Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, Donnie Yen is alive and kicking!
My wife showed me the trailer of this movie and after having watched 'Ip Man' and 'Ip Man 2'. I was EXTREMELY looking forward to this!

Set in Shanghai, the Japanese are just about to invade, Chen Zhen comes back from helping allied forces in WWI, the Japanese General sends out his colleague (who speaks mandarin) to find out Chen Zhen true identity. It ends up...
Published on 4 July 2011 by Damian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
not bad the kids liked it as they are doing karate they enjoyed this film kept them quite for a while
Published 11 months ago by angela griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, Donnie Yen is alive and kicking!, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife showed me the trailer of this movie and after having watched 'Ip Man' and 'Ip Man 2'. I was EXTREMELY looking forward to this!

Set in Shanghai, the Japanese are just about to invade, Chen Zhen comes back from helping allied forces in WWI, the Japanese General sends out his colleague (who speaks mandarin) to find out Chen Zhen true identity. It ends up with the Japanese general finding out and a big finish of Chen Zhen kicking the hell out of the general and his cronies.

Most westerners who know about Asia will realise alot of the historial points of this movie are in fact true! Not just romantised! Chen Zhen was Huo Yuan Jia's apprentice who was killed by the Japanese General's master, however, Chen Zhen (prior movie) went to Japense masters dojo and kicked the hell out of him, hense why the Japanese General was looking for pay back.

The movie it's self has a smooth story line with a giant hint of sadness throughout the movie, while adding westernised 'Japanese' thinking and Chinese confucian thinking mixed in with the horrid scene of Chen Zhen's capture and that of his sister, which links into Japanese war crimes (reference: Nanking, Unit 731 etc).

I think Donnie Yen really tries to play true to Chen Zhen and by many of his biography films, he does an immense amount of research just to be in character and to show the audience he is not just another talented actor but an actor who can play various roles ficiton and non fiction successfully to an international audience.

Whether you are interested in the historical aspect, the figthing scenes, or the story line it's worth the watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth it for the fights alone!, 18 July 2011
By 
Jawaad Ahmed "jay" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
great movie donnie does a great job and the action scenes are edge of your seat stuff
go for it and love it also has the transporter(2002) girl as a japanese captain as his love intrest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have all three versions of this story..., 4 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of the late great Bruce Lee and his 'Fist of Fury' which I have, I also have the Jet Li version which is also brilliant and now I have Donny Yens film which is a slight departure but a very well built story excellently told...Great characterisations, wonderfully portrayed. A very accomplished piece of theatre. I've watched it twice already and can't wait to watch it again to see if I've missed anything. I'm a great admirer of Donny Yens films he always strives to give 110% and as far as I'm concerned he always delivers.Thank you for releasing this one it will take pride of place within my growing collection...I recommend this to all fans of the genre and even those that are new to the genre this would be an excellent film to watch as a first dip...Buy/Rent/Borrow put it on your birthday wish list...give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legend of the Fist, 1 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. G. Bu Chedid (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
A different take to Fist of Fury. A good movie. Donnie Yen is impressive and the martial arts scenes are well above average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Donnie Yen's best films!, 8 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading several reviews from people who either loved or was dissapointed with this film, I bought it knowing that it would problebly be somewhat dissapointing. But to my surprice I loved it! It is a very beautiful film with a great story and great acting. The film is very story-driven and thus speaks more to the adult viewer than some "teenanger who just want to see some fights". This actually makes the action much more emotional and you really care about the characters. The blu ray holds an impressive picture and audio quality and the extras (Donnie Yen interviw and almost a 50 min. making off) is quite interessting. Don't expect an all out fistfight, but instead a very story driven and emotional films with great action and you won'y be dissapointed. Highly recommneded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, good action, 22 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie, fantastic action especially beginning and end. I love donnie, he is great. Going to buy more of his movies!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend of the Fist, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing film. Highly recommend it, certainly worth a watch - - loved it and yummy Donnie Yen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
not bad the kids liked it as they are doing karate they enjoyed this film kept them quite for a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trailer looked good and loved Donny Yen in the AMAZING Ip Man.This was however very disappointing.Very slow and decent excitement few & far between.Most likely will never watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but the other reviews are just wrong!, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. J. W. Mc Evoy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend of the Fist [DVD] (DVD)
This film is fantastic! Okay I will admit the acting and story are a bit laughable in some places but i'm sorry if you buy a Donnie Yen film you buy it for one thing....the fights! Well WHAT fights they are. Absolutely amazing, bone crunching action. The final fight has to be seen to be believed. I, for one, actually think it's pretty cool that Donnie does all the "Bruce Lee noises".

The story mainly consists of Chen Zhen leading an underground resistance against the invading Japanese army. That's basically it.

I just felt compelled to write this review as the other review were WAY too harsh! Also because the fight scenes were mindblowing. Like I said, the acting and story is shockingly bad in places which is why I have knocked a star off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend of the Fist [DVD]
Legend of the Fist [DVD] by Wai Keung Lau (DVD - 2011)
£4.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews