Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thin Lizzy - Friday night down at Dino's bar and grill revisited
Having gone through all kind of agonies on which Thin Lizzy re issue to review, finally "Live and Dangerous" just trumped "Jailbreak" their most complete studio album because of the presence of the magnificent "Still in love with you" and the splendid cover of Bob Seger's "Rosalie". Having seen this great band in there hey day in December 1977 at the Cardiff Capitol, with...
Published on 24 Jan. 2011 by Red on Black

versus
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe edition or quick rehash?
A relatively poor rating for the so called remastered deluxe version of this classic 5 star album.

The music is awesome, read the other reviews for a better overview of this. I'm doing the factual round up.

So, why the disappointment?

CD - Firstly, the sound quality. I've scrutinised this and can find no real difference between this...
Published on 27 Jan. 2011 by Martin Slater


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe edition or quick rehash?, 27 Jan. 2011
By 
Martin Slater "staggage.co.uk" (Driffield, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
A relatively poor rating for the so called remastered deluxe version of this classic 5 star album.

The music is awesome, read the other reviews for a better overview of this. I'm doing the factual round up.

So, why the disappointment?

CD - Firstly, the sound quality. I've scrutinised this and can find no real difference between this version and the 1980's USA import disc I already own. Perhaps a tad more top end but I'd be generous in stating this. The two additional tracks being a very welcome addition.

Packaging - A poorish quality 4 part foldout digipack with the `deluxe edition` banner being stuck around the package, requiring cutting to get inside. Mine was so poorly put together, there are huge air bubbles beneath the surface. A reasonable booklet containing pics from the era and `interesting' sleevenotes is slotted in one of the fold outs and a DVD is 'thrown' in the other. The two CD discs, sit side by side in the central two parts.

DVD - This is not as advertised either on many websites and, in my opinion, on the packaging itself. I believe it's simply the first disc previously available within the L&D double DVD set. The gig film itself is subject to the original quality of the recording and, to be expected, shows its age, however, the audio is in mono - I've had the headphones on - and, prove me wrong please, but there are definitely no extras ( footage from 1983 etc ) and no 5.1 sound which the package indicates Surely, the DVD could have been revamped, remixed to stereo at least, and extras added (there would be room) This is a deluxe edition after all!

Aside from any slight difference in audio on the CD ( again, generous ) this is a massive opportunity missed of giving this classic album the revamp it deserves, leaving me feeling short changed by the cheapo cash in it's turned out to be.

Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still a killer album, but deluxe?, 5 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
I'm not going to go into how great Live and Dangerous is as an album as I think we all know this already. Disc One is the same as it ever was. Disc Two is again, same as it ever was, except for two extra tracks, both of which had already appeared on the Killers Live EP back in the day. Good to hear them again tho. Killer version of Opium Trail. Fine. DVD is the Rainbow gig from 1978. Killer gig. But you've seen and heard all this before. I was a bit disappointed with the shoddy research. Many of these tracks are credited as having been recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon or at the Seneca College Fieldhouse, Toronto. This is, for the most part, utter garbage research. If you watch the DVD and have any ear for sound, you'll figure out immediately that the version of Are You Ready on the album is exactly the same one as on the DVD, recorded live at the Rainbow, and definitely not re-recorded by Visconti or anyone else. Just listen to Scott run out of notes at the end of his break! If you'd like to venture further afield, ferret out the two gigs at the Tower Theater in Philadelphia back in '77 (a bootleg of the first night is out there and the second night was released as Still Dangerous a few years ago). Here you'll find the raw material for most of what ended up on Live and Dangerous, along with a few gems (Johnny, Soldier of Fortune, Me and the Boys) that never made it on to the album. Visconti added the crowd sounds in, which he denies doing, and re-touched some vocals and backing vocals. He also chopped a chunk out of Dancing In The Moonlight and stuck in the power intro to Jailbreak, when he should have left Soldier of Fortune there as it sailed right into Jailbreak. That's pretty much it as regards fixing. In fact, a lot of what he did took away from the raw live sound of Lizzy, not add to it. Don't listen to Visconti, listen to the recordings and make your own mind up. For God's sake Lynott hits a bum bass note on Suicide which made it on to the actual album! Missed that one Tony! Of course it suits Tony Visconti say he single-handedly recorded a classic live rock album in his studio. The more he takes the credit for, the better his CV looks. Live and Dangerous is Thin Lizzy live with a few bits and bobs touched up, yep, but it's Lizzy. No question about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply not good enough., 10 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
I bought this 'deluxe version, and from the start was disappointed. the packaging was not up to standard,and the 'remix of the sound had hardly changed from the original. they have also taken the 'follow though' tracks out... 'cowboy song' which blends straight into 'The boy's are back' which is one of the strengths of the original album. they have also replaced a track with another version not on the original. The DVD is o.k (but not Great) all-in-all, save your money and buy the 'untouched' CD, and capture the true essence of this great live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor indeed!, 29 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. A. M. Smith "Andrew" (Bognor Regis, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
I've had previous versions of this album before, so I was quite excited about this new release, but I shouldn't of got my hopes up. Like the previous reviewer said, the sound quality isn't hardly any different to the earlier versions. But what I'm most annoyed about is the fact that the bonus DVD of the Live & Dangerous concert isn't even in stereo, even though the seperate DVD release of this concert from 2007 is. These 3 Deluxe Edition reissues (the other 2 being Jailbreak and Johnny The Fox} are just a complete joke. What with all the major track listing errors on the other 2 albums. See my other reviews for the other 2 Deluxe reissues for more info on that. The only good thing about this release is the 2 bonus tracks on CD 2, but I'm afaid that doesn't make up for all the errors that have occurred. Universal/Mercury records should be ashamed of themselves. These albums deserve far better treatment and the record company should be doing their job properly. As for Scott Gorham, making out he really cares about these albums and how important these Deluxe Editions are, well he can't be that bothered about them, letting them get released in this state. It's pathetic. Universal/Mercury don't deserve any business from the sale of these 3 Deluxe Reissues, not at least until they've re-issued them all again with all the problems corrected. PLEASE, ALL THIN LIZZY FANS, AVOID THESE REISSUES LIKE THE PLAGUE! THE PEOPLE INVOLVED IN COMPILING THEM DON'T DESERVE A PENNY OF YOUR MONEY UNTIL THEY'VE CORRECTED ALL THE ERRORS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thin Lizzy - Friday night down at Dino's bar and grill revisited, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
Having gone through all kind of agonies on which Thin Lizzy re issue to review, finally "Live and Dangerous" just trumped "Jailbreak" their most complete studio album because of the presence of the magnificent "Still in love with you" and the splendid cover of Bob Seger's "Rosalie". Having seen this great band in there hey day in December 1977 at the Cardiff Capitol, with the classic Lynott, Gorham, Robertson and Downey line up, it brings back the fondest of memories. Thin Lizzy were a blistering live act and one the greatest hard rock bands to have graced terra firma. They were also a band that were and remain "cool", thus it was no surprise at the time that there was some justified comparison of Phil Lynott to Bruce Springsteen circa the "Boys are back in town". The Cardiff concert really was an evening of amazing highs with their version of "Don't believe a word" the musical equivalent of shock and awe and with that wonderful Irishman and master front man Phil Lynott gracing the stage with charisma to spare and that cheeky banter (yes he did the "would you like more Irish in you" line).

Thus we have this one of the greatest double live albums reissued and remastered by Scott Gorham and Brian Downey with two additional tracks a storming "Bad reputation" and thunderous "Opium trail" drawn from concerts in London and Toronto in 1977. To add further icing to the cake you also have a wealth of DVD material including the original Live and Dangerous DVD, now expanded to include previously unseen performances from these shows and their farewell tour.

Let us at this point also kill the Visconti controversy. Certainly producer Tony Visconti re-recorded much of Lynott's vocal and the guitar (although not the drums) on the album and readily admitted at the time that large parts of it were recorded in the studio. To which our collective response should be "so what"? Even concert purists like the Grateful Dead often "touched up" their live recordings like "Europe 1972" and there are plenty of Thin Lizzy bootlegs out there should you want these songs "in the raw". The point about "Live and dangerous" is what it captures at a certain time and place. You have the fiery dual assault of the tempestuous Brian Robertson dispatching huge harmony solos with Gorham matching every riff. You have Downey one of the greatest rock drummers providing an immense backbeat and most of all Lynott with a voice that is so distinctive and expressive it is unique in rock music. Add to this the fact that he wrote great lyrical songs and on their day Thin Lizzy were unimpeachable and faultless.

Check out the superb version here of "Boys", the gloriously funky "Johnny the fox and Jimmy the Weed" and the tenderness of "Still in love with you" and you have a band at the top of their game. Phillip Parris Lynott's tragic death at 36 in 1986 robbed us of one of the great musicians and poets of the rock era. As such Gorham and Downey should be hugely thanked for this remastering and just remember it "Won't be long till summer comes/Now that the boys are here again".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...Is There Any Out There Would Like A Little More Irish In Them?" - Live And Dangerous by THIN LIZZY (Deluxe Edition), 27 Jan. 2011
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
"Live And Dangerous" is the third of three 'Deluxe Edition' sets released Monday 24 January 2011 in the UK (8 February 2011 in the USA) - the other two are March 1976's "Jailbreak" and November 1976's "Johnny The Fox".

Universal/Mercury 5332073 breaks down as follows...

PACKAGING:
The 3-way foldout digipak is the same design as most of Universal's 2010 DE doubles - the outer plastic wrap has now been replaced with a 'Deluxe Edition' bandana around the base of the set and you have to split it to get the package open - bit fiddly, but it's easier to access the discs and the booklet. Unlike "Jailbreak" and "Johnny The Fox" which have packed 20-page booklets and original artwork - this booklet is very disappointing - as is the digipak itself. First up - the impact of the double-live album was made huge by its display of colour photos both on the inner gatefold and the two festooned inner sleeves - NONE of which appears here. Instead there are black and white shots of the boys on each flap with the space beneath the trays wasted on some barely visible 'Thin Lizzy' logo. It amounts to a huge amount of viewing space covered in a whole lot of nothing. The paltry 8-page CD booklet of the 1996 remaster has these photos - so why aren't they here - and enhanced? Also Universal could have used the original vinyl look on the CDs themselves - the UK 'Spaceship' Vertigo label design for Disc 1 with the USA Warner Brothers label design on Disc 2. I know it sounds like a bit of a whinge, but the effect of the original LPs is completely lost here.

Also - the booklet has only 16 pages (the other 2 have 20) with two of those are taken up with the original album credits. The MALCOME DOME essay on the LP lasts bits of 5 pages - much of which is taken with the tedious Tony Visconti versus The Band remembrances that have dogged the album for years - how much of it is 'actually' live... Overdubs to the tune of 75% are quoted by Visconti - disputed vigorously by Gorham and Lynott who say it was a 'lot less' - Downey say the drums weren't touched at all... (the truth probably lies somewhere in between - 25% maybe). Who cares if it was doctored after the event (most live albums were and are to this day), it stills rocks like Godzilla trampling through New York and roaring his head off. But it has to be said that after the excellence of the extras on the "Jailbreak" and "Johnny The Fox" Deluxe Editions (see separate reviews), this is a let down - when it wouldn't have taken a lot to make it a screaming success.

CDs:
Disc 1 (36:16 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 8 are Side 1 and 2 of the double-album "Live And Dangerous", their 9th album released 2 June 1978 in the UK on Vertigo 6641 807 and July 1978 in the USA on Warner Brothers 2BS-3213 (it peaked at 2 in the UK and 84 in the USA). The booklet states it's been remastered by ANDY PEARCE and MATT WORTHAM in 2010 at Wired Masters Sound In London in the UK.
Disc 2 (51:15 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are Side 3 and 4
Tracks 10 and 11 are 'Bonus Tracks' - L&D Outtakes - "Opium Trail" and "Bad Reputation"

DVD:
Filmed live at The Rainbow Theatre in Finsbury Park in London in late March 1978, this was originally a video released at the time of the album - restored for DVD release in 2007. The 2007 issue had 2 discs (DVD and CD) - 'only' the DVD is presented here, but it does have it's full 11-track compliment (no new footage). Audio-wise there's disappointment also - BOTH the rear sleeve of the DE and the DVD itself list two audio settings - 2.0 and 5.1 Surround Sound, but on playing the DVD it offers only the 2.0 Digital Dolby playback - and I think it's only in Mono. The picture quality is hardly state-of-the-art either - very sloppy Seventies it has to be said, but the power of the band is still intact - especially the astonishing guitar solo Brian Robertson pulls out on "Still In Love With You" and the rocking last two tracks where they were arguably the best live band in the world bar none (note: the last track on the DVD is "Me And The Boys" which is NOT on the 2LP live set).

SOUND/EXTRAS:
The remaster is great and only accentuates the power of them live - and by the time you get to the "Ba-Ba-Ba-Baby..." Phil versus The Audience singing exchanges on "Baby Drives Me Crazy" - resistance is futile. The two bonus tracks are good - especially "Opium Trail", but the sound on "Bad Reputation" is a bit corroded even if the performance is good. Is it better than the 1996 remaster - sounds a little meatier - but I'm more peeved with the overall presentation...

Ok - there are absolutely two ways of looking at this release - the lapsed buyer and newcomer will see this package, buy it and be sonically and visually pleased, but long-time fans who've bought the two superb Deluxe Editions of "Jailbreak" and "Johnny The Fox" will be wondering what the Hell happened here? Packaging that doesn't expand the original, only 2 extra tracks and a DVD we already own - fans are being asked to spend hard-earned cash on this. It seems odd to me that Lizzy's defining moment should be the one DE that slightly lets the side down. Surely - and backtrack to take a look at the playing times for both discs - surely there was more? The audio for "Me And The Boys" for instance would have been an obvious choice? And for the DVD to not have a 5.1 mix or more importantly 'anything' new is a huge disappointment.

To sum up - a remaster of the album yes, but a mixed bag on the packaging front and a visual that many fans will already have (and in better form). Newcomers should just dive in and enjoy - but fans may want to wait until it drops into a sale in a few months...

Phil has his fist raised up on the front cover of "Live And Dangerous" - and on the 3-star presentation of this iconic and much loved double album - unfortunately I think I know why...

PS: see also reviews for "Thin Lizzy" Expanded, "Shades Of A Blue Orphanage" Expanded and 2CD DELUXE EDITION sets of "Vagabonds Of The Western World", "Nightlife", "Fighting", "Jailbreak" and "Johnny The Fox"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confused and concerned, 15 Feb. 2011
By 
S. Sutcliffe (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
Classic live.. album up there with Humble Pie at the Fillmore and UFO Strangers in the Night.Scott Gorham said Lizzy never had production. So bring in a cool professional and REMIX each album in chronological order from the masters, retaining the bands own sound. There seems to be some confusion here, remastering just cleans it up, it doesn't find the power. You have to remix. Forget about Fred And Joe and Uncle Dicks remix. Has anyone heard what Martin Turner did to Wishbone Ash Argus? Now thats a remix job. If you heard "Opium Trail" and "Bad Reputation" live at Seneca College in "77 on the Live Killers 12" Vinyl EP you would know the power of Lizzy - massive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
John Stout (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
I agree with Martin Slater's review above.

First thing I did was pull out the previous 'remaster' version and compare it to this deluxe edition, and to be honest I couldn't tell any difference in the quality of the sound. It's certainly not the 'muscular' remaster that we were lead to believe.

I don't have a problem with quieter albums,so I wasn't expecting this remaster to boost the volume dramatically, but to my ears there is no discernible rise in quality from the previous version. Shame really, as it would have been nice to hear Lynott's bass a little further up in the mix, as it has more presence on the dvd.

The dvd itself is a let down. The labelling on the dvd suggests a 5.1 listening option, but in fact you only get 2.0 stereo (and even that is not great sound quality). Picture quality is average at best.

Which brings me to the packaging. They could at least have put in a little more effort and investment so that the dvd sat in a similar tray as the cds, but no, it's crammed into the cardboard sleeve as an afterthought and I struggled to get it out without bending the cardboard. Which means that the disc is going to get scratched to hell every time you try to take it out.

Given the big fuss that guitarist Scott Gorham has made about overseeing the quality of these new releases, he must have been out of the room when this one came in.

But....it is still a classic album and if you don't already own it, then it is worth buying.

It's just a shame that for the rest of us, it's a missed opportunity to produce a definitive edition of this great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best live rock album ever, 30 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
Lizzies best line up playing their best songs produced by Visconti,their best producer.How live it is is disputed with lots of studio overdubs mentioned.Who cares its brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Does Not Wither, 27 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Live And Dangerous (Audio CD)
I have to admit to being biased as I was at the gig when it was recorded and did like Lizzy. I had seen them in many venues including more intimate venues that the Hammersmith Odeon. Incidentally, that's it real name and not any of the daft names that have been flung at it that have gone hand in hand with its demise as the foremost rock venue in London. Earls Court & Olympia were just for the supergroups who had probably more equipment and glitz than music that has survived so well to this day.

Lizzy were an amazingly tight band and Phil a charismatic front man who new how to rock. He was a proper rocker from the soles of his boots to the very end of the tips of his rockers hair. Look no further than the front cover.That is a rock image.

From the fist chord being struck, the atmosphere was electric and we were on our feet from that second, shouting in support, singing (yelling?), along to every number from start to finish. We left drenched with sweat knowing that we had been at something special.

Remastered this album resonates with the power of a band that were very best. I'm listening to it in the car and the volume level is 11. If you don't know what that means you should probably get back to your Perry Como selection.

Buy it. The hype to promote this album is true. This is one of the best live recordings ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live And Dangerous
Live And Dangerous by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews