Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars14
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
6
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£8.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2011
I bought this game for my wife after seeing a video review on TV. I didnt expect much of a game for the price, under £11, but as she loves all the platforming and collecting games, it was worth a gamble. Well worth a gamble, in fact this clever colour changing, mission based roaming epic is violence free fun.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
Colorful. Really colorful game!

Going through the first level I was really excited and surprised - this was so relaxing and nice game. It turned out that slowly it became more and more boring as everything was too repetitive, even if new actions were introduced.

So, what is good and not so good here?

Good
* Original gameplay, not a standard shooter nor cartoon game that we see around. However, I found out today that there was one game that was released somewhere in 2009 and that had pretty much similar idea - Katamari Forever. You might have a look at it if you really enjoy Blob (quality might not be that nice maybe..)
* Awesome colors, awesome graphics. Rainbow colors, crystal clear and nice. Pleasure for the eyes.
* Flawless movement of camera. It moves well, no sudden jumps, no chaotic views, very relaxing.
* The game itself is very positive and sets you in a positive mood. No blood...
* Easy and comfortable gameplay.
* Even if it says "Move controller", it works with simple gamepad perfectly. I prefer gamepad as control over Blob is much easier and comfy.

Not so good

* Even if it is highly addictive, it is pretty much repetitive, so towards the middle of the game you might start be sleepy or bored (my case). Good remedy: play it in short sets.
* Large levels. I would have preferred many short levels than few huge ones, there would be more dynamics and it would not be so boring. It takes hours to do everything to complete a single level.
* Just a guess: I think this might not be suited for color-blind people, as the gameplay requires to paint objects in specific colors.

To conclude, I think this is a very good game out of ordinary for children or big children. Must have for your collection with no doubt at this price but use with caution.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
A wonderful antidote from frustratingly realistic racing or blood drenched shooters, De Blob 2 is great fun with entertaining cut scenes, plenty of action, a silly but engaging story line and great music to top it off. Slightly irritating camera control puts it down to 4 stars from 5 in my opinion, but I'd recommend this to young and old.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
The game concept is fairly interesting (albeit plundered from Super Mario Sunshine/Prince of Persia 2008) and involves roaming around restoring colour to the game's inhabitants and buildings across 12 levels. It looks fantastic for the most part and the controls seem decent. At first, it's very enjoyable and seems to work fine although as you progress, you become increasingly aware of the INCREDIBLY poor saving system.
To complete all primary and secondary objectives then collect everything (minimum of 100 collectibles per level) takes approximately two hours and there is no way to manually save. The game will only save at the end of the main objectives and then once more after finishing the level. Of course, any game will have it's fair share of bugs but when you can't save manually, a crash can be devastating. Unfortunately, with my copy at least, the game keeps crashing. First the music cuts in and out before cutting off completely then, after a while, Blob will get STUCK. Not even on scenery. He'll literally just stop suddenly leaving me unable to do anything. Once I give up and select quit game, the screen goes black and crashes my PS3. I now have no choice but to give up and play something else.

It's a shame as this game did seem fun so hopefully you won't suffer the same problems as I did.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
Just finished this game. Great fun painting everything and saving all the Graydians. The more you paint and rescue the people from Corporation INKT, the more the music swells. I had fabulous fun playing this game and would heartily recommend it, especially given the low price.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a very bright, colourful and polished game but those looking for a cheeky platinum in a weekend may be sorely disappointed. Controls (I used the Move + Nav controller) are excellent and you are soon up and running (and rolling and bouncing) seconds in from the start. However as another reviewer mentioned the levels are very big and have no checkpoints so if you have go to work/school/bed/the dentist half way through you lose your progress. They are also timed which makes it harder than expected so you will have to knock the difficulty down to easy for kids as the much-needed time bonuses can be tricky to find.

The storyline is actually quite deep and dark with the dictator Comrade Blank enforcing greyness on his brainwashed citizens and only you (de Blob) and possibly Pinky standing in his way to bring colour and happiness to the population. Kids will just gloss over this though and it's unlikely to case them too many sleepless nights especially once they have brought colour and life to their cities. There is some top-notch Jak and Daxter (Precursor Legacy) style platforming to be had here and you'll need a sensitive thumb on the nav controller to make some of the tricky jumps to get those high up collectables. Talking of which there are hundreds of those to be had but combined with the story length of the levels this can become a huge chore after a while and blob-fatigue can soon set in.

Overall though it's a bright, colourful and quirky platformer that makes great use of the Move though the six-axis can be used also. Worth a punt for a tenner but the level length, repetition and trickiness may put kids off and I can't recommend it above the Lego series of games.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 June 2015
Slow delivery, took nearly 2 weeks with amazon prime 1 day delivery!!!!! expected delivery date kept being put back. However the game was worth waiting for.
Others have written long reviews of the game, which I cannot better - especailly Mrs V. My feelings about it, this is one of those fun games you play to relax and without a great deal of hard thought. Suitable for most ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
The idea behind this is good, and it's quite fun to play for a while, but really only in short bursts as the central mechanic is all there is to it. Add to that the fact that after the first few the levels do go on and on, it outlasts its welcome before the game is half way through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Put simply: it is fiendishly addictive, simple to play, easy to love and beautiful to look at.

It is hard to compare this game to other adult titles as it is quite obviously an educational video game for young gamers. However do not let this put you off, I am a hardcore f12010, gt5, moto gp, dirt3, call of duty, gta kind of guy and i absolutely love this game.

De Blob 2 combines pure gaming fun, in the vein of Sonic or Mario, and although the game is ridiculously easy there is never a dull moment, I guarantee you a good entertaining week or so.

Definitely one to buy if you have kids or, as others have said, if the girlfriend wants to play a game...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Great game, child friendly certainly. Has some good ideas to it making it fun, it's a bright colourful game made brighter during play. Gave an extra star for the price, delivery and all round enjoyment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)