc 4 the band playing at hyde park in 1970
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edgar Broughton Band The Harvest Years, 20 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
Having only heard Wasa Wasa which i had previously owned on vinyl i thought i knew what to expect on this 4 disc compilation.However i could not believe how excellent this set of 5 albums was.It would be difficult to choose which one was the best as the Edgar Broughton Bands sound changed quite dramatically over their time at Harvest.As an added bonus the live Hyde Park tracks are excellent quality for a live performance.All in all an outstanding compilation at a fantastic price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i know a bargain when I hear one, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
I can't say I'm fussed whether a single was a double-A side or the back end of a bus! Four CDs charting the EBB's up and downs represent great value for money. Come on you stoners. 'Get out of bed it's a beautiful day'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All safely gathered in!, 8 April 2011
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harvest Years (1969-1973) (Audio CD)
Stalwarts of the free festival scene of the late sixties / early seventies the Broughtons are celebrated here with more than any fan could have hoped for! A good sounding and well produced box that is cracking value too - most fans would pay the asking price for the bonus material alone. I saw the band many times but never paid for the privilege - although I bought their singles and first couple of albums.

The five Harvest albums are here along with plenty of singles - A's & B's - but the finale is what will grab the fan's interest - six previously unreleased tracks recorded live on 18th July 1970 at the free concert in Hyde Park. I was there - great memories!

There is very little to criticise about this compilation - the minor niggle is that the albums "Sing Brother Sing" and "Oora" are split across two CDs because of the time constraints of only having four CDs in the set - but the compilers have kept the original vinyl album A and B sides intact so you can re-create the vinyl experience! There is a thin booklet included featuring a couple of photos and a good interview. Don't worry if you have most of this material already - the live material is worth the price............and hopefully the Broughtons will earn some royalties!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Harvest Years (1969-1973)
The Harvest Years (1969-1973) by Edgar Broughton Band (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews