Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated but very, very good!
It's been a long time since Solange released anything, and the last time was somewhat of a disappointment. This time around however things are different. This album stands miles above the last. It is essentially an R&B/Soul album with a very "back-in-the-day" vibe. It's this retro style that really makes this album stand out from everything else in the charts at the...
Published on 17 Aug 2008 by Music fan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...
This CD is OK. Its hard not to compare her to her sister Beyonce, and maybe that is why I have rated it 3 stars.
Published 18 months ago by Yummy Mummy!


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated but very, very good!, 17 Aug 2008
It's been a long time since Solange released anything, and the last time was somewhat of a disappointment. This time around however things are different. This album stands miles above the last. It is essentially an R&B/Soul album with a very "back-in-the-day" vibe. It's this retro style that really makes this album stand out from everything else in the charts at the moment. With music being quite stale and predictable currently it really is a breath of fresh air!!
The album was created with the help of producers such as The Neptunes, Cee-Lo Green, Freemasons (producers of current single 'I Decided pt. 2' and man of the moment Mark Ronson (producer of Amy Winehouse' and Lily Allen's albums). Current single 'I Decided' certainatly is one of the stand-outs on the album thumping and bouncing along like most current music with enough old-school soul to really make it different. Another gem on the album is without doubt single-to-be 'Sandcastle Disco' the persistant drum beat the song insanely catchy, a definate hit.
To keep the review short and to the point, the album is a great collection of modern songs heavily influenced from 70's soul/R&B music. It is something really different, fresh and most importantly good. Well worth it for those who are ready for something just a little bit different. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awwwww I love this... SOLANGE KNOWLES, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Mapoo (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This Album is really different and I expected Solange to be more into what her Sister does "Beyonce"... but thought wrong! This is really good I would say it's like "Jamelia" but with a Deeper Voice... The song's are very 70's style the upbeats, think of "Diana Ross & The Supremes" the song's are very much like them... Especially "I Decided" a great song, there is two Parts of "I Decided" Part 1 is like very 70's very dancey, but Part 2 is much better I think, Remixed by Freemasons, but ya have to Admit anything what Freemasons Remix is the Best anyway... Get This Album, it's AWESOME... To be honest I love this Music more than Beyonce and I do like Beyonce...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sol-Angel and the Hadley Street Dreams, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. J Sr. "Jack Senior" (West Yorkshire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Solange creates a refreshing yet nostalgic piece that shows her off as a serious musician. The album carries a mixture of disco, Motown and your basic R&B; blending it so well together. The production is amazing and there isn't a bad track on the whole album.
The album starts with the opening track 'God given name' spelling out to the listener exactly who Solange is; expressing how she is not her sister, but her own person, doing her own thing. The singles are the best tracks on the album, all catchy sing-a-long marvelous expressions with some great lyrics to go with them ('T.O.N.Y., Would've Been the One, Sandcastle Disco & I Decided). Don't be put off buying the album though, for fear that the album tracks don't match up to the singles, because they're all good songs.
The album itself revolves around the theme of love, which Solange expresses perfectly, from her desires to her own weakness, longing and lust. The album feels like a journey through a dream, especially towards the last few tracks, with the listener coming out the other end to the sound of 'I Decided pt. 2' (possibly the best song of the album). Without a doubt Solange has succeeded in creating an album that shines like a gem, and deserves to have her recognised as a seriously talented artist.
The best R&B album for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOLANGE IS A STAR IN HER OWN RIGHT, 18 Aug 2010
SOLANGE HAS RELEASED MANY DIFFERENT ALBUMS OVER THE LAST COUPLE OF YEARS, AND SOMETIMES IT'S DIFFICULT TO ESCAPE THE SHADOW OF HER PARTNERS. THIS ALBUM TRIES TO SHOWCASE HER VOCAL TALENTS WHICH I HAVE TO SAY IT DOES RATHER WELL. AN ECLECTIC MIX OF TRACKS WHICH WONT BE TO EVERYBODY'S TASTE, BUT I RATHER ENJOYED IT AS IT'S NOT THE USUAL MIX OF DANCE TRACKS AND HERE'S LOOKING FORWARD TO HER NEXT ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!! :-), 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a'retro' soul album which doesn't fall into the modern trap of having to have an obligatory rap in the middle of every song. there are real tunes and melodies in the songs and it's made me think of warm sunny days through the recent cold grey days :-) I love the whole feel of the album :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant soul/pop, 11 Feb 2013
By 
John (Leicester , England) - See all my reviews
Less well known and succesful than her sister Beyonce , Solange proves on this record that the Knowles family is not short of talent . Don't let 'family connections' fool you though , this is a truly great 'soul pop' record from start to finish , and Solange doesn't need those connections to validate this record.
This record combines elements of early Motown , psychedelia , electronica and smooth soul , resulting in what is possibly one of the most remarkable recent pop/soul albums, comparable in its depth and skillfulness to the output of Anita Baker and Luther Vandross at their best , but poppier and with a candy coating .
To put it bluntly, if you like soul flavoured pop , get this ( and let it grow on you ) !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful CD and artist, 26 Oct 2013
By 
A. Hansen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much to say, the CD came within time, the tracks are wonderful (if you like Solanges style). Only con is that the cover of the cd had a big crack running down in the middle, but the CD itself is fine!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., 17 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is OK. Its hard not to compare her to her sister Beyonce, and maybe that is why I have rated it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews