Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stand
Puchased this item despite the negative reviews after seeing it in Staples for £10 more. Compared to may other stands this is an all metal item rather than plastic so it isn't flimsy, doesn;t wobble and should last many years. I work from home a great deal and use a laptop. After getting back and neck ache I decided to purchase a wirelss keyboard and mouse plus a...
Published on 20 Nov. 2011 by podders

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superfluous
You've gotta wonder what goes on in some manufacturers' heads sometimes. Here Fellowes has created a "solution" to a problem that probably never existed in the first place. This contraption converts a laptop into a "workstation", apparently ignorant of the fact that a laptop is, in effect, already a compact workstation in its own right.

There are so many...
Published on 20 Jun. 2011 by Alien937


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stand, 20 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Puchased this item despite the negative reviews after seeing it in Staples for £10 more. Compared to may other stands this is an all metal item rather than plastic so it isn't flimsy, doesn;t wobble and should last many years. I work from home a great deal and use a laptop. After getting back and neck ache I decided to purchase a wirelss keyboard and mouse plus a workstation to raise my laptop to make working from home more comfortable. It is defintely not one of the laptop stands with a fan to use when sitting on the sofa so make sure you are buying the correct product for what you want to use it for.

This product has an easily adjustable height using the paddles on the back, very easy to work out having played with the one in Staples! The panel that the laptop sits on is perforated so your laptop should keep cool.

The usb hub on the back is great and sticks to the workstation with one of those double sided sticky tape things so it doesn't move around and feels solid once stuck down. I use one port to connect to the printer, one to charge my phone, one for the keyboard dongal, one spare and the hub connects to the laptop leaving all the ports on the laptop free and this keeps my desk neater which is great.

You do need either a wireless keyboard/mouse or wired keyboard/mouse to use this product but that should be obvious from the image which shopws the document holder covering the keyboard so take this into account should your purchase one but even a wired mouse would be great as you can connect everyting to the ports in the hub.

The document holder on the front is great and holds paper securely although I don't envisage needing to use this feature very often.

All in all a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product..., 25 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In a world where most computer/electronic products are plastic and flimsy, this stand really is solid and sturdy. It is made of metal, heavy, with robust mechanisms for adjusting and locking angles to hold your laptop securely in whatever position suits you.

Laptops are enormously popular these days, I guess people like the idea of a compact self-contained unit which is easily carried about. The reality of using a computer for more than 5~10 minutes, and doing so comfortably, is you need a proper keyboard, mouse and a display which sits at a level appropriate to your eyes. In ergonomic terms, laptops are rubbish!

Yes, sadly this involves more cables, but the 4-port USB hub makes this neat and simple, and of course a wireless keyboard and mouse will remove the cables entirely (if you don't mind paying for the batteries to power them!). Setup is reduced to inserting one USB connector to the side of your laptop - so not much of an overhead compared to using a docking station. Comparing prices, this is a bargain!

This is billed as part of a `Professional Series,' but the question is, "Do you use your computer a lot?" If not, then this is an unnecessary piece of kit. But if you do spend hours in front of the screen, then get one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Excellent, well built piece of kit. usb hub a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
JY (Swindon UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Sturdy but looks inconspicuous. Holds a 17" laptop in a great upright position so that the screen is at eye level and you can easily get a keyboard and mouse in front of it. Has plenty of airflow round it so laptop does not get too hot and I now have a desk system that works well. USB hub a bonus. I find using the laptop so much easier on the eyes and fingers now. You can also quickly disconnect and pick up the laptop if you need to so all round it is very convenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy laptop workstation, 26 May 2012
By 
Mr. K. P. Rogers "rogers_kp" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Firstly, check the pictures to make sure that you can use this: you will need an external keyboard and mouse.

So, this holds your laptop so that you can have an easier time typing things out, if copying from paper, etc. Even if you have no paper the keyboard is still obscured, so the external option is a must.

It is very well built, and light, and compact, so is easy to store away.

If you use your laptop a lot, you will find that using this improves your posture because it lifts the screen to a better eye-level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very sturdy bit of kit, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Very sturdy bit of kit, holds my 17" laptop a treat, document holder is handy and is extra security against movement. Two paddles at sides make it extremely easy to alter height depending on what i am doing or which desk am working on. Extra USB ports very useful too.
Can recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Makes using the laptop better ergonomically as the screen is positioned better, 14 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Makes using the laptop better ergonomically as the screen is positioned better. Also makes using "extended desktop" easier as the two screens are next to each other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for it's purpose, 21 July 2011
By 
Chris (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very sturdy piece of equipment that, to be honest, is not best suited to my environment. If used in the home (my use) then to my mind it is too intrusive, too bulky and too heavy. However I do not think that this is the original design for this product and I think it is best served in a more clinical office environment. Here it will serve many years use and will provide great functionality in an environment where functionality and ergonomics combined with hard wearing design are key. Recomended if you are looking for something in this mould - For me however in my more cluttered home space I will not be using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Sept. 2014
By 
A. Pisnyy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Excellent item. I wish I bought it much earlier. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superfluous, 20 Jun. 2011
By 
Alien937 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fellowes Professional Series Laptop Workstation with 4-Port 2.0 USB Hub (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You've gotta wonder what goes on in some manufacturers' heads sometimes. Here Fellowes has created a "solution" to a problem that probably never existed in the first place. This contraption converts a laptop into a "workstation", apparently ignorant of the fact that a laptop is, in effect, already a compact workstation in its own right.

There are so many problems with this product. The "integrated" USB hub isn't integrated at all; it's just an ordinary (cheaply-made, unpowered) hub you stick on to the rear of the stand yourself. The document holder cuts off access to the laptop's main controls, i.e. the keyboard and the touchpad, meaning you have to use a separate keyboard and mouse. Some laptops (such as mine) don't have a screen that tilts back much past 90°, preventing you from inclining the stand very much when the laptop's on it. To top it all, the document holder is non-removable, denying you the chance of even using the contraption as a basic stand.

Maybe some company somewhere would purchase this product for its specific type of workplace, but the market must be tiny: workplaces tend to come with perfectly good PCs. For everyone else, it would be much simpler and more economical just to get an inexpensive document holder and place the laptop on top of something if need be - voila: your very own "workstation".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews