Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


218 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENGLISH FILM DRAMA AT IT'S BEST
Another stellar cast assembled to do justice to the pen of one of the best screenwriters to have emerged in this country in recent years. Although this is not an original screenplay such as Downton Abbey, Victoria or Gosford Park it is none the less a superb adaptation of an existing story by Lucy Boston. Many of the cast assembled here make their appearance again in the...
Published on 26 Dec. 2010 by Anthony Thompson

versus
67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings 2
Having contributed to Jetpug's discussion below I thought I ought to review this film now I've seen it.

In its favour, there's a strong cast, full of "national treasures" and the young members of the cast also do well. It's attractively filmed too, at Athelhampton House in Dorset, although I could be picky and point out that Green Knowe really should have a...
Published on 2 Mar. 2011 by Hils T


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

218 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENGLISH FILM DRAMA AT IT'S BEST, 26 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
Another stellar cast assembled to do justice to the pen of one of the best screenwriters to have emerged in this country in recent years. Although this is not an original screenplay such as Downton Abbey, Victoria or Gosford Park it is none the less a superb adaptation of an existing story by Lucy Boston. Many of the cast assembled here make their appearance again in the superb Edwardian drama, Downton Abbey. Julian Fellowes succeeds brilliantly in putting to shame the very best screen writers which Hollywood has to offer. The story here is somewhat complex one, moving as it does between two distinct periods in English history held together by the story of one house and it's occupants. One group centred in the Napoleonic wars and the other in wartime England in 1944. For me the glory of this film lies in it's superb dialogue deftly woven from the pen of the redoubtable Julian Fellowes. I thoroughly enjoyed the contrast between the 19th and 20th century social milieu expressed here. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


188 of 199 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Julian Fellowes does it again!, 21 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this when it was on over Christmas so have just put my order in. With Maggie Smith and Hugh Bonneville in it what's not to like? However, be warned - those of you expecting an adaptation of The Children of Green Knowe will be disappointed. This film is based on The Chimneys of Green Knowe, a later book in the series. The Children of Green Knowe is the first book and was made by the BBC into a wonderful children's series in around 1988 but which, for reasons best known to the them, has never been released on video or DVD (I read somewhere they wiped the tape!). The series starred Daphne Oxenford and Alec Christie and it was actually filmed in Lucy M Boston's Manor house at Hemingford Grey. In the Children of Green Knowe series Tolly goes to live with his great grandmother in her old manor house and gradually encounters the ghosts of the three children who lived in the house many years before (Toby, Alexander and Linnet). I wonder if the confusion over the books is why one reviewer thought it such a poor adaptation? In any event, this is an excellent and moving film, one to watch again and again. Such a pity about the BBC series though as I think The Children of Green Knowe is the better story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best time!, 26 Mar. 2011
By 
A. Thorogood "snowdrop" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
This film was superb. One of the best I have seen for a long time and on a par with The Railway children. I thought it would be mainly a children's film but it is much more than that. It has it all, hope, fear, humour and sadness all woven around a great story and portrayed brilliantly in film. A true British classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings 2, 2 Mar. 2011
By 
Hils T (South Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
Having contributed to Jetpug's discussion below I thought I ought to review this film now I've seen it.

In its favour, there's a strong cast, full of "national treasures" and the young members of the cast also do well. It's attractively filmed too, at Athelhampton House in Dorset, although I could be picky and point out that Green Knowe really should have a moat!

Yet despite the excellent Julian Fellowes writing the screen play, there is something lacking. There are references back to the original Green Knowe books - for instance the statue of St Christopher - but unless you recognise them, these hints are a bit superfluous! After a while, I began to feel that Julian Fellowes would have been better either sticking much closer to the original "Chimmneys of Green Knowe" plot or ditching the Lucy M Boston source completely and just acknowledging it as the inspiration for a good ghost story! My last reservation is the ending - too simple and rather sad - but judge for yourself on that one!

However, I'm an adult, remembering the Green Knowe books with nostalgic affection. In the days of good BBC adaptations this film would have been broadcast in episodes at tea time on Sunday for the family audience who would have really enjoyed it. And if you watch the film with that attitude, it's fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What You'd Expect From The Cast, 18 Sept. 2011
By 
J. Ritchie (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
You may not recognise the names of all the cast members, but you'll know them when you see them and they all deliver excellent performances, precisely what you'd expect.

The story is set in 1944 and 1809-1811 and Tolly, a young boy who's father is missing in Europe in 1944, finds he has the ability to see ghosts. Specifically, he can see the ghosts of children in 1809, ancestors of his. Slowly the story of 1809 is told with Tolly being able to time-travel to help the good people against his nasty ancestor and his wicked servant. You don't really need to know the plot, just looking at the cast members tells you you're watching a period drama with a happy ending (sort of) and the baddies don't win in the end.

True, the cast members play to typecasting, but that's exactly what this children's story needs. You have to know who are the best people, who might be good and who is really horrible. As such, the emotions are perfectly portrayed, there are no surprises and you can focus on the storyline as it unfolds. This helps tremendously as the story unfolds. Tolly begins to slip seamlessly between 1944 and 1809, so following the story is made infinitely easier knowing the actors portraying the main characters. You won't be trying to work out which time period you're watching, who is who, who did what, and how can all this be happening 'simultaneously'. With perfect casting and great acting, the story is clearly told, involving and engrossing.

The ending isn't entirely happy, which lifts this film above the sentimental norm, and there are enough 'odd' moments to add unease to the atmosphere of the film.

If you're looking for a family film with a perfectly pitched British tone, look no further, this film is as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 19 Nov. 2011
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
From Time To Time [DVD] - Julian Fellows has done it again. This is masterful storytelling. Ok, I guessed the ending within the first 15 minutes, but that didn't detract from my enjoyment. Maggie Smith was brilliant and there were some truly wonderful other characters (I particularly liked Pauline Collins' and Timothy Spall's characters).

My wife nearly shot out of her seat at the first ghostly appearance and a number of the scenes were a little hair-raising but not horrific and in no way did they spoil the storyline which, I suggest, is aimed at 10-100 age group. Under 10? Mum and Dad watch first then assess for yourselves.

As a 60+ man who enjoys blockbusters, sci-fi and westerns, I found this an enchanting film I could watch again and again.

Highly recommended - 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 28 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
It may come as no surprise that Fellowes' From Time to Time benefits from the same lavish period charm and adroit scripting previously seen in the likes of Gosford Park and Downton Abbey. Indeed, fans of these latter two should feel right at home with the film, at least initially...

Where From Time to Time departs from its forebears is in the "fantasy" elements - drawing from the Green Knowe source material, there is a very strong thread of the supernatural. If this has set alarm bells ringing, and fantasy leaves you cold, fear not - the central narrative is more of a traditional "coming of age" tale, and the focus, as may well be expected from Mr Fellowes, is very firmly on the characters.

Overall, the film is very much in the mold of family classics of yesteryear - From Time to Time would sit very neatly alongside The Railway Children, for instance - and comes heartily recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast ... Wonderful Film ... What more do you need?, 1 April 2014
This review is from: From Time to Time (DVD)
This one of the best British films that I've seen for some time. I didn't expect much as I had not heard of it before, but with such a great cast, I knew that the film would be enjoyable ... and I was right!

I felt that the script was well written. Although several supernatural events were a requirement and were the basis of the film, there was no nasty deliberate scares, indeed, I would go as far to say that the supernatural events blended in with the on-going plot quite naturally. Needless to say, the acting was quite superb with Maggie Smith, in my opinion, heading the list of accolades. It was good to see that both Pauline Collins and Timothy Spall having major roles in the film as both do not seem to get the credit they deserve ... and what a fine cut of a sea Captain Hugh Bonneville made, you could almost see him strutting the decks at 'Trafalgar'.

Well done to all those concerned for producing such a fine 'feel good factor' movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From time to time DVD, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful... Just wonderful .. In the best tradition of English ghost stories ... Canterville ghost ect... And Margie smith as always delightful.. And just loved timothy spalls west country accent... Pauline Collins also turns in a very understated performance .. Highly recommended for a rainy afternoon on the sofa with a duvet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From time to time, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Time To Time [DVD] (DVD)
Obviously it is not possible to make outstanding films all the time. One imagines that any film with maggie smith in must be great. Although she naturally was good the film itself was not memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Time To Time [DVD]
From Time To Time [DVD] by Julian Fellowes (DVD - 2011)
£8.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews