Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure enjoyment
It is amazing how much enjoyment you can get into a low budget film like this, but really this is absurdly enjoyable. The premise is quite limited - partly by the budget - so that only one location is used, but the camera work is so lively and well lit, so imaginative, that you don't feel this is a limitation at all. The dialogue is very funny, and the actors throw...
Published on 3 Mar. 2012 by schumann_bg

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A game of two halves ...
From other reviews here and on other websites, this film seems to create strong reactions - some love it and others hate it! But I wasn't so strongly affected either way...
I'm not sure what Rikki Beadle-Blair (who I'd never previously heard of before but his name is credited with acting, writing,directing, producing, music & making the tea) was aiming for here...
Published on 23 Dec. 2011 by Happy Ending Seeker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure enjoyment, 3 Mar. 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
It is amazing how much enjoyment you can get into a low budget film like this, but really this is absurdly enjoyable. The premise is quite limited - partly by the budget - so that only one location is used, but the camera work is so lively and well lit, so imaginative, that you don't feel this is a limitation at all. The dialogue is very funny, and the actors throw themselves into the project and play off each other brilliantly. The whole thing is very camp, and football has almost nothing to do with it, which is just as well as far as I am concerned, as I find the game very boring. I imagine many viewers might feel the same who would be drawn to this film, but that's not to say that football fans won't love it too! Rikki Beadle-Blair has really brought off something amazing here, both is the writing and direction, and his own acting in the role of foster parent to one of the players. He manages to fill every scene with such unbridled campery and fun. It is sexy to look at, too, I thought, with plenty of eye candy on both teams, but this too is admirably diverse, showing that attractiveness comes in all shapes and sizes, clad in fuschia shorts, or blue ... The fact that the blue team don't realise that they are playing against a gay team is one of the delights of the whole escapade, when it is so obvious. As a tribute to Justin Fashanu it is both touching and absolutely right. All in all it is beyond doubt this is the best film about sport that's ever been made - and quite a bit more than just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful game, 14 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
"KickOff" comes from a long line of gay-themed sports films (or should that be sport-themed gay films?), but the difference is "KickOff" actually works (I'm looking at you, "The Broken Hearts Club").

I could kick any number of superlatives into the back of the net (ahem) - funny, sexy, slick - but none could do justice to this razor sharp masterpiece. Similarly, I could single out any of the brilliant cast who all somehow manage to be outrageously sexy and funny, but we'd still end up with a tie. Funniest gag, best laugh-out-loud line? Too hard.

A good many of us will find football a huge turn-off, but Beadle-Blair uses its bag of kit - literally, the kit, WAGs, even the "soccer Mom" - to huge comic effect. This is a film about people, not soccer.

And it looks stunning: colourful, vibrant, and absolutely bouncing with energy... It shouldn't matter, but there's nothing of the amateur indie about this feature (i.e. bad sound, bad lighting, dodgy direction. I'm looking at you "Finding Me: Truth"). "KickOff" is definitely in the premier league: buff, sinewy, sexy and primed for action.

With a huge heart and soul, it's clearly a labour of love by all involved. The film's writer and director Rikki Beadle-Blair is the brightest star in British filmmaking today - let's just hope that the Americans don't pinch our star player.

The film ends with the promise of a rematch. That's one sequel I'd gladly pay good money to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a fun gay movie.

Set around an amateur football match between an all gay team, and a rough and ready straight team, the film amusingly tries to debunk stereotypes of macho footballers, and also cleverly intertwines the various team members lives.

The team members include a drug addict, a father not relating to his illegitimate son, an illegal immigrant on the run from the police, a pumped up steroid taking muscle boy, a camp pretty boy and his wannabee ambitious girlfriend, an over-bearing gay parent with an adopted Chinese son and so on.

Trying to control the group is a hapless referee.

Low budget, but well made and full of funny lines and situations, I really enjoyed this film.
It is light-hearted but does touch on issues like football macho men, bullying, and standing up for your rights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A game of two halves ..., 23 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
From other reviews here and on other websites, this film seems to create strong reactions - some love it and others hate it! But I wasn't so strongly affected either way...
I'm not sure what Rikki Beadle-Blair (who I'd never previously heard of before but his name is credited with acting, writing,directing, producing, music & making the tea) was aiming for here. Camp farce or sermonising "it's great to be gay" .. or perhaps something in between?
Like most low budget films it has a sprinkling of good acting, a fair splash of OK acting and a dollop of really awful acting. However, the production values (sound, lighting, etc) are above-average. There are some really funny lines & sight gags in this film, but sadly there are an equal number of naff OTT moments too!
I think there's a worthwhile message about not being ashamed to be gay and also that you don't have to try to be like everyone else or "normal", i.e. being a twirly queenie is ok too if that's who you are ... Problem I had was there seemed to be an implication that being gay meant you actually MUST be a twirly queenie ( so I may have to give my membership card back?)
I also liked that they gave the "straight" team as much air-time & plot/character development as the "gay" team. I didn't like that neither team could actually play football for toffee! Should have either given the actors more training or spent less camera time on them "playing" - cos they were all really rubbish at it!
Conclusion? I didn't pay very much for my copy and on that basis it was entertaining enough ... haven't decided yet if it's a keeper for my collection or not though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kick Off Scores!, 12 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
Let me get this out up front: I do NOT like football. However this film is NOT just about football, it's about a whole lot of other things and knowing Rikki Beadle Blair's work in FIT (also available on DVD) I was not disappointed; it met all my expectations and even ticked a few more boxes for me.

Two teams, both alike in dignity (!) in fair London where we lay our scene from a new grudge...okay you get the drift..I'm not going to give the plot away, but it's enough to say a hard team meets a gay team in five-a-side football. I missed this at the IRIS prize G & L Film Festival in Cardiff last year and now wish I hadn't because Rikki and the cast were there.

There is a lot of debate at present about gays in sport and not being able to come out, especially in football. But it's not just about football, it's about people and their right to be themselves,no matter who that may be, and our opportunity to celebrate them. No character comes out as all saint or all sinner, this film is grounded in reality, and it's a credit to Rikki's writing that and directing (he even composed the music)none of the characters are 'tokens'. Kick Off does for gays in football what FIT did for gays in schools and colleges. But it's not preachy, it really entertains whilst delivering a message; it certainly makes you laugh and it is thought provoking when dealing with how young kids see us older ones. You don't need to like football to enjoy this film but buy it and watch it and buy one for someone who does. The more football supporters see this film, the more chance there may be of one 'name' taking the stance made by heroes from other sports.
Rikki has dedicated this film to the memory Justin Fashinu, the only professional footballer ever to 'come out', and it does it with pride. Justin would've been proud; there's no greater recommendation than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gay football and a heart to boot!, 4 April 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
At last a film that does what it says on the box. I pre- ordered this a month a go and was hoping that it would meet half my expectations; it has done more than that.

The plot is pretty straightforward, in that a gay 5 a side football team wants to enter the Sunday Soccer league, but the `captain' is desperate to keep their gayness hidden. He has left it to his boyfriend to order the kit and he chooses pink (sorry fuscia!). In a fit of anger he tears off the tops of all the team, and things just get sexier from that point.

That is not a plot spoiler, as I kinda knew that was the point of the film. But what happens is a story of all of the participants, as they face up to the many demons that face them. We have fag hags, misplaced attraction, and a step dad who just wants to do the right thing. This is not a sex fuelled film, but more a study in relationships, and with a real south London twist.

To quote the cover the referee `Elton Glixton struggles to control this testosterone tsunami as rude boys meet bum boys in this outrageous new British comedy.' Whilst there is a lot of humour, there is so much more, and I really got more from this than I was expecting. I intend to watch again and cannot recommend this highly enough.

At 98 mins long this is not an epic but considering it is all about a footie match that lasts less than an hour; it is ruddy excellent. This is my favourite Peccadillo presentation since Summer sturm,Summer Storm [DVD] and a real one man effort in the shape of Rikki Beadle Blair, who wrote, produced and directed as well as acting in this little gem, you may remeber him from 'Fit',Fit (Double Sleeve Edition) [DVD] and a few of the cast from this too. He does the music too and whilst it could benefit from a better soundtrack, he makes a good fist of it (pun intended). Can not wait for his next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly dreadful, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
An astonishingly bad film. It appears to have been written and directed by a stag party of dagenham tyre fitters who once saw a carry on film and felt strangely drawn to the camp characters. I cannot understand how any gay man would not be gravely insulted by the cretinous characterisation and laughably bad acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful., 3 Mar. 2015
By 
J. Sinclair (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
I gave it a good twenty minutes but had to switch it off. It was unwatchable and I could summon up no interest in either the characters nor the plot. I often make a point of watching gay content films and more often than not they are terrible with only a handful of exceptions (Adam and Steve being one of the best).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-buy for 2011!, 25 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Kick-Off's very first performance, at the Riverside Studios, as a play. It was one of the funniest evenings I have ever had. I was nervous that the film may not live up to the live show, but my fears were misplaced; it is excellent!

As someone who is gay, and involved in football, I know how really important it is to break through the homophobia that still exists in many professional sports, including "the beautiful game". This film does that, by not just addressing the sexuality issue but also by delving into the personality of every character, straight or gay, and showing them as the person they are. It does this with humour and sincerity, and through a young cast who act very well.

I highly recommend this film, both for its entertainment value, and for its 'mission'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class. Following in a long line of British Independents, 7 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick Off [DVD] (DVD)
A great nights entertainment. 90 non stop minutes.It's a film that you really have to pause if you leave the room because every line is worth hearing, adds to the plot or is just very funny and delivered very well by the cast. It should have been difficult to make successfully because it all takes place on a 5 a side football pitch before and during a match. There is a very solid cast with everyone of the footballers on both sides having 'issues' - some dark and some very light i.e. a female stalker. The film is almost a 'real time' film as it rarely leaves the pitch. Very strong cast, strong script and will be around for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kick Off [DVD]
Kick Off [DVD] by Rikki Beadle Blair (DVD - 2011)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews