Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent bag, 10 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Sports)
I now have two of these bags. I originally bought one, and then hunted down another one several years later as the first one is so good.

It is sturdy, has an excellent wheelie-handle, and two of them catered nicely for a family of four going away for a long weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful size, not too heavy, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Sports)
This is the second of these bags that I have bought for holiday use. It isn't too large but is big enough for a 2 week Summer holiday as long as you don't want to include snorkel, fins and more bulky gear. It is a really practical design, with a separate zipped area for shoes or dirty clothes. The corners are reasonably well protected and it stands on it's end easily. Very good bag - would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Robust Holdall for Short Trips, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
A. Mitchell "avantgarde" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Sports)
Bought this after having larger Eastpak wheeled bag for a couple of years. Impressed with build quality, zips and wheels very robust. 30 year guarantee, apparently. Wanted something slightly more compact yet large enough for a weekend away/short break. This does the trick for me, I don't believe in travelling "light". Plain, sensible, does the job. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, but usability ... hmmm, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Bollard - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Sports)
*Update 2: Just found that The North Face does a similar product with built-in compression straps. If you are rich, and are considering a holdall on wheels, that may be worth comparing against this. I suspect that it will also have the problems with balance that I describe with the Eastpak, but that seems to be an inevitable consequence of this type of design.

*Update 1: I have just used this for a 4-day stay in London. It has been on Wiltshire's bad pavements, London pavements, First Great Western luggage racks, and the London underground - including a nightmare transfer at Oxford Circus during the rush-hour. I have downgraded it from 5 stars to 4 and you will see why in a moment. Right away, though, let me applaud the wheels: this is remarkably quiet! Almost silent as these things go. (My 40-litre Berghaus Optimus has heads turning 100 metres away from the station.)

*Original review: Overall this is a great product. It is a 77-litre (Eastpak figures) holdall on wheels: high on space, low on features such as internal or external straps to keep your stuff in place. (A cheap luggage strap from Amazon fixed the latter point.) It fitted well on First Great Western overhead racks. In fact, it fitted better than my 70-litre Jansport, because the Jansport's wheeled end has *deeper* stiffening which pushes up against the carriage roof, leaving around 15cm of the bag overhanging.

That's another way of saying that the Eastpak has *shallower* stiffening at the wheeled end. As a result it *will not* stand upright by itself and falls over onto its 'stomach'. (On reading other reviews of this type of luggage this appears to be inevitable with wheeled holdalls.) The only way you can keep it upright is to hang onto it or lean the 'stomach' against something, in which mode it will stay at around 80 degrees, even during braking and acceleration on the Bakerloo line. However, retrieving it from 'leaning' mode is a bit fiddly because the centre of gravity is way off and you have to fight to shift the bag while its wheels threaten to carry it all away. In addition, the two handles (wheeled end & handle end, none at the sides) are attached to the flexible fabric that forms the 'stomach'. As you lift the luggage to put it on an overhead rack, the fabric takes up the slack before movement begins and you find your arms at full upward stretch with less 'lift' than you expected. The same problem makes it hard to carry the bag on (or off) a train. Not insuperable barriers, but they make living with this on a cross-London haul less than perfect. The long shoulder/carry straps attached to the front of the flexible 'stomach' work fine, although I am glad I had also wrapped a strap around the bag to take some of the stress off the 'stomach' material.

Compared with my 70-litre Jansport, this is definitely not as easy to manoeuvre and 'live with' on a trip, especially one with changes of station and peak-hour standing. That is why I award 4 stars. If you are going direct from A to B and want to pack the max in a pretty compact and weather-tolerant bag with great wheels and superb build quality, you can regard it as a 5 star solution, especially (a) if you can live with its usability problems, and (b) if you can find it at the discounted prices that Amazon sometimes pops up for a few days at a time.

*Summary: This is a basic load space on wheels: no frills, but mucho capacity - 77 litres according to the Eastpak UK website. There are no refinements, such as load retention straps, but it's pretty obvious what you are getting. At the offer price (as of 7 March 2013) you get amazing value for money and Eastpak legendary build quality. (At the time this was cheaper than the 40-litre Berghaus Optimus!) The basic structure is reasonably compact, although it will bulge out like a 'stomach' as you load it up. The base end is stiffened to some extent, but has no rubbery studs or 'stands' at the front to keep it stable when upright. The inside surface of the fabric has a rubbery feel. The leaflets attached to the bag suggest that it is weather tolerant. The dark check fabric isn't too loud or 'cheesy': as a bloke I feel fine being seen out with it. If you can get it at an offer price, this looks like an amazing buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Sports)
this bag is ideal for me. well made and easy to put the handle up. The straps are comfortable to carry on your shoulder and over all the fabric and zips are of a nice quality. highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant bag!, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Sports)
I wasn't sure about investing in a quality bag, but i'm really pleased I did. It's a great size and it feels sturdy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb kit, 29 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Luggage)
Excellent make - quality and robust. We own loads as there lengthy guarentee is unmatched. Arrived promptly and Amazon had th best price by far. Would not hesitate to buy others if necessary - but they last so long I doubt we'll ever need too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Sports)
Perfect, strong , light and the wheels are quiet. A seperate compartment to divide contents would make it 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy, robust and simple just the ticket for a ..., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Sports)
This case looks,feels as it is.
Sturdy,robust and simple just the ticket for a trip to sunny shores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant piece of luggage, 13 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Eastpak Container 65 Bag (Luggage)
This arrived in super-quick time. My son is delighted and looking forward to using this on various camps and trips. It's really lightweight and clearly well manufactured - exactly what I would expect from Eastpak. The zips are substantial, the handles strong and the base protected with runners. The side zipper will be great for books and snacks and the ability to carry, wheel along using the grab handle or wheel along with the extending handle means that, depending on how heavy it is, you can transport to suit yourself. When empty, it collapses down to the base making it easy to store. A fantastic product at the best price I have seen anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eastpak Container 65 Bag
£55.49 - £149.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews