Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing
Is this woman the greatest singer in the world?
On the evidence of this stupendous disc, one could be forgiven for thinking so.
In recent years we have been lucky to have in our midst several marvellous mezzos. I think immediately of the late, universally lamented Lorraine Hunt Lieberson, as well as, for example, the feisty Susan Graham and the cool,...
Published on 24 Mar. 2011 by GlynLuke

versus
10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice voice but very poor track selection
Another reviewer asks if she has the best voice in the World? While she has a lovely voice she is not in the same league as El'ina Garanca who is the finest mezzo-soprano singing today.

My problem with this album isn't her voice but the track selection. The producers have provided us with 16 tracks of what they think we, the great unwashed, should listen to and...
Published on 22 Feb. 2012 by Trev-R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull CD. Well worth the buy, if only ..., 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyce DiDonato - Diva, Divo (Audio CD)
Wonderfull CD. Well worth the buy, if only for Ms DiDonato interpretation of the 3 pieces from Gluck's Clemenza Di Tito.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyce DiDonato - Diva, Divo (Audio CD)
I am an Amazon fan and a faithful client. I do want to leave positive reviews when they are deserved but I don't have enough fantasy to invent a new review every time. So: simply perfect. Thx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice voice but very poor track selection, 22 Feb. 2012
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyce DiDonato - Diva, Divo (Audio CD)
Another reviewer asks if she has the best voice in the World? While she has a lovely voice she is not in the same league as El'ina Garanca who is the finest mezzo-soprano singing today.

My problem with this album isn't her voice but the track selection. The producers have provided us with 16 tracks of what they think we, the great unwashed, should listen to and not what we want to listen to. By track 16 I was hoping my HiFi would explode as it was just track after track of the type of music the professional critic or high brow music buff would get excited about but not what the ordinary listener would want to hear. Track 7 - Voi che sapete from Figaro gives us a glimpse of how well she can deliver popular content.

I only have myself to blame for buying this as I didn't look at the track selection, only buying it on the strength of the reviews and that it had won the classical Grammy. If like me, you like popular mainstream opera then you may not find this as exciting an album as the critics did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Joyce, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Diva, Divo" (MP3 Download)
Superb Joyce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, representing the characters best, outstanding performance in every respect., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyce DiDonato - Diva, Divo (Audio CD)
amazing how convincing Joice DiDonato can express the very diffent characters of the compositions, Her singing is gorgeous and very forceful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
By 
A. du Plessis "abdp" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyce DiDonato - Diva, Divo (Audio CD)
The lady is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joyce DiDonato - Diva, Divo (Audio CD)
Fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joyce DiDonato - Diva, Divo
Joyce DiDonato - Diva, Divo by Joyce DiDonato (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews