Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to dream to
In my opinion the Virgin albums by Tangerine Dream Were and still are the ultimate pieces of work for this genre.Stunning music that took you somewhere else.
This superb value for money 3cd set starts with the album Phaedra which was Virgins first worldwide release.The title comes from the Greek myth of Phaedra the daughter of Minos and Ariadne.The second album is...
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by G. Muskett

versus
110 of 118 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Fine Mess
Tangerine Dream produced some sublime, peerless and futuristic music for the Virgin label, and the period represented here is arguably their peak of artistic achievement. They were once a thrilling, interactive, improvisational, cutting edge 3 piece group of electronic musicians. This of course was a long time ago....the reality of TD today is all too different, unless...
Published on 25 Jan. 2011 by S. Dinsdale


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 118 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Fine Mess, 25 Jan. 2011
By 
S. Dinsdale (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
Tangerine Dream produced some sublime, peerless and futuristic music for the Virgin label, and the period represented here is arguably their peak of artistic achievement. They were once a thrilling, interactive, improvisational, cutting edge 3 piece group of electronic musicians. This of course was a long time ago....the reality of TD today is all too different, unless you need a soundtrack for your corporate video, then E.Froese and son will I'm sure be happy to oblige.

This collection could have gone either way and served a purpose. It could have been a cheap and cheerful introduction to TD newcomers to the music of the classic years, or it could have been an in depth and serious study of the band's Virgin era, with intelligent track selection, insightful sleevenotes and the inclusion of rarities from the Virgin vault to tempt those who are already familiar with the main body of work.

If it was (as it seems) designed as a cheap introductory anthology, designed to wring a few more quid out of the catalogue, then why not double up `Phaedra' with `Rubycon', `Ricochet' with `Stratosfear' and on the third disc instead of `Cyclone' include `Encore' the stunning and inexplicably missing live album which falls within the time frame ? `Cyclone' came with a new line-up, post Peter Baumann, and with vocals, and doesn't really belong in the company of the others. The obvious cut-off point is the end of the `classic' line-up after `Encore'. Who do they get to compile these things, and why are they always so totally clueless ? There are legions of fans out there who would doubtless have done it for nothing. A more accurate title should be `The Virgin Years 1974-78 except 1977 which is missing for no reason'. So...definitive it is certainly not. There are standards being set for reissues by the likes of Esoteric Records, Cuneiform and Fripp/ Wilson's ventures into the King Crimson catalogue, which make efforts like this look like a joke.

What makes this dog's breakfast even worse is the inexplicable and pointless inclusion of 7" single edits masquerading as `rarities'; they are not, they were chopped together in ten minutes by a hatchet man no doubt without the band's involvement for the purposes of radio promo or jukeboxes back in the day and are of no value whatsoever....hell the edits aren't even in time they're that bad. If that wasn't enough, we are then invited to enjoy further `excerpts' from tracks we have just heard in the same collection on the premise that they have been tweaked in some way indiscernible to these ears. This is not only gigantically pointless, but means that the collection cannot even be listened to as a whole work without needless repetition or having to re-programme your CD player.

I really don't understand why Tangerine Dream's legacy is treated so poorly. The Virgin `Definitive Editions' of the mid nineties were a joke, riddled with inaccuracies in track titling and personnel, abysmal sleevenotes, and suffering from some atrocious mastering decisions which made even the original botched CD reissues a more enticing prospect. So whilst the likes of Virgin label mate Mike Oldfield has had his catalogue beautifully re-issued with bonus material, early mixes and in every way definitively, (by another company it has to be said) Tangerine Dream are still falling victim to hacked out, thoughtless affairs like this. At the very least the individual albums deserve to be reissued to today's standards.

Will we ever get to hear the music from `Oedipus Tyrannus' recorded in 1974 between `Phaedra' and `Rubycon' and which would have been perfect here? Will we ever get to hear the magical cathedral concerts they gave in 1975? I suspect that like Tangerine Dream's much talked about (but curiously never utilised) concert archive, it doesn't actually exist. If it does, one hopes someone might take charge of the restoration of this legacy and do it justice, even if none of the original band could care less about what they did when they were young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to dream to, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
G. Muskett "Music Man" (Northern Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
In my opinion the Virgin albums by Tangerine Dream Were and still are the ultimate pieces of work for this genre.Stunning music that took you somewhere else.
This superb value for money 3cd set starts with the album Phaedra which was Virgins first worldwide release.The title comes from the Greek myth of Phaedra the daughter of Minos and Ariadne.The second album is Rubycon and this title relates to Julius Caesar and the river Rubycon.A fine piece of work in two parts.We now move to 1975 and the Live album Ricochet from their British And French tours featuring a new piece of music in two parts Riochet Part 1 and 2.Its now 1976 and the release of Stratosfear full of moog and mellotron but also with touches of other instrumentation like accoustic guitar,piano and even mouth organ if you listen carefully.The last recording in this set is 1978 Cyclone.This album featured vocals for the first time from Steve Jolliffe.This album in my opinion is so underated.
As with all the albums above.Turn off the lights and let the music take you away.The packaging is a jewel case with a 6 page booklet.
Rest In Peace Edgar Froese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tangerine Dream compliation worth having. At long last!, 18 Jan. 2011
By 
Eugene Lafcadio "echosnare" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
I have to agree with the other reviewer, the Virgin Years were the pinnacle of Tangerine Dream, and electronic music. This selection is a perfect example of why TD could sell out tours across the globe, with mysterious, inventive, wonderful music. If only they made music like this today, how different things would be.

This is an excellent primer for anyone wanting to take a journey back in time to experience the best of the best, when they were the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their absolute best, but some glaring absences, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
No fan of TD will argue that their first few albums for the Virgin label were their best, and perhaps among the greatest musical creations ever. The five complete and unabridged albums featured on this set are so well known that it would be futile to review them all over again, but having them in a single box sets takes up a little less space on your CD shelf than each individual CD, so perhaps a visit to the second hand CD store for a trade in is on the cards. What does stand out, however, is the absence of a number of tracks that any TD historian really ought to have thrown in to the collection for completeness. Firstly the 10-minute track "Overture" which apeared on the Virgin V collaboration album, secondly the three allegedly solo tracks, one by each band member, that appeared on the box set of LPs covering this period, and thirdly the brilliant live album "Encore" which actually predates Cyclone so has more right to be there, and since Ricochet is included, why not the superior Encore as well? On the subject of missed albums, where is "Sorcerer"? Released on MCA records in 1977 as a film soundtrack, but featuring the trio of band names that were central to TD's creative success. Popping Cyclone on at the end of the compilation really steps out of the Franke-Froese-Baumann era and enters different territory completely, and should have been held back for the next box set in the series covering their next handful of albums for Virgin....should that ever be released!
Great to have all this wonderful music in one set, but irksome that it is incomplete and a little out of sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the music; zero for "release co-ordination", 6 July 2012
By 
N. Dutton (Newcastle, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
The many faults of this 3CD set have been well documented by other reviewers, but it is worth repeating that the most unforgivable error is the exclusion of Encore at the expense of Cyclone. Don't get me wrong- Cyclone is a fine album but it is out of place chronologically, stylistically and in terms of personnel. Encore would have been the logical and magnificent conclusion to this collection of the latter Baumann years.
As for the music, it's peak period Tangerine Dream and their legacy to subsequent electronic music. It's so good it survives this shoddy release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extract from virgin Years, 27 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
True - this is not the whole TD output from the acclaimed Virgin Years, but it presents the first, and as for me, the ebst recordings from the Virgin Era. Encore - the live album from 1977 is missing, but if it was added, the collection would go beyond the scope of a 3CD box.

Instead you have the whole of the following albums: Phaedra from 1974, Rubycon from 1975, Ricochet from 1975, Stratosfear from 1976 and Cyclone from 1978. Apart from the original albums in full lenght you also have some bonuses. Like the 7" promo single with extracts from Rubycon (wrongly labelled: the part one is actually part two, and vice versa), the 7" single of Stratosfear and two tracks from the vinyl-only compilation '70-'80 - which comprises of 10-minute-long excerpts from Rubycon part 2 and Madrigal Meridian from Cyclone. Added are also two radio adverts from the times of Phaedra and Rubycon (which sound kind of creepy but great!)

Essentially there is no new music there. The bonuses are just excerpts from the actual albums (so i.e. after listening to Rubycon part two you have a 10 minute excerpt from the same track and then a shorter radio edit!). But for collectors this might be really a treat. For me it is great to have both of the singles in the collection. I;m just a tad sorry that the other singles are missing: from Phaedra and Ricochet, not to mention the singles from the otherwise missing live album Encore.

Anyway - I'm pleased to have this 3CD box, it makes a great addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for LPs, 23 Jun. 2015
By 
J. Appleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
Bought this to replace my LPs and knew it would be excellent. I can now get rid of the LPs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHEAP AS CHIPS, 27 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
This compilation is the first Virgin material I've ever seen with genuine bonus material. The 7" single edits are nice to own on cd, and so are the radio adverts.

This release offers outstanding value for money. I paid £10 each for these titles in 1995, and purchased this set just to hear the bonus tracks.

Now, why can't we have more of these releases? It's about time the virgin vaults were unlocked and the Tangerine Dream back catalogue given the same treatment other artists have enjoyed for years.

It would be nice to have this kind of release for the Virgin Edgar Froese back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could have been better, 17 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
I used to have all these albums on vinyl so it's nice to see a few of the Virgin label ones, remastered and all in the same collection.
There are some glaring omissions from this set, including in my opinion 2 of their best recordings, 'Force Majeure' and 'Tangram'. I would not have missed Cyclone if it had been omitted as the 2 vocal tracks on this are truly awful, sounding like really bad Prog Rock as well as the pointless adverts and 7" versions. The 'Dream' collection for me would be ALL the Virgin era discs given the same SACD Hybrid treatment as was done with Rubycon, in a collectors box set. Apart from that gripe, here is some of the finest electronic music ever produced. Timeless music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somnambulistic (and that's a good thing), 13 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. B. Goldie "Brodie" (Aberdeeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 (Audio CD)
True fans may not appreciate my reasons for liking this compilation but like it I do. As someone who regularly stays in hostels and bunkhouses I got fed up with the inevitable snorer keeping me awake all night. Enter an iPod Nano with in ear headphones and this music. I can shut out all extraneous noise, relax, and be soothed gently to sleep. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Virgin Years: 1974-1978
The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 by Tangerine Dream (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews