Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (187)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


157 of 161 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the right album to bring home!
Beautifully sung collection of tracks which show the sweetness and gentleness of a voice which at times demonstrates a quite remarkable power. Highlights are definitely Bring Him Home for which he received a standing ovation during the Les Miserables O2 concert that stopped the show mid point and the duet with Kerry Ellis which trips your heart. It's stunning!! This man...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by LadyBird

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright
Wish I'd taken a little bit of time in looking at the selection of songs before buying this c.d.

I really love the sound of Alfie Boe but was a little disappointed in the choice of music. Why on earth is there a duet with Matt Lucas.....truly awful and sounds like a pub karaoke player singing with the wonderful Alfie. It is unbelievably awful and I really...
Published 23 months ago by Felice.C


‹ Previous | 125 26 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Boe album.Bring him home ., 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Bought this for my wife who thoroughly enjoyed it.Personally I would have preferred a bit of opera but still a very good easy listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 21 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to listening to this CD but was truly disappointed. The backing had no depth and it sounded to me as though Alfie Boe was just singing words. To my ear there was no phrasing and there seemed not to be any feeling in the songs. The orchestration on 'As if we never said goodbye' was very thin when compared to the same track sung by Barbra Streisand. Shame really as he has a fine voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the money..., 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
What drags this album down to just 'OK' is the poor choice of songs. The tunes on offer show a distinct lack of imagination when you consider the choice available out there. As usual, Alfie's voice is top notch, but the material he's working with, with one or two exceptions, is just not up to it. Shame, really, as it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Boe Bring him home, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Yet again we are disappointed that Amazon insist on using the single most useless couriers imaginable, as opposed to the postal service for a very small package, after all we have to pay the postage costs. So after driving out to the next town to collect we are pleased with the end result. Alfie does have a versatile voice and covers the better known songs from popular shows, very pleasant indeed and worth the purchase price, we will look to some of his other C.D. releases, but not from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Bought this album after seeing Alfie's showstopping performance in Les Miserable.

Fantastic voice but dissapointed (apart from Title track and couple of others) at selection of other songs chosen for album, all from shows/films. Stick to opera Alfie.....you have a beautiful voice.............Previous albums excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Chris Templer (Norfolk ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
A huge disappointment ! Alfie Boe has a good voice but his performance on this CD is pedestrian and passionless . The song choices are predictable and the orchestration unimaginative .The duet with Matt Lucas is appalling and I can't believe any professional would allow it to be released .If Mr Boe wishes to cross the barrier to musical theatre he needs to improve and discover what makes a great musical theatre talent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Boe, Bring it back!, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: Bring Him Home (MP3 Download)
I bought this for my Wife. She usually likes people like Russell Watson and Katherine Jenkins But I have to say that she was not impressed to say the least. She didn't like his voice and it all sounded a bit sameie. She only liked one of the songs which was the title track Bring him Home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Boe, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
I didn't like it!! I can't see what else there is to say so there fore I will not say any m,ore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not opera, 14 April 2012
By 
James Buck (Nébian, Languedoc, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
This CD was listed as operatic, the photographs showed Alfie Boe in costume, possibly operatic and as he has sung with English National Opera it was reasonable to assume that some tracks would be operatic, but in fact there is not a single operatic aria on the CD and no track listing was provided. This is most misleading, but I have kept the CD because the voice is pleasant and I like Musicals, but it would be helpful to specify from which shows they were taken as I did not recognise the source of all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars typical of modern singers, 1 Aug 2012
By 
Col William Russell (Springfield, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring Him Home (Audio CD)
Boe is so typical of modern opera "stars." They have a big start and soon don't even have the voice to sing musicals. Don't bother unless you like voiceless crooning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4b23354)

This product

Bring Him Home
Bring Him Home by Alfie Boe (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews