Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars86
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£14.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 15 December 2014
I would loved to be able to rate this box set as a five star item, however, it just falls short for me because I feel season four really lets the rest of the show down. There isn't a happy ending..... If you pardon the pun. For me the fourth season was akin to pulling teeth and oh so much darker than the first three seasons where there was plenty of whit and comedy. Okay there are light moments in season four but on the whole it's so upsetting to see such a great happy go lucky series go into that place no one wants it to go.
You cannot fault the acting of anyone in the show from the one time apperences to the whole cast that are along for all four seasons. Belle, er Billy Piper is a knock out performer and really shows how natural an actress is, it's a shame she is so under used in TV and film. The actor who plays Ben is also amazing and the pairing of the lead players was superb. Season fours last scene had me in tears as the two met up on the embankment. The acting was outstanding full of feeling and real.
This is for the main part quite a jolly box set and really although you have to consider the subject matter it's all rather tasteful and up market, much like Belle would have been I guess. It's just a shame it tried to get too serious in season four, I wanted there to be a happy ending......
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 28 June 2011
Literally this show was my favourite show on TV and I thought that the ending was absolutely superb and did the series complete justice. However disappointingly in the DVD box set on the final episode they changed the music from actual songs to made up musical interludes and it was really bloody distracting. In the final scene on TV they played Adele Someone like you and it was amazing and they even changed that! Am so disappointed I feel like I've been cheated they show one thing on TV and another on the box set. I felt like the songs for the final episode had been carefully and brilliantly selected but in the box set just used as wall paper. Great series, great ending, shame about the music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 1 May 2013
Secret diary of a call girl

It's a topic we all talk about. A subject that we're afraid to talk about. A taboo, a unique idea that we all think about but often feel unable to talk about.

Based on Belle De Jour's novels, Secret diary of a call girl is a full blown intimate and sexcapade that is quite honestly, brilliant.

Forget your 50 shades of Grey, this British programme brought about a whole new wave of sex and the boundaries which we cover and don't cover and will open your eyes into lives that you had heard about, never fully believed, but will blow your mind with every episode.

Billie Piper portrays Belle De Jour, a high class London call girl, living the high life with the nice apartment, the trendy attire and when it comes down to business, she is well equipped and professional to go toe to toe with the strangers of the night.

For those already presuming this is going to be sleazy and cheap with plenty of sex, nudity and general degrading remarks and one liners, my friend, you have no idea.

Released in 2007 and finishing in 2011 this 4 season hit compiles the intimate, dramatic and frequently funny accounts of Belle, a confident professional wrapped deeply in her job as a call girl, battling the ever demanding pressures of keeping secrets from friends and family, working professionally despite personal dramas and as ever, often meeting a certain man who makes her feel that little bit different.

Piper gives Belle a wonderful confidence that shines right through to the viewers at home, the male viewers won't be complaining too much. It's not simply the skimpy clothes and raunchy seductive sex scenes, but the confidence of the character, the idea of her being special is always there and Piper never wavers. Her story is wonderfully told and we get an insight into her character through her camera facing turns, giving us her insights into the business and into her emotional connections.

Whilst each season has a serious guy in Belle's life and this can feel slightly mundane at points, its the dirty little secrets of the business you'll be hooked to, exploring the client's fantasises, seeing how the money changes hands, how call girls interact with one another and the fun they have with their clients and the drama that goes alongside the demanding profession.

Some great moments include wrestling turn-ons, movie portrayals, book scripting, fancy dress parties and exploration of various fantasies (fantastic James Bond montage)

The diversity of the show is constantly shifting from simple location shots to exploring America to the darkness of clubs and the seedy realism of the human spirit is frequently mesmerizing. The fact the camera shifts from Belle in her moment to her facing the camera and giving us some cheeky quote or divulging some intriguing business information, this invites us right into the story.

But the bottom line is that this is a programme about sex. A programme that does not shy away from the nature of what it is, what we desire, how we tackle it in relationships, how we deceive others and how we crave that erotic fantasy and a feeling of freedom from reality.

There is no nonsense, any question you have will be answered and portrayed here. There is a lot of nudity, a lot of flirting and innuendos, and graphic bedroom scenes that justify the nature of the industry and indeed, life. Always enjoyable and frequently jaw dropping, Secret diary will invite you into the secret world of an industry and will open your eyes to those ideas and possibilities you were always uncertain about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 June 2015
Not one extended member or its recipient on show. But, this erotic series does border on the pornographic.
As an old codger, I thought it started off crude and vulgar, then, as the series progressed a storyline evolved.
Billie Piper puts plenty of enthusiasm into this acting role as a prostitute/escort called Belle. And how it interacts with her private (but worldly wise) life as Hannah. We see the nubile Billie Piper (a sight to behold) 95% naked in many of the episodes. A few familiar faces also appear throughout the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 18 June 2011
The first couple of seasons are good enough but during the third we saw "Sex & The City" creeping in. By the fourth season Billie's wearing hideous clothes and carrying her handbag at 90 degrees from her body. She's obsessed with clothes and shoes (where she hadn't been up to now) and even tip-toes around her closet - very Carrie Bradshaw.

In the final season we skipped episodes 4.3 and 4.4. John Hopkins - the movie producer - was trying ever so hard to be Matthew McConaughey (and he certainly isn't) and the scenes in America were just unbearable.

In summary, this is a good series that goes downhill towards the end, but lifts slightly in the final couple of episodes. By all means, buy this box-set but keep your finger on the FF button.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 24 March 2013
I only ever remembered Billie Piper for her singing career (cheesey pop songs) but after watching the whole box set over four nights I will never see her in the same light again. Amazing series just wish it went on and on, good little actress and suprised she's don't been in more films. Great box set sexy, sad, funny and much much more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 March 2013
What a GREAT TV Show! Billie Piper is FLAWLESS as Belle. But this show has one of the most abrupt endings EVER! I was really disappointed. Nether the less, it's COMEDY GOLD!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 February 2012
Greatly recieved birthday present. All discs work perfectly in playstation 2, dvd player and laptop. Disc box perfect. Delivered quickly and safely. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2013
I think i watched this box set like 20 times in one night, When I first show the show on the tele and I just had to get the box set. another on to the collection.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 January 2013
Bought as a gift, this person was always going on about Bille Piper so was a well received present, and they will have hrs of enjoyment re-watching all the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.