Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars feed back
What can one say it is a dvd a good action dvd which tells a story and one that you can watch again. Not much more one can say.
Published 4 months ago by raymond lucas

versus
53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Malaysia's Entry for the Golden Turkey Awards.
Oh boy, I thought I had plumbed the depths already, but this one goes down all the way to the bottom of the Phillipine trench, which is not so far away from Malaysia where this utter dross was made. All sounded fairly promising. A film very loosely based on the 16th century Malay chronicles about a Roman prince who travels east to marry a Chinese princess of the Han...
Published on 5 Jun 2011 by Bob Salter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Malaysia's Entry for the Golden Turkey Awards., 5 Jun 2011
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD] (DVD)
Oh boy, I thought I had plumbed the depths already, but this one goes down all the way to the bottom of the Phillipine trench, which is not so far away from Malaysia where this utter dross was made. All sounded fairly promising. A film very loosely based on the 16th century Malay chronicles about a Roman prince who travels east to marry a Chinese princess of the Han dynasty. An East meets West historical extravaganza along the lines of Valerio Massimo Manfredi's book "Empire of the Dragons", or so I forlornly hoped. What I got was very different! I won't give any detailed synopsis, because I simply don't want to waste my time reviewing such utter rubbish. I wasted quite enough watching it! Lets just say everything about the film is dire, which sums it up nicely. It was apparently Malaysia's second most expensive film ever. What a terrible waste of money. The acting is worse than that in my village panto. The plot is non existent. The action is about the worst I have ever seen, with special effects that beggar belief for all the wrong reasons. The fact that I watched this film to the end is testament to my stubborn streak, that merges seamlessly into stupidity. I have never watched a Malaysian film, and after this experience it is doubtful I will ever watch another. After watching a few decent films recently it was back to reality with a vengeance. Don't be fooled by the cover. As usual be guided by the Amazon star rating which is never too far away from the truth. It does not even fall into the Ed Wood "its so bad it has to be good" category. Just do yourself a favour and avoid wasting 107 minutes of your life. Surely this film deserves to sweep the honours at the Golden Turkey awards. This is a 21 carat doozy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Battle for the Hamlet, 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the cover art and blurb, this is a fictional sword and scorcery tale of an arranged marriage between a Roman Prince and a Chineese Princess, an alliance forged to keep open the trade routes between the two mightiest empires in the known world. As can be expected, things do not go to plan as the Princess is taken hostage by pirates. Despite being described as the battle for Asia [and the false impression that the two empires go to war against each other] the two work together to perform a rescue and defeat the pirates.
My main complaints about this film are the misleading plot-line and end scene photos on the box [lose 1 star] which entice you into expecting more than you get [good advertising on their part, but not for the disappointed viewer] also the fight scenes are speeded up so they have that jerky 'Jason and the Argonauts' classic skeleton scene feel to them, which spoils some good sequences, and the sound seems to be slightly out of phase in some scenes [lose another star].
As a piece of entertainment it certainly isn't as bad a many reviews make out, it's just very misleading in what it describes. Younger teenagers will probably find it an 'awesome' spectacle, older viewers will probably be looking for something more. Worth a view for less then 5 but I certainly wouldn't pay more than that for it. If that sounds good for you then you might like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read reviews before buying, 20 Mar 2013
This review is from: Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD] (DVD)
I think if i took my mobile phone and a group of out of work actors ,some very poor costumes and 1 or 2 fireworks i could still do better , i watched 20 minutes with my only thought on why why i was watching this ,i gave it to my local charity shop , and this is the truth they have 3 on there shelf's.
DO NOT BUY DO NOT RENT KEEP AWAY FROM THIS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clash of everything - tasteful, 1 Jun 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a good film, however I am going to try to be objective. It is based on The Malay Chronicles from the 16th Century, which are pretty much myth and if you approach this as a sort of swords and sandals `Sinbad' then from certain viewer's points of view this may have some merit.

It supposedly tells the story of the uniting of the Han Chinese Empire and the Roman Empire of Hadrian, a Roman `Prince' is sent to marry a Chinese `Princess' and they are to meet in Malaysia via Goa, where the hapless Romans have to enlist the aid of a sea rover (Merong Mahawangsa) who claims to be descended from Alexander the Great. Once they get to this place of the `joining of empires' and a 'great trading centre'(a beach with a few bits of bamboo) where this ceremony is to take place, things start to go wrong.

If you have stuck with it thus far there is then a big fight, which is basically what this movie is selling itself as, a fight fest. I don't want to spoil the `plot' but needless to say after many, many plot holes there is some more fight scenes. I watched this with my nephew and one of his friends and they thought it was `awesome' etc. I begged to differ citing the historical, factual, material and language inaccuracies, all to no avail. That I think is the point, if you are prepared to suspend belief and forget even basic historical knowledge, then there is an average fight fest type of film trying to get out. The cover does mention the special effects as `stunning' well to have believed that you probably would needed to have been `stunned' possibly with a taser.

Also there really is not a `clash of empires'; more like a fight over some rock in the Pacific Ocean, so pretty much setting itself up for a fall straight away. It was to be called `The Malay Chronicles' which would have been more honest, but we all know that war sells. Also the sleeve claims that Alexander the great was `a renowned naval captain and traveller...' There was me thinking he was a sort of Emporer, General and looked like Colin Farrel, glad they put me straight.

The CGI is quite good in places, but the speeded up action scenes are a missed opportunity, the acting is wooden to faux melodrama and the sets are a bit `make do and mend'. The de rigueur man on man combat does go on interminably; I am always amazed that in a battle where everyone is `tooled up' that the two main protagonists decide to go for a bit of martial arts fisty cuffs, just stab him already. At 107 minutes this did seem like a chore, but it does have an audience, I just think with a 15 rating they have accidentally excluded most of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Clash of Empires: Battle for a decent script, 24 May 2011
I had been eagerly anticipating this movie, expecting something equivalent to 300. However despite having a pretty good storyline and premise to work from the film suffers from VERY poor acting, a weak script and below average fight sequences. Don't get me wrong it must have cost a few quid to make and doesn't look cheap but it has no real style to it, no visual impact. It's like watching a film version of the Hercules TV series but without the flair. Sorry, I would tend to avoid this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 7 July 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those films where the cover art makes you think that the film might be better than the reviews, that the reviewers might be snobs!?

Nope!

It is one of the worst films i have ever seen, i cant even think where to go with the appaling costumes, the terrible sets, the amazingly bad acting.... Im amazed that money was ever spent on something so utterly without any sign of redemption.

no stars zero... in fact minus stars for this film... really soo so ooo bad... do not buy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very bad plot stopped watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably bad, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD] (DVD)
Has to be the worst film I have ever purchased. Right from the outset I thought what a load of rubbish. Could not believe a film could be so bad. Had to stop watching less then halfway through . Put me in mind of one of those silly Bollywood productions. I will in future be a lot more selective in the films I purchase and carefully checking the reviews, big mistake that I hadn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy !!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be one of the worse movies i have purchased on amazon the acting is terrible and the fighting scenes are Farcical it was a struggle to watch till end i like roman and historical films but this was poor !! there should be a law against bad filmaking !! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars feed back, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD] (DVD)
What can one say it is a dvd a good action dvd which tells a story and one that you can watch again. Not much more one can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD]
Clash of Empires: Battle for Asia [DVD] by Yusry Halim (DVD - 2011)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews