Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Mole Required
The Mole section takes up the bulk of the book and covers a five-year period. It begins in December 1984, when he's 16years old and is studying for his A-Levels. (He's obviously been reasonably successful in his O-Levels and CSEs, then). However, it's a little different in style to the 'The Secret Diary' and 'The Growing Pains' - it's only partly written in diary format,...
Published on 20 Oct. 2009 by Craobh Rua

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars didn't enjoy this one at all
Having read the previous two Adrian Mole books, I came to this as the next in the series. Sorry, but I didn't really get why the format had suddenly changed into being the diaries of three different people. I was questioning it as I was reading along, and found myself skipping pages. It's a short read too, not worth the money.
Published on 27 April 2012 by andsotobed


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Mole Required, 20 Oct. 2009
The Mole section takes up the bulk of the book and covers a five-year period. It begins in December 1984, when he's 16years old and is studying for his A-Levels. (He's obviously been reasonably successful in his O-Levels and CSEs, then). However, it's a little different in style to the 'The Secret Diary' and 'The Growing Pains' - it's only partly written in diary format, and it also includes a spot of poetry, his talks given on radio and a couple of letters between Adrian and Barry Kent. (Barry is, for a spell, residing at Her Majesty's Pleasure and has now learnt how to read and write. He's now writing some poetry and - unlike the crap Adrian produces - it's actually quite promising. He's even known as Baz the Skinhead Poet in certain circles). Adrian is also still corresponding with his American penpal, Hamish Mancini - at one point, he has ask Hamish for the return of his diaries. While the book sees some big changes in Adrian 's life, some things have remain constant : he still enjoys reading 'The Beano', is still obsessed with the Norwegian Leather Industry and his love for Pandora Braithwaite. (Pandora, on the other hand, is possibly starting to catch herself about Adrian . Where Adrian deludes himself that he's an intellectual, Pandora is academically gifted...so, the pair's post A-Level life might just prove a little strained).

The Sue Townsend and Margaret Roberts sections are much shorter than the Mole section - though the Sue Townsend section follows a similar format to what has come before. There's a diary from a two week holiday in Majorca, a brief report covering a trip to Russia with a group of other writers and a couple of pages on why she likes England. The Margaret Roberts slot, on the other hand, follows the 'traditional' Mole diary format. (While nothing is officially known of what happened to Ms Roberts, it can only be a coincidence that Margaret Thatcher's maiden name was Roberts). Our heroine is obscenely hard working at school and - like her father, a hard working grocer - she frowns upon socialists. (She particularly despises two disgusting working-class oiks called Ginger Shinnock and Roy Batterfree). She doesn't have many friends - only, really, a renegade boyfriend called Cecil Parkhurst - and she frowns upon Edwina Slurry, her main rival at school. (She also has some trouble with a horrible, working class cyclist with shifty eyes called Tebbit). While a fortune teller claims Margaret is going to be most powerful woman in the land, there is also trouble ahead.

I've slightly mixed feelings about this book...more from Adrian Mole is always a good thing, but somehow cramming five years into half a book seems a bit of a waste. I also would have preferred another Adrian Mole diary - the change in style didn't really work so well for me. (The Margaret Roberts diary, on the other hand, I did enjoy a great deal). Strangely, it was Townsend's own section I liked the least, although I'm not entirely sure why...Recommended overall, but not in the same league as the first two Mole books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars didn't enjoy this one at all, 27 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
Having read the previous two Adrian Mole books, I came to this as the next in the series. Sorry, but I didn't really get why the format had suddenly changed into being the diaries of three different people. I was questioning it as I was reading along, and found myself skipping pages. It's a short read too, not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit awkward really!, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
Ok so the book started out ok but then it changed to a different person whom I don't know, then it changed to another different person whom was totally weird and sounded like she came from the 1800's! I'm way too confused I thought the book was called Adrian Mole, not 'Adrian More and Others', just confusing! It could have been better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but too disjointed, 9 Jan. 2015
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a rather unusual volume, consisting of three entirely separate sections. It begins with Adrian Mole, featuring some diary entries and other pieces of writing, which bear the hallmarks of the series more generally. He's left school and is trying to find his way in the world, with varying success. Next comes extracts from Townend's own diary - witty in places. Finally, fictional childhood diaries of Margaret Hilda Roberts - a satirical swipe at Mrs Thatcher, which are heavily barbed. Each section is interesting and amusing, but none is long enough to get really engrossed in, and the book as a whole doesn't hang together very clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STRANGE, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
What's with the layout????? What is the point of having the different people as well as Adrian mole as specially as they are not apart of his life. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confusing book, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
Ive read a few of the Adrian Mole books and always find them funny and easy to read. This one however was an absolute disappointment when the sstory just skipped from Adrians diary to Susans diary. It felt like starting a book then putting it down and starting another. Not sure what the purpose of this was and i eventually gave u reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars None, 18 Dec. 2012
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
terrible.others a lot better. the diary layout is not in whole book.it is boring drivle that does not make sense.if there was an option for 0 stars i would use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing read, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
I loved the first two "Mole" books and recently re-read them. I had never read Confessions of Adrian Mole before, so went straight into this and was disappointed. Yes, the wit of the previous books is still there, but the format has changed making it difficult to read. The diary format worked well in the first two books, so I don`t understand why it was changed to this half-way-house between diary and narrative. It also jumps around a bit too much for my liking. Some people might prefer this book to the others, but it is not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Confessions of Adrian Mole, Margaret Hilda Roberts and Susan Lilian Townsend (Kindle Edition)
Just a poorly written short story. Nothing like the earlier Moles stories, I was really disappointed, give up now. 😣
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars NOT the next in the Adrian Mole series, 28 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. H. V. Aver (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone automatically buying this as a sequel to the Adrian Mole books should be aware that it is NOT a sequel as such- this is a collection of writings by Sue Townsend which includes a few Adrian Mole pieces. They don't really tie in with the personality of the Mole character from the 1st two books, either, so it's for completists only.

Completists who aren't especially picky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews