Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 20 February 2011
I have read a number of Elizabeth Hoyt's books before and particularly like her "Legend of the Four Soldiers" series, in my opinion Wicked Intentions is just as good if not better than that series. The character's, unlike in many historical romances are not perfect they have fault and problems, which together they over-come. The book is set in St. Giles one of london's slum, it centres around the characters of Temperance and Lord Caire , Temperance runs a home for orphans, set up by her dead father, Lord Caire asks her for help in searching for the murderer of his dead mistress.
The book has many twists and turns and the reader is given an insight into the lives of Temperance's family and also the Ton which Lord Caire is a member. Hoyt's characters are fleshed out and by the end of the book I was really routing for the two main characters, you are also given a tantalising hint at the characters who I hope will have there own books.
I would highly recommend this book if you have liked any of her previous books or are a fan of Mary Balogh or Lisa Kleypas.
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
I have read several of Elizabeth Hoyt's novels and enjoyed them. But it is clear her publisher has asked her to sex up this new series. This is a story of redemption and the description of the way the two protagonists start to feel affection, then love, for one another was touchingly described. Both of them keep dark secrets though his is pretty widely known among the ton. Temperance - not aptly named as she is the very opposite in bed! - meets her devilish Lord whose sexual perversions send him into the bowels of St Giles where her Home for Foundling Children is run. (If only your ancestors had kept their tenament, it would be worth a fortune today in Covent Garden!) On top of the love story there is a detective one as well - who is disembowelling prostitutes? (No, not Jack, he worked in the East End.) When action flags there are many descriptions of their lovemaking. If you like really detailed descriptions of near-porno sex, this is the book for you. I would have rated it higher if the author had concentrated on the love instead of the sex.
11 comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
I really enjoyed this book and hope the rest of the series lives up to this standard.

It is set in an earlier period than normal for this genre and as long as you ignore the various small historical inaccuracies, it is a really interesting story with some pleasing central character developments. It will also be good to see the supporting cast return as the series develops further.

Oh, and I loved the sex scenes!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I had a few reservations about the story, but on the whole enjoyed it very much. Maiden Lane is an address in the St. Giles district of London, not one of the best areas and known primarily as being the haunt of prostitutes, thieves and other persons of ill repute and ill intent. One large building there houses a foundling home which is run by Winter Makepeace and his older, widowed sister, Temperance, Mrs Dews.

St. Giles is not the sort of place a woman should be walking alone at night (unless she is plying her trade!) but the book opens with Temperance and her maidservant having gone out late to fetch a baby to the home, a baby who would otherwise be left on the streets to die. Or worse.

On their way back, they briefly encounter an incredibly striking, silver-haired man who appears to have been involved in some kind of altercation, but they do not stop to find out.

Later that night, with the baby safely desposited, and after being scolded for her recklessness by her brother, Temperance is startled to discover the same silver-haired man in her sitting room.

He is Lazarus, Lord Caire, a man with a less than savoury reputation when it comes to his sexual exploits, and who is known for having a heart of ice. To Temperance's surprise, the silver hair belies the fact that he is a man in his thirties, and a very attractive one at that.

Caire wants Temperance's help. He needs her knowledge of the St. Giles area and its people to help him to hunt down a murderer, and in return, he will introduce Temperance to members of the nobility to help her to find a wealthy patron for the home, which is in desperate financial straits.

I don't plan to re-hash the entire plot; there's a lot going on in this book, and there is a fairly large cast of characters, many of whom, like Godric St. John, Winter and Silence, will reappear throughout the series.

From the outset, there is a crackling sexual tension between Caire and Temperance, but both of them are haunted by events in their pasts which make an emotional closeness between them very difficult. Lazarus cannot bear the touch of another person and Temperance has a massive guilt complex about sex and her own sexual desires.

While I enjoyed the story , there were a few things that bugged me, one of which was to do with Caire's issues over being touched. Unless I misunderstood or missed something, the problem seemed to be wholly psychological and had lasted for much of his life - so it seemed rather convenient that with the "right woman" he was suddenly able to tolerate and then to welcome her touch. I'm not saying it's not possible. I just think it happened rather quickly. But then, this is a romantic novel after all, so...

And then there were Caire's (supposedly) dark and disgusting sexual preferences. At the risk of repeating myself - this is a romantic novel, after all... so how perverted could he possibly be?! The answer is - not much at all to be honest. And given the fact that he doesn't like to be touched, it's pretty obvious that his large stash of neck-cloths aren't all for use around his neck ;-)

And as for Temperance. She'd been married for a couple of years, and while her husband may not have been especially inventive in bed, she's experienced and, on the surface, appears to be comfortable with her sexuality. But as Caire eventually divines, sex, for her, is some kind of penance - she associates it with her husband's death and she doesn't see it as something to be enjoyed between two loving people, but as something shameful. When we find out just why she has that idea, it once again seems rather far-fetched that she could have been blaming herself so much for something that happened so long ago.

On the whole, the book was well-written and I thought the relationships between all the characters were skilfully established and well-embedded. The central romance between the dissolute lord and the demure widow was tender and very sexy - the sexual tension is scorching and when it bubbles over... *fans self*. I particularly liked the way that Lazarus opened up gradually to the possibility that he could actually care for someone and that in the end, it was he who made the first move and was prepared to take the risk that comes with loving another person.

One final quibble. I really don't like when, in books that are part of a series, too much time is spent away from the central couple in terms of establishing the set-up for the next or a future story. Whenever I get to the part in Devil in Winter in which Daisy and Cam have their snogging session in the basement of the club, I flick through it or fast forward, and I can see me doing the same here in future readings or listenings. It's not that I'm not interested in the other characters, I just don't want time taken away from the ones I'm invested in at that particular moment.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
As soon as I read this, book number 1 I bought the whole series. Each book is connected by character, although each book does stand alone and tells its own story. I read them one after the other - great. Typical historical romance escapism - highly unlikely in reality (I should think) but great entertainment! I believe there is another book in the pipeline for this series and I will be buying it when it is available.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
It's been a while that I have been interested enough in a book of this genre to read it the whole way through. Elizabeth Hoyt has done a good job with this one, good introduction of secondary characters and nice to see the heroines are not the box standard virgins but more mature women. I didn't buy into the motive of the murderer, it was the weakest part of the book but otherwise an entertaining read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
As is often in this genre this novel is one of a series. The books are competently written and fulfil the expectations of the genre and I've enjoyed the ones I've read. I bought five of these books before I lost interest when the characters began to blur and I began to feel repetitiveness creeping in.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Superbly written, not the usually georgian romance/mystery. There was a surreal yet real quality to the characters
Though I feel the poem extracts at the beginning of each chapter had little impact to the story. Can't wait to read the next t book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
I liked this quite a lot, found the charactersations to be good, and the romance thrilling. It's the best of the bunch — while I do really like following characters onwards, the rest of the series dwindled out for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
this was my first kindle book. couldn't put it down. elizabeth hoyt is a very good writer made me feel like i was actually witnessing the events in the story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.