Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful symphonic prog
This band first came to me notice with their album 'Night' which is still one of my all time favourite albums.
This is by and large laid back symphonic prog, creating a wonderful wall of sound, as a canvas for the lead singers mournful voice. Not unlike Steve Hogarth of Marillion, or even Muse.
This is a concept album telling the story of a man living alone in...
Published on 23 April 2011 by Stephen Mourton

versus
2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars radiohead wannabes
If your idea of neo prog is Radiohead...you will love this...if you prefer Marillion avoid this like the plague.....just like Thom and co this is dull as dishwater and twice as bland.
Published on 21 May 2011 by alek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful symphonic prog, 23 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Missa Atropos (Audio CD)
This band first came to me notice with their album 'Night' which is still one of my all time favourite albums.
This is by and large laid back symphonic prog, creating a wonderful wall of sound, as a canvas for the lead singers mournful voice. Not unlike Steve Hogarth of Marillion, or even Muse.
This is a concept album telling the story of a man living alone in isolation in a lighthouse and trying to write a mass for the goddess Atropos.
The mass is represented by three short instrumental tracks inter weaved with song based tracks. Beautifully written and great late night listening.
Fans of Marillion in there gentler moments will love this, but it does not mean they don't rock when they want to.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gazpacho.complete class.again, 18 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missa Atropos (Audio CD)
i have only discovered gazpacho in the past few months and have been picking up all the albums .Tick Tock is one of the best albums i have heard in a long time i have been buying music for a long time and find i keep going back to playing Tick Tock.have now picked up new cd.Missa Atropos/which is superb if slightly darker once again i must remark on the vocals by .jan henrik ohme who is an amazing vocalist .keep up the good work music only gets better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great album - 4 1/2 stars, 21 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Missa Atropos (Audio CD)
I have been spoilt with the brilliance of Tick Tock and the earlier albums. I expected and wanted a similar sound in this new release and didn't get it. Shorter tracks that sometimes seem to end before they get started and don't somehow reach the heights the other albums do. I think I am being over harsh and again, as with all their albums, I need to work at it. The quality is there and the voice is superb. I am sure it will eventually impress me as much as the other albums and deserve 5 stars. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine stuff from Gazpacho - best served, er... hot., 31 Mar 2011
By 
Eddy H (Cheshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Missa Atropos (Audio CD)
I owned Gazpacho's 'Firebird' album for about three years after seeing them a few times when they supported Marillion. I just could not get into it until, suddenly, the penny dropped! Now it's one of my very favourite albums. The point I am making is that Gazpacho are slow burners, needing an investment of time to savour. 'Tick Tock' was the next purchase; wow, what a great album. Gazpacho are a fine band. And so to this latest piece. I really think it is excellent. As other reviewers have said some tracks end seemingly prematurely, but it is a very impessive album. If I have one gripe it is the sliding fingers on the guitar strings that punctuate the album with regular monotony. We are all familiar with it, the chord change that requires a slide along the strings, but I have never heard it so strident and loud elsewhere as on this album, it is very distracting. Just listen to the first 30 seconds or so of track 4: Ouch!! It is painful. Surely this could have been edited, it is so distracting? That apart, this is a superb album, and again in common with other Gazpacho reviewers, I cannot understand why this band is not (yet) as fully appreciated as they should be. Well worth investing a few quid in!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gazpacho are a best-kept Norwegian secret!, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missa Atropos (Audio CD)
Loved this album from the first listening. Have a great liking for Gazpacho anyway, but this album completely fulfilled hopes and expectations. Beautiful tracks, all of them. We need more bands like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars missa atropos, 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: Missa Atropos (Audio CD)
There is some critcism about this album but after lusten 3 times i must see i love it.it's different than the previous album tick tock,more symphonic or call it darker prog rock.it's a real exciting album songs such as river,missa atropos en splendid isolation are delightfully songs beatifully sung by ohme what a fantastic voice.keep on going gazpacho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars radiohead wannabes, 21 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missa Atropos (Audio CD)
If your idea of neo prog is Radiohead...you will love this...if you prefer Marillion avoid this like the plague.....just like Thom and co this is dull as dishwater and twice as bland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Missa Atropos
Missa Atropos by Gazpacho (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews