Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling
I tried to find out the full details of each of the discs before buying but couldn't find any. I was kind of hoping each DVD was based on the 'air crash investigation' series - maybe reworked with a different title. It turns out there not, but six Discovery channel documentaries on air disasters. Its just as compelling though and for the reduced price I paid, I was...
Published on 4 Mar. 2012 by Mr. S. W. Cromby

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly packaged but interesting
First of all I should let people know that this is not a TV series boxed set, it is a whole bunch of unrelated History and Discovery Channel shows cobbled together based on their similar subject matter. Many of these have appeared as episodes of other series which may or may not be available separately. That aside it must be said that they all make interesting viewing and...
Published on 31 Aug. 2010 by Mr. Mark A. Allan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 4 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Crash Disasters [DVD] (DVD)
I tried to find out the full details of each of the discs before buying but couldn't find any. I was kind of hoping each DVD was based on the 'air crash investigation' series - maybe reworked with a different title. It turns out there not, but six Discovery channel documentaries on air disasters. Its just as compelling though and for the reduced price I paid, I was satisfied.

The six discs each around 50 minutes each:

1. Tenerife air disaster of 1977

2. TWA flight 800 of 1996

3. Fear of flying. (footage of near disasters)

4. Last hour of flight 11 (world trade centre)

5. When planes go down (light aircraft crashes)

6. Cleared for Landing(safety related issues)

If you like Air Crash Investigation you should like these documentaries although there are no extra features on any of the discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A varied collection of Air Disaster DVDs, 9 May 2008
By 
AmazonToday "AmazonToday" (Stockton on Tees, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This is the smaller of two DVD Boxsets from the Discovery Channel covering a range of Air Disasters. Named "MAYDAY" Air Crash Investigations.
Not to be confused with the National Geographic Channel Series of the same name.

The larger 8 DVD set consists of 8 Documentary DVDs

This 3 DVD Boxset named "MAYDAY" Air Crash Disasters contains DVDs (1), (3) and (5).
The 8 DVD set Air Crash Disasters [DVD]is much beter value and can be found at less than £15.00

DVD (5) covers Near Disasters.

(1) The Tenerife Air Disaster - Most Deadly, Discovery Channel 43 Mins
(2) Pan Am 103 - Minute By Minute, The History Channel 45 Mins
(3) TWA Flight 800- Best Evidence, Discovery Channel 43 Mins
(4) Last Hour Of Flight 11 - Zero Hour, Discovery Channel 47 Mins
(5) Fear of Flying - Extreme Machines, Discovery Channel 43 Mins
(6) When Planes Go down - Discovery Channel 50 Mins
(7) Cleared For Landing - Discovery Channel 45 Mins
(8) Alive; The 1972 Andes Survivors - Minute By Minute, The History Channel 45 Mins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly packaged but interesting, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. Mark A. Allan "Buddha" (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Air Crash Disasters [DVD] (DVD)
First of all I should let people know that this is not a TV series boxed set, it is a whole bunch of unrelated History and Discovery Channel shows cobbled together based on their similar subject matter. Many of these have appeared as episodes of other series which may or may not be available separately. That aside it must be said that they all make interesting viewing and are worthy of your attention if this type of thing interests you.

The quality of the programs varies with some truly dodgy animation and repetition being painfully evident in some of them. The feature dealing with the Tenerife Air Disaster being perhaps the worst culprit. Attempts here to add animated flames to still photographs or to try and make them look three dimensional are laughable and irritating. If still photos from the actual scene are all you have then that is all you have, don't try and convince the viewer otherwise, we are not idiots! To make it worse they keep showing the same thing over and over again, just to be sure you don't miss how awful it was the first time.

As with nearly all of these Region 2 History/Discovery Channel box sets the packaging itself is cheap and nasty. Each disc is held in its own poor quality slimline case and these are then enclosed in a thin cardboard box. Chances are when you pick up the box it will rattle. This is because the cases are barely able to hold the discs in place and they will be loose inside. The first box I received had damage to the flimsy packaging and most of the discs were severely marked as a result of them being unsecured inside. Amazon to their credit send me a replacement straight away and I was able to put together a complete set of undamaged discs by combining the two as the discs were all loose in the replacement set as well. Each disc only contains one approx 45 minute feature so you could condense it all down to fit on possibly three discs instead of eight and that would allow everything to be housed in one box. This would be more secure, less bulky and overall a much better package.

Don't let me put you off though as the content is worth watching and the price is good. I will certainly watch each episode again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Item, 19 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Air Crash Disasters [DVD] (DVD)
We are very keen in this kind of documentaries and we found this one in particular to be one of the best and the recompilation is very well done... over all i highly recommended it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's OK - could be better, 18 Oct. 2009
Like others have said....This is NOT the National Geographic collection - which has detailed comprehensive reconstruction/deconstruction and investigation. You don't get that with this collection. Some of the dvd's are interesting but others are just plane (excuse me) rubbish - low quality, American dumbed down, repeat the same thing every 5 minutes to pad out what should be a 10 minute documentary into 50 minutes ( very tedious ) - we don't have 5 second attention spans Discovery!!!!

I'm now in the hunt for the real thing from National Geographic which is much much better.

I won't be watching these again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing dvd box sets.....?, 13 April 2010
By 
Mr. C. J. Pyott (manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is definately a box set of construction that could be amazing. but its not the best, it is done cheaply and comes close to the projects but seems to be aimed at junior school level, its all very simplified and i was looking for 'AMAZING' not 'Yeah... ' i gues it has a low end market access point but would have been better if it was made to a better quality and standard. Guess theres a market for it and many people may enjoy it, i guess i was expecting more. but it has lots of info in it and shows some or the worlds big construction sites. guess there needs to be a better editor, i would have liked to have sen what fell from the editors grasps....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is what it says 'on the tin'!, 18 Nov. 2011
By 
N. Freeman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Crash Disasters [DVD] (DVD)
Yes ... this is a box set of DVD's about air crashes, their causes and a bit of conspiracy theory thrown in for good measure! ... BUT, there are six individually boxed DVDs in the set, each is barely an hour long and, when boxed as a whole, is not a good shape or size for your shelf. As for the content, if you like the Americanised 'Air Crash Investigation' type stuff, then you will not be dissapointed ... if you are looking for something more, I suggest you look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's recap on that...Let's recap on that...Let's recap on that..., 4 April 2010
This set would have been excellent, if it wasn't for the fact that the narrator is continually recapping (the story up to now) every 5 to 10 minutes. Did I mention that the narrator is continually recapping (the story up to now) every 5 to 10 minutes. If the substantial 'padding' was removed, I doubt that each DVD would run more than maybe 35-40 minutes. Very frustrating and spoiled it for me. In its favour is the low price and the very interesting content...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Air Crash Disasters - well named, 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Crash Disasters [DVD] (DVD)
To be clear, I have no complaints about service from the vendor. That's the kindest thing I can say. I had hoped this set was something like "Air Crash Investigation" ("Mayday" in the U.S.). I was expecting too much.
It arrives as a bulky set of discs, one per episode, in something the size of a chocolate box. Its competitor has several episodes per disc, so a whole season is quite compact to store on a shelf.
The disasters are covered in the "Mayday" series in much more detail and with greater technical finesse - to be fair, probably with a higher budget. The animations are very basic, unlike the "Mayday" reproductions which represent the specific aircraft and incidents convincingly enough. "Mayday" details the investigation and the causes. "Disasters" tends to simply name a single cause, which is often misleading, and to vastly simplify the incident itself.
As an example, the famous Air Canada 767 landing (the "Gimli Glider")- which was far from disastrous as everyone survived - is summed up simply as confusion over new refuelling procedures leading to a forced landing on an old airfield now occupied by a racing club.
By contrast, "Mayday" leads us through the progression of alarms, engine failures, the crew and controllers eliminating possible safe landings, the captain and first officer's individual backgrounds making critical difference to their survival, the oscillation between hope and impending doom, and the almost comical conspiracy of circumstances leading both to the engine failure and the successful outcome.
Far too simplistic. There are any number of better products which take up less shelf-space. But at the price, it was a small learning experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Investigations, 13 Nov. 2012
By 
Grosse Kreul - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Air Crash Disasters [DVD] (DVD)
Its a nice summary of documentaries wich are showing the how and why Air crashes happened in the past. I like the way these docs explain the rootcauses of these accidents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Air Crash Disasters [DVD]
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews