Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robustly made, excellent price
We bought one of these for an extended long haul trip, as we wanted bags that would store flat once there rather than more hard cases. When you see what look like equivalent bags selling for 10 or 20 pounds, you do wonder if it is really worth paying a premium for bags like this.

Well, we haven't travelled yet, but having examined the bag, we are in no doubt...
Published on 19 Oct. 2011 by David P

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, not always very practical.
Its great quality and folds down so can be stored very easily, but when full its quite tricky to pull and stand upright. Depends what you want to use it for, but I traveled by train to visit family with my 4 month old son and it wasn't all that good for us across London public transport.
Published 2 months ago by Kate Ponsford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robustly made, excellent price, 19 Oct. 2011
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Unisex Container 85 Travel Bag (Luggage)
We bought one of these for an extended long haul trip, as we wanted bags that would store flat once there rather than more hard cases. When you see what look like equivalent bags selling for 10 or 20 pounds, you do wonder if it is really worth paying a premium for bags like this.

Well, we haven't travelled yet, but having examined the bag, we are in no doubt that it will survive the ordeal. The material is thick and feels tough and has a rubbery kind of lining on the inside, the zips seem good quality, the extending handle feels substantial and does not give the impression it is going to snap off as soon as you touch it, and the bag is huge. It has a zipped compartment inside covering the bottom which will be good for keeping shoes away from clothes, and there is another smallish zipped pouch on the inside of one side. Wheels are large and smooth and not overtly flimsy, a common failing point on cheaper bags. There is nothing worse than having to haul a bag around that you were expecting to be able to wheel because it has succumbed to the mauling of the baggage handlers.

The quoted measurements were comically ridiculous when we were ordering (over 6 feet long???) - so for info, ours is approx.

85cm long, 39cm wide, and roughly 45cm deep,

although the depth is hard to measure unless the bag is stuffed. But it is cavernous.

Can't explain why, but there was a huge price difference on here between the black bag and the other colours - black being much cheaper. We chose the black, and we are very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bag - well designed and constructed, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought two of these bags together to get rid of the "traditional" hard shell suitcases that I used to use. These are much better. They are well balanced - so they do not topple over when using and they are cavernous - can fit a lot of luggage in them. The wheels are very quiet.
On the negative side - the inside is just one main compartment - and so need to pack things sensibly in here with the heavy stuff at the base (near the wheels) - because otherwise when lift it up - everything inside slides down to the wheels section.
Also - there should be more protection for the corners - airline people do have a nasty habit of "chucking" the bags from the plane...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, not always very practical., 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its great quality and folds down so can be stored very easily, but when full its quite tricky to pull and stand upright. Depends what you want to use it for, but I traveled by train to visit family with my 4 month old son and it wasn't all that good for us across London public transport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Enormous but unstable!, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Ruth (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this bag because I prefer duffle/holdall type bags to suitcases. I also needed a large bag to replace the (now obsolete) large Samsonite holdall which airport baggage handlers had ultimately destroyed after many trips. On the plus side, this bag is cavernous and well-made. On the negative side, and the "feature" which made me fall out of love with it, is the fact that it will not stand upright on its end, no matter how you pack it. When on its end, it needs propping up as It always wants to fall over away from the base. This also means that it makes it quite difficult to bring it back to the vertical to start wheeling it, particularly if it's quite heavy and you have other bags in tow. This might not be too much of a problem for travelling by air if you're only moving it short distances, but I have just been using it for rail travel, and it has been more than annoying having to battle with it every time I took it off a train, wanted to start wheeling it, cross roads, etc. I'm afraid my bag has made its last journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good bag and good price, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For some reason grey was half the price of other colours, but seems like a good bit of kit. Ordered a 2nd one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It has now toured USA and was fine. For some fly holidays it can hold much ..., 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is very roomy and works well. It has now toured USA and was fine. For some fly holidays it can hold much more than the weight limit, so beware. I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great bag!, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This bag is great and very durable! Lots of space, it's like a TIR trunk. Used it with no fear in hard situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good., 10 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Light and lots of volume, we use it for ski gear. Wheels and handle strong, no issues. Recommended. X x x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value at £40 for the midnight blue colour. It is HUGE. Swift delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Dean (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great service, good strong bag..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eastpak Unisex Container 85 Travel Bag
£51.73 - £110.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews