Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen Up Party People !
2009's 'The E.N.D. (the Energy Never Dies)' was a fan-divider.
For many it was a nice surprise. For others it was the kiss of death;
a downward spiral to oblivion. I loved it to bits!

'The Beginning' invites us to yet another big night out. It's party album.
From the opening bars of 'The Time (Dirty Bit)', which cheekily
incorporates the...
Published on 2 Dec 2010 by The Wolf

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IN THE GROOVE AGAIN!
This album grows on you the more you listen. Not as good as their previous album but I am glad I got it anyway.
Published on 10 May 2011 by L. Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen Up Party People !, 2 Dec 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
2009's 'The E.N.D. (the Energy Never Dies)' was a fan-divider.
For many it was a nice surprise. For others it was the kiss of death;
a downward spiral to oblivion. I loved it to bits!

'The Beginning' invites us to yet another big night out. It's party album.
From the opening bars of 'The Time (Dirty Bit)', which cheekily
incorporates the sublime chorus of disco classic '(I've Had The) Time
Of My Life', we just know that we're going to be having a good time!

The manifesto laid down by 'The E.N.D,' is refined and distilled still
further. Sometimes it's pared down to the barest of bones.
'Love You Long Time' for example relies on little more than the
simplest synth and percussion arrangement to make it's mark.
Stark, unadorned yet nonetheless utterly addictive! Perfect pop.

'Someday' gets a bigger, broader production. The addition of guitar
adds a little welcome texture to the mix. It's a terrific tune.
Just when I thought I was getting a bit tired of electronic vocal
treatments I found myself listening with revitalised ears. B.E.P. do it
better and fresher than most. Having good voices to begin with helps!

With 'Whenever', however, we come to the warm, beating heart of the album.
It's stunner! Fergie nails the beautiful melody to the mast with classy aplomb.
Surely this lady possesses one of the finest voices of her generation!

'Fashion Beats' is a delightful cut-and-paste piece of disco heaven.
You can almost smell the cloud of Poison and Kouros filling up the dance floor!

'Do It Like This' is silly in the nicest possible way. A jar full of sticky sweets.
Bad for your teeth but impossible to keep still to for more than five seconds!

Final track 'Play It Loud' does indeed benefit from being played...erm...loud!
An uplifting, generous, rich and endlessly rolling anthem to greet the sunrise.

'The Beginning' made me smile so many times my jaws ached.

Glorious Stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have said it a lot times in the past but i will say it a lot times too in the future, thank you so much zoverstocks for your service and product!!! Excellent as always!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (MP3 Download)
Great Song, Great Sound, Sounds great on the pc, and my MP3 player. Would recommend to everybody who will listen lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
I gave it 4 stars because although good it isn't as good as the 1st album I would still recommend it to fans of this group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
So glad I got this .. Just what I wanted ..been meaning to get some PE peas music for ages and finally got around to it ??can't stop playing it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this CD, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
Will I am at his best lots of great songs to dance along to.It has been listened to many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
it what was expected, good condition, good price had it a while back now but everything about item was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great present., 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
This is exactly what you would expect. Was delivered on time and as this was a present it was appreciated. Good value, and what you would expect from the Black Eyed Peas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black eye peas cd, 13 Sep 2011
By 
D. A. Beecroft "Dave" (Dave) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
Brilliant songs all the way through the CD - love it
You ever get bored and its not just the frst 5 songs you listen to, all the tracks are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BLACK EYED PEAS KEEP THE BEATS COMING, 2 Dec 2010
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
After the mammoth success of last years "The E.N.D"(the energy never dies) album Black eyed Peas have quickly followed up with a new album "The Beginning", and main man Will.i.am has incorporated lot's of beats and samples and by the sounds of things lots of autotune and is all good fun! But one thing strikes as you listen to the album is that Fergie is not used enough on vocals, have the Pea's forgot who they were before she joined them the release of 2003's breakthrough album "Elephunk",I know it's not that it's hard to find Fergie material as she does guest on a lot of musicans tracks but surely the one place we should be guarnteed to hear her is on her own band's record, it looks like super producer Will.i.am wants a bit more of the spotlight.

But on an album packed with fun tracks we shall give it to him, first single of the album
Hot on the heels of last years massive selling album The E.N.D(the energy never dies), The Black Eyed Peas deliver another big album full off big beats, samples and maybe (whisper it quietly) autotune, The Beginning is full of all these things and while it's not as good as last years mega album it's still alot of fun, and while for a long time the Peas were happy to ride on Fergies crossover appeal for a couple of albums, however carrying on since last years "The E.N.D" they have become more daring in their musical style.

First single "The Time (Dirty Bit)" looks to hook people in with some nostalgia as it samples the old Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes song from the movie Dirty Dancing, but it's far from a cover version just a clever sample to hook people in. They even give us a bit of hip hop "Light Up the Night" which samples Slick Ricks "Childrens Story" to good effect. One of the stand out songs is "Someday" which finally lets Fergie show off her rock chops(Which she has already shown this year by performing on Slash's album) and after hearing this you kinda wish they would give her more of these tracks to perform.

It's a pity super producer will.i.am hasn't given Fergie more vocal spots on the album as that when it really shines through and hopefully she will have the spotlight thrown back on to her for future albums, but theres no doubt stick this on at any party or club and you will get the crowd pumping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beginning & The Best Of The E.N.D.
Buy MP3 Album£11.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews