Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Mole Required
The Mole section takes up the bulk of the book and covers a five-year period. It begins in December 1984, when he's 16years old and is studying for his A-Levels. (He's obviously been reasonably successful in his O-Levels and CSEs, then). However, it's a little different in style to the 'The Secret Diary' and 'The Growing Pains' - it's only partly written in diary format,...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by Craobh Rua

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars didn't enjoy this one at all
Having read the previous two Adrian Mole books, I came to this as the next in the series. Sorry, but I didn't really get why the format had suddenly changed into being the diaries of three different people. I was questioning it as I was reading along, and found myself skipping pages. It's a short read too, not worth the money.
Published on 27 April 2012 by andsotobed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Haha, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
Sorry but not as funny as the others. I've never read this one, glad I have though. Still say you need to read in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
Sue does it again. I feel I have an empathy for this character, constantly fighting against the world and all it's problems.
Very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars books, 20 Feb 2012
unhappy with delay in recieving product but quality and packaging were top class.an effortless and highly entertaining read moles world is informative cultured and frank whilst remaining realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like this because there was so little Adrian Mole I ..., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't like this because there was so little Adrian Mole I didn't get even half way through the Sue Townsend diary and didn't touch the Margret Thatcher diary's! I just skipped to the wilderness years you aren't even missing much to be honest you could skip this book and read wilderness years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a gem for Sue's own diary and Margaret Thatcher!, 18 Mar 2008
By 
Morena - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
OK, the little clips and letters that make up the Adrian Mole part of the book are a bit far-flung and lacking in structure, although what is 'mediocre' in Sue Townsend terms is still 'genius' in general terms, in my humble opinion, and still worth a read.

However, this volume also includes a hilarious little diary of the young Margaret Thatcher - exaggerated and unsympathetic, but very skilful nonetheless. There are some thinly disguised Tory politicians of the day (or so I assume, having been at playgroup at the time the book was written) in it, but even if you don't know the political scene of the 80s well, like I don't, you should still find it completely laugh-out-loud funny.

It also includes Sue Townsend's own accounts of a solo holiday to Majorca, and a trip to communist Russia. Very witty, with some nicely observed little vignettes, and also kind of wistful. A lovely accompaniment to the fictional diaries, and no less amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real-life facts, humour to the full extent..., 4 Jan 2000
By A Customer
I find this book to be one of the best comedy's I have read (considering i'm only thirteen years of age). I feel it is more "bona fide" (with Pandora and him breaking off the relationship & the unsucessfulness of his writing career.Amazing, I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Young lifestyle, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rip roaringly funny account of the young Adrian Mole's lifestyle, and the problems he has to share with his family and fairly new girlfriend, Pandora Braithwaite..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Unusual Entry in the Series, 30 Aug 2009
By 
I had the feeling, as I settled in to reading True Confessions of Adrian Albert Mole, that Sue Townsend had a number of ideas for sequences, but none of them quite fit into a full-length novel. Thus this entry. That's not a complaint, but the book is not entirely Adrian, and Adrian's sequences skip spaces of time. Those expecting an "All Adrian" entry in the series may be disappointed.

The book starts just about where the second one left off, and then segues into essays set up as radio broadcasts, permeated with Adrian's trademark self-delusion. Then Sue Townsend offers several pieces based on her own life, the most amusing being about her love of England. The third segment consists of a "newly-discovered" set of diary pages from one Margaret Hilda Roberts. The conceit is that they are undated, but are suspected to be from the early years of WWII. This is the weakest portion of the book, because Margaret is tremendously unlikeable and the writing lacks the humor that infuses Adrian's sequences. Finally, the funniest sequence is a letter from a mysterious citizen asking for help in getting people to like her. This piece is sheer brilliance, and if it fit in no other book, I'm glad Ms. Townsend released this one so that she'd have a way for us to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series of books, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
A really good book and i would strongly recommend buying the others to read. The book its self was fine and as booky as a book can be :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recipient very pleased., 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as gift, recipient very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews